CONSTITUTION
255. (1) A proposed amendment to this Constitution shall be
enacted in accordance with Article 256 or 257, and approved in
accordance with clause (2) by a referendum, if the amendment relates
to any of the following matters—
(a) the supremacy of this Constitution;
(b) the territory of Kenya;
(c) the sovereignty of the people;
Incorporation of commissions and independent offices. Reporting by commissions and independent offices.

(d) the national values and principles of governance mentioned
in Article 10 (2) (a) to (d);
(e) the Bill of Rights;
(f) the term of office of the President;
(g) the independence of the Judiciary and the commissions and
independent offices to which Chapter Fifteen applies;
(h) the functions of Parliament;
(i) the objects, principles and structure of devolved government;
or
(j) the provisions of this Chapter.
(2) A proposed amendment shall be approved by a referendum
under clause (1) if—
(a) at least twenty per cent of the registered voters in each of at
least half of the counties vote in the referendum; and
(b) the amendment is supported by a simple majority of the
citizens voting in the referendum.

Let the lawyers meet in court, that's where boys will be separated from men..on the basis of argument .waiting to see which judge will rule that cord's proposal in current form is good enough 4 signature collection. And what happened to the booklets?
#202 Posted : Thursday, August 28, 2014 2:49:06 PM

So far i have signed 7 booklets .... towards 5m signatures!
#203 Posted : Thursday, August 28, 2014 3:10:26 PM

So far i have signed 7 booklets .... towards 5m signatures!

Aiya i thot someone is supposed to sign once, anyway wacha sipatikane hizo 5M lakini they shd not be like the infamous 1M people at uhuru park which could not reach 200k
limanika
#204 Posted : Thursday, August 28, 2014 3:37:26 PM

mkenyan wrote:
limanika wrote:
Cord's decision to collect signatures without formulating a bill or giving specific proposals will haunt them big. Courts need to interprete what is meant by 'general suggestion'. If I append my signature, and my preference in my mind is that County funds allocation should be increased to 20%, how do I retract my signature if cord finally release a bill proposing county funds should be 90%?? So cord can use my signature to formulate proposals that were not in my mind??

maybe there is a written explanation on what the referendum is all about that those who sign are first asked to read and agree with. maybe those who have signed like mcreggae can tell us.

@Mkenya, there is no such written explanation, indeed it is surprising that someone wants to collect 5m signatures, but does not want to disclose fully exactly what signatures are meant to achieve! Why are they fearing to disclose? But let them collect the signatures, courts will send the pap to square 1 after all is done!!!
#205 Posted : Thursday, August 28, 2014 6:10:54 PM

Now this...but dont worry, it will be denied soon, once RAO lands in Coast.

#206 Posted : Thursday, August 28, 2014 7:40:38 PM

I still maintain that getting approval of 24 county assemblies is pipe dream.
limanika
#207 Posted : Thursday, August 28, 2014 8:03:03 PM

I still maintain that getting approval of 24 county assemblies is pipe dream.

What happens if another group proposes to ammend same provisions differently and all get voted yes in referendum?
#208 Posted : Thursday, August 28, 2014 8:10:12 PM

Read somewhere that already 600,000 signatures collected, but sijaona yeyote akikuja kuniambia ni sign
limanika
#209 Posted : Thursday, August 28, 2014 8:36:18 PM

freiks wrote:
Read somewhere that already 600,000 signatures collected, but sijaona yeyote akikuja kuniambia ni sign
I also want to sign this thing but if the proposals in eventual bill turn out not exactly what I wanted,they will have to withdraw my signature or we will meet in court!
#210 Posted : Thursday, August 28, 2014 8:51:07 PM

Mimi Nita sign. mcdoba ni wapi!!!!!!!!

I'm tired of uhuruto big talk.yet corruption is at the highest peak. thika road is still dark at night yet I thought we paid 2.4 billions for maintainance.pothole are going on without being repaired now I hear of capital gains tax

how many km of sgr are now complete?

just scandal after scandal.

clueless fellows at the helm.

nkt.
24 Pages«<1920212223>»