wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

17 Pages«<56789>»
Free to Air TV channels in Kenya
#121 Posted : Thursday, August 21, 2014 10:24:15 PM

Hi guys.

Been served proper by qsat q13g Chinese decoder but after reading this thread i feel like i have missed it all, i am using a standard dstv dish which i believe is pointed only to dstv channels because as much as i try to scan fta all i get is 2-3 cctv ones, advise if 1; getting a different dish pointing different direction would work on the same decoder ?
#122 Posted : Friday, August 22, 2014 9:11:41 AM

mlefu wrote:
Hi guys.

Been served proper by qsat q13g Chinese decoder but after reading this thread i feel like i have missed it all, i am using a standard dstv dish which i believe is pointed only to dstv channels because as much as i try to scan fta all i get is 2-3 cctv ones, advise if 1; getting a different dish pointing different direction would work on the same decoder ?

Yes. It'll work.
#123 Posted : Friday, August 22, 2014 9:52:20 AM

@Rankaz can the Dstv dish be used on the Beinsports decoder or have to buy another one?
#124 Posted : Friday, August 22, 2014 10:38:56 AM

@Rankaz can the Dstv dish be used on the Beinsports decoder or have to buy another one?

Yes it can, but you're likely to suffer signal loss or be unable to get all beIN sports channels as the dstv dish is too small. A bigger dish will be called for.

Check the appropriate dish size for your location here.

Note: beIN Sports broadcasts from Eutelsat 7 West A @7.3W.
#125 Posted : Friday, August 22, 2014 10:58:12 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Yes it can, but you're likely to suffer signal loss or be unable to get all beIN sports channels as the dstv dish is too small. A bigger dish will be called for.

Check the appropriate dish size for your location here.

Note: beIN Sports broadcasts from Eutelsat 7 West A @7.3W.

Thanks Bro for sharing with us your knowledge on this.
#126 Posted : Friday, August 22, 2014 11:17:46 AM

@Ranka..share a contact of a tech who can fit the dish ..cheers
#127 Posted : Sunday, August 24, 2014 9:30:41 PM

mlefu wrote:
@Ranka..share a contact of a tech who can fit the dish ..cheers

Pole kwa kuchelewa. talk to this guy if in Nbi: +254 720 638 898, name's Nahashon.
#128 Posted : Wednesday, August 27, 2014 12:56:23 PM

thanks Rankaz..got hold of the guy... Hes too professional lead to DIY

Now I have loads of Arabic
Channels...

http://en.satexpat.com/sat/west/7/

Require something in english..what do i need to mess and then fix ?
shalishali
#129 Posted : Friday, August 29, 2014 9:00:36 AM

I bought a hotpoint set top box at Tuskys and on connecting to my Tv the quality is so poor inaona like those pirated dvds so I have reverted to analogue which is very clear. Anybody with such experience?
UKITAFUTA UKABILA UTAKUFA BILA!
#130 Posted : Friday, August 29, 2014 12:14:44 PM

shalishali wrote:
I bought a hotpoint set top box at Tuskys and on connecting to my Tv the quality is so poor inaona like those pirated dvds so I have reverted to analogue which is very clear. Anybody with such experience?

Pole. The best advice someone gave me and I'm giving it to you now is, buy a genuine digital tv (there are many fakes). The picture is as good as it can be but the 'free to air' analogue channels have terrible quality because they are using obsolete technology.

#131 Posted : Sunday, August 31, 2014 11:36:11 AM

shalishali wrote:

Pole. The best advice someone gave me and I'm giving it to you now is, buy a genuine digital tv (there are many fakes). The picture is as good as it can be but the 'free to air' analogue channels have terrible quality because they are using obsolete technology.

The digital tv will still receive the same poor quality signals from our broadcasters. in a digital tv, the tuner is intagrated nd so an eternal STB is unnecessary. that said, I do not think hotpoint is a good choice. I have had no experience with it myself but everywhere I look online, almost everyone seems to be complaining about it. If it was up to me, I'd have gone for either CrystalView, Rockdale or Jolini.
#132 Posted : Sunday, August 31, 2014 11:39:06 AM

mlefu wrote:
thanks Rankaz..got hold of the guy... Hes too professional lead to DIY

Now I have loads of Arabic Channels...

http://en.satexpat.com/sat/west/7/

Require something in english..what do i need to mess and then fix?

The satellites at 7West are intended for the middle eastern audience and thus will naturally broadcast in Arabic. What is your dish size? How many channels, in total, can your system receive?
shalishali
#133 Posted : Monday, September 01, 2014 4:42:31 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:
shalishali wrote:

The digital tv will still receive the same poor quality signals from our broadcasters. in a digital tv, the tuner is intagrated nd so an eternal STB is unnecessary. that said, I do not think hotpoint is a good choice. I have had no experience with it myself but everywhere I look online, almost everyone seems to be complaining about it. If it was up to me, I'd have gone for either CrystalView, Rockdale or Jolini.

Thanks, I will OLX it!
UKITAFUTA UKABILA UTAKUFA BILA!
#134 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 9:44:09 AM

@Rankaz.. the dish is 130 cm.

below is my set up.
managed to get BBC, FOX ,CNN..Sad leaving me with 780 arabic channels..bure kabisa..which sat gives more English channels ?

holycow
#135 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 10:36:53 AM

mlefu wrote:

below is my set up.
managed to get BBC, FOX ,CNN..Sad leaving me with 780 arabic channels..bure kabisa..which sat gives more English channels ?

The decoder you own has an inbuilt account for opening channels on 36E. Get a DISEQC switch and a 90cm dish, point it to 36E and enjoy..You can also purchase DQCAM and enjoy additional English channels on 7W. I am mentioning it because you already got the hardware.
#136 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 11:32:23 AM

holycow wrote:
[quote=mlefu]

The decoder you own has an inbuilt account for opening channels on 36E. Get a DISEQC switch and a 90cm dish, point it to 36E and enjoy..Already on it ...entire DSTv..but scrambles alot..You can also purchase DQCAM..Advise where to get one... and enjoy additional English channels on 7W. I am mentioning it because you already got the hardware.

#137 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 11:34:59 AM

mlefu wrote:

below is my set up.

Hehehe...hapana kasirika mblo. You're unlikely to find a satellite with exclusively English channels. Hata za marekani na uingereza zina mchanganyiko wa lugha tofauti tofauti. What we should be talking of perhaps is the kind of channels/genre that you wanna watch i.e whether sports, movies, documentaries, news, cartoons, etc.

Otherwise, as I said, Nilesat is primarily used by Arabic broadcasters for their predominantly Arabic audiences so the channels there are predominantly in Arabic language. For me, the fat attraction was mainly for news as I was tired with the mediocre serving of alehandro, oga and politics of our local channels. On nilesat, you should be able to get CNN, BBC, EuroNews, NHK world, France 24, Bloomberg News, CCTV News, AlEtejah English, Press Tv, and AlJazeera English. The movie channels at the same location keep changing especially with the departure of MBCs first to Eutelsat 8 West A and later to Yahsat 1 A.
holycow
#138 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 12:10:33 PM

mlefu wrote:
holycow wrote:
[quote=mlefu]

The decoder you own has an inbuilt account for opening channels on 36E. Get a DISEQC switch and a 90cm dish, point it to 36E and enjoy..Already on it ...entire DSTv..but scrambles alot..You can also purchase DQCAM..Advise where to get one... and enjoy additional English channels on 7W. I am mentioning it because you already got the hardware.

For the freezing, change sim card to Airtel or use fibre.

DQCAM Costs $10 get it online.
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/...ird-dstv/1632019012.html

You can also try BEIN. Yesterday, I bought a BEIN decorder for 29k from OLX, so i am guaranteed sports (EPL, La Liga etc) for the next 1 year. I am not big on football, it's the hobby aspect that drove me into it. RAnkaz will understand ASAS. Almost got myself an ADMC decoder but as from yesterday, they changed ownership so let me count my blessings.
#139 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 12:45:28 PM

holycow wrote:
mlefu wrote:
holycow wrote:
[quote=mlefu]

For the freezing, change sim card to Airtel or use fibre.

DQCAM Costs $10 get it online.
http://www.aliexpress.com/item/...ird-dstv/1632019012.html

You can also try BEIN. Yesterday, I bought a BEIN decorder for 29k from OLX, so i am guaranteed sports (EPL, La Liga etc) for the next 1 year. I am not big on football, it's the hobby aspect that drove me into it. RAnkaz will understand ASAS. Almost got myself an ADMC decoder but as from yesterday, they changed ownership so let me count my blessings.

Hii ASAS namalisa sisi. To imagine I was on the verge of getting the ADMC too. I think I'll try Badr 4/5/6 just for curiosity's sake. Ikiingia mzuri I may consider giving the myHD package a trial.
#140 Posted : Tuesday, September 02, 2014 1:09:53 PM

sawa sawa..thank you.