wazua Wed, Jul 1, 2026

Poll Question : Do you support a referendum? (click choice below) (Poll is closed)
Choice Votes Statistics
YES 7 15 %
NO 37 82 %
Maybe 1 2 %
Total 45 100%

5 Pages«<2345>
Opinion poll ( referundum ).
#31 Posted : Friday, September 12, 2014 12:28:27 PM

This Opinion powl has been rigged my Masukuma.Yes was leading by a margin of 40%
#32 Posted : Friday, September 12, 2014 12:28:40 PM

meme wrote:
meme wrote:
Kaigangio wrote:
smile Very authentic this time I see!!!

Would it not be the same if only central and rift valley regions were against the referendum???Sad

The campaign has just started, expect the figures to tilt as it gains momentum, we need pesa mashinani, you saw the 150K people starving in Nyeri the other day?....we need pesa mashinani to build dams that will help towards ensuring food security in such areas.

county governments spent 13.33 billion shillings ($155.2 million) from July to September 2013. These expenditures were classified into four categories: personnel emoluments, operations and maintenance, development, and servicing of debts and pending bills.

Of the total spending, 55% went towards personal emoluments, 38% for operations and maintenance, and only 7% towards development programmes.

No way counties should receive more cash. Hiyo ni wizi. I cannot pay taxex so that some thief ( and they are everywhere, be it CORD or Jubille) can pay himself. Hiyo ujinga, no.

The County governments will have to pay their employees 1st, there is no rocket science about this, kwani you expect those performing the transferred functions to eat peanuts?

@mcr my issue is Misuse. Misuse and more misuse. I know that even the central Goverment misuses our taxes but bringing that misuse to the county level is a recepie for disaster. Look at the health sector already. If you allocate 45% or more of cash to counties, what % of employees currently with the central govrt will be employed at the county level?
Are we sure we as a people/counties are able to manage this? If the health sector is the yardstick,then the answer is a resounding NO.
Ni hayo tuu my friend.

The central fovernment has chewed this money for the last 50 years but in only it's 2nd year, I see the difference devolution has brought mashinani, maybe you have always been on the right side of the central governments and may not understand the quest for more money mashinani, take the money to the locals, let them jisort na wawache kulilia central garment that seriklai saidia!!!
#33 Posted : Friday, September 12, 2014 12:31:23 PM

Uram wrote:
limanika wrote:
Mimi sitakataa hii project saaana. Kama itakuwa wacha ikuwe, so let us facilitate cord where we can. At the end of it all we will have helped someone commit political suicide, thereafter no more politicking on hourly basis! 4 the next 500 years

You are like those villagers lining for relief food in Kieni while saying no to referendum coz ni Raira amesema!!!!

Boss, if RAO tommorrow wakes up and says hLet them e is against the referendum, all the Cordshians including you would support him. The same to jubilated fellows. They would troop to Yes camp without question if Uhuru supported the referendum.

There is no way I will not support the pesa mashinani, I know marginalization 1st hand my friend, pesa ya serikali inaonekana Siaya my friend!!!

I agree with you. The 15% is enough! Devolution was a master-stroke and a very billiant Idea, and especially for rural counties. But it shouldnt be increased just because baba has said so. There is still so much wastage and majority of kenyans are unhappy with these flamboyant irritating rural gods.

I look back at Kiambu and wonder- kwani devolution ilikuja kutumaliza? The county has moved backwards, the towns are more dilapidated than ever.....Thika, from the No. 1 town in Kenya to.....lets wait and hear the next shameful ranking-no amount of money can help that county.

In places where the central government was actively involved in development like Thika it will be very difficult to support devolution in totality, they may not see much difference and in that aspect I respect their opinion and opposition to the pesa mashinani drive!
#34 Posted : Friday, September 12, 2014 12:49:19 PM

Uram wrote:
limanika wrote:
Mimi sitakataa hii project saaana. Kama itakuwa wacha ikuwe, so let us facilitate cord where we can. At the end of it all we will have helped someone commit political suicide, thereafter no more politicking on hourly basis! 4 the next 500 years

You are like those villagers lining for relief food in Kieni while saying no to referendum coz ni Raira amesema!!!!

Boss, if RAO tommorrow wakes up and says hLet them e is against the referendum, all the Cordshians including you would support him. The same to jubilated fellows. They would troop to Yes camp without question if Uhuru supported the referendum.

There is no way I will not support the pesa mashinani, I know marginalization 1st hand my friend, pesa ya serikali inaonekana Siaya my friend!!!

I agree with you. The 15% is enough! Devolution was a master-stroke and a very billiant Idea, and especially for rural counties. But it shouldnt be increased just because baba has said so. There is still so much wastage and majority of kenyans are unhappy with these flamboyant irritating rural gods.

I look back at Kiambu and wonder- kwani devolution ilikuja kutumaliza? The county has moved backwards, the towns are more dilapidated than ever.....Thika, from the No. 1 town in Kenya to.....lets wait and hear the next shameful ranking-no amount of money can help that county.

In places where the central government was actively involved in development like Thika it will be very difficult to support devolution in totality, they may not see much difference and in that aspect I respect their opinion and opposition to the pesa mashinani drive!

Yes, thika, being Kenya's industrial town and proximity to the capital, is much more developed by default of course.

But how do you explain the retrogression? How do you explain potholes being filled with red-soil Sad something we have never seen before? The county has more money than ever before, so maintaining the former mayor's status should not have been hard. It is not yet time to increase this cash, in any case, haiko! Until such a time characters like kafogo are hounded out of office or they grow a brain.
#35 Posted : Friday, September 12, 2014 12:53:15 PM

Uram wrote:
limanika wrote:

Yes, thika, being Kenya's industrial town and proximity to the capital, is much more developed by default of course.

But how do you explain the retrogression? How do you explain potholes being filled with red-soil Sad something we have never seen before? The county has more money than ever before, so maintaining the former mayor's status should not have been hard. It is not yet time to increase this cash, in any case, haiko! Until such a time characters like kafogo are hounded out of office or they grow a brain.

These are 47 different governments boss, they can't all act the same, so in 2017 kick Kafogo out but meanwhile devolution must continue!!!
#36 Posted : Friday, September 12, 2014 12:58:32 PM

Remember Moi coinig the term 'Maisha mbaya siasa mbaya'?
The needs at a county level can never be fully understood by the central government which is far removed from the people and can't appropriately act to the needs most suited for the people mashinani. In the last 50 years solutions have been crafted based on the personal or political wishes of the president or people close to him yet they collect taxes from all Kenyans.

Take the example of wajir, just in one year they have analyzed and seen that water harvesting may not work for them and what they need is boreholes, central garment had 50 yrs to do this yet what they waited for was for the people of Wajir to beg for food year in year out!!!

Pesa Mashinani!!!!!
#37 Posted : Friday, September 12, 2014 1:30:31 PM

Hehe...

Lets do a referendum along with 2017 elections to do away with the senate, women reps; then set LOWER salaries for; and raise the minimum qualification for Mpigs and Members of Cockroach Assemblies (MCAs)
#38 Posted : Friday, September 12, 2014 1:40:07 PM

Kaigangio wrote:
smile Very authentic this time I see!!!

Would it not be the same if only central and rift valley regions were against the referendum???Sad

The campaign has just started, expect the figures to tilt as it gains momentum, we need pesa mashinani, you saw the 150K people starving in Nyeri the other day?....we need pesa mashinani to build dams that will help towards ensuring food security in such areas.

The need to change this constitition is there and many agree with that. To do away with some postions, yes increase pesa mashinani and a host of others.

Unfortunately the fashion in which Babu introduced it made it look different.He made it a contest between him and Uhuru.Now sensible people on both sides of the divide will not be pulled into such a contest.
Meanwhile the Migori act only helped to pull people away from him.

Above all me thinks Shetani na hila zake anazidi kushindwa.

Lakini lets wait for Ambithos poll.

I am with you on this one but pray tell me. Money follows function. So which other functions should be devolved in order for more funds to be devolved?

#39 Posted : Friday, September 12, 2014 2:48:47 PM

These are 47 different governments boss, they can't all act the same, so in 2017 kick Kafogo out but meanwhile devolution must continue!!!

I am a resident in two counties, where i come from and where i live, and in both, there is no development going on! they just dug up some roads which exposed huge stones after a few rains.... where i live, which is just 500m from a main highway, the connecting road is a total nightmare! Litter is everywhere.... you cant go to the market when it drizzles because it's worse than a pigsty! yet, it has some of the freshest foods you can get around but how do you reach the food in all that filth! Parking and traffic is total nightmare... you pack your vehicle hanging next to a mtaro and a county council fella runs besides you to collect parking fee! disgusting.... no way i can vote to give them a dime! I need to see what they are doing with the little they've been given. I want to know how that Wajir governor is able to dig more boreholes and these fellas who have dams dug by the mzungu those old days cant even be maintained or expanded....
Terik
#40 Posted : Friday, September 12, 2014 3:37:39 PM

An analysis by the Institute of Economic Affairs (IEA) shows that the Education sector continues to enjoy the lion’s share of the national budget (20 per cent) followed by, Energy, Infrastructure and ICT (16.6 per cent) and the Public Administration and International Relations (12.6 per cent)

Similarly, there is substantial attention given to the contextual challenges of governance and insecurity through considerable allocations to the governance, justice, law and order sector (8.4 per cent) and the national security at 5.9 per cent - From Standard News Paper.

++++++++++++

Estimated Total % = 20+16.6+12.6+8.4+5.9 = 63.5%

Proposal: devolve education and the counties will have appro. 45% that they currently requesting. Therefore, the referendum question: Should education be devolved?
5 Pages«<2345>