wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

AFRICAN CUP OF NATIONS-PREDICTIONS
marex
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 10:19:11 AM

African football has gown is stature and this edition of The ACN gonna be the most competitive ever.....Its hard to predict the finalists but I feel this years final will be between Cameroon and ivory coast with the Ivorians taking the Cup...wats ya take?
marex attached the following image(s):
Angola_2010rv.jpg (5kb) downloaded 1 time(s).
The way I am
PONDI
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 10:28:23 AM

ghana vrs ivory coast would make a good final. they are the only teams in africa with the requisite depth in their squads to make it to the second round of the World cup.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 10:29:27 AM

@Marex,
Currently,Cameroun doesn't have strikers/midfielders in the league of Roger Milla and Theophile Abega (Greek?smile .Dude played in 82 world cup and is one of the finest mid-fielder to come from Africa)....But i must admit that Alex Song has come off age.He reminds me of Jean Pierre Tigana.Hardy,sticky and he is everywhere.He is the kid to watch......All said and done,i think this cup still belongs to the Egyptians....If only they stopped playing theatrics for a month.
marex
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 10:30:36 AM

Trust etoo...to single handedly strike for cameroon....otherwise hu else been scoring goals in cameroon. am sure Ghana, Egypy, Ivory coast and Cameroon wont miss in the semis, meaning that nigeria will drop a long way before. however
Ghana got injury problems....have they confirmed that John Pantsil and Michael Essien ae playing.. just discovered Morroco is not in the Cup...whatever happened to south Africa, Morroco and senegal!!! u watched 1982 world cup ama you are reading history books?
The way I am
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 10:50:39 AM

@Marex,
As old.....hehe...!!..By this time i had jumped city stadium walls many times to watch Gor and Epsi play regional powerhouses like Limbe Leaf,Rio Tinto,Berec Power Pac,Nkana Red Devils,Power Dynamos,KCC (Hapana maziwa...bure wewe...!!...Kampala City Council...lol) KMKM Zanzibar (Kikozi Maalum cha Kuzuia Magendo).....and yes,i was ther when Djoliba Stars of Mali walloped Ko-galo 2-0 at city stadium.The return leg was a fiasco...Nne mtungi...lol.
anasazi
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 10:57:24 AM

Personally I would like Cameroon to exit early. We Gunners need him back in the squad. Washana na wa egypt washukue hio kitu. Anyway, I hope Ghana/ Ivory coast go far for two reasons. First, because I wish them the best in the World Cup, so this is good preparation. Secondly, it will keep Chelsea guys for longer in the ACN...
Form is temporary, class is permanent
anasazi
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 11:00:39 AM

Njunge, kwa kweli, how old are you? Kweli we ni Guka. You know too much!!!!
Form is temporary, class is permanent
marex
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 11:09:19 AM

82 world cup....had nt even started crawling! @asanazi.......yeah...chelski guys should stay long and get their legs knocked nothing culd be sweeter than aving chelses fight wid spurs, man city, villa and birmimgham for the fourth place
The way I am
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 11:35:07 AM

I always support Nigeria and will stick by them, it's always great to enter some of these competitions as underdogs as the pressure then is low on the players and the technical bench!@!!
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 11:45:46 AM

@Mcreggae,
Not when you are world cup bound.

@Marex,
Players who have been on the bench tend to prove alot in the absence of regulars.....Again,go through the fixture again.Man U is meeting tough teams in the very last quarter.The same cannot be said of Gunners and the Blues.If Rio stays down and Vidic bolts,then the game against Leeds Khayega was a warm up to thorough thrashings ahead...(Sweet music to Pondi's earssmile )
Buster
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 05, 2010 1:28:46 PM

Why do Guys rate Ivoty Coast and will all know they usually dissapoint? Cause of Drogba, Kalou, The Toures etc??? These Guys will be thonking of their European Clubs and wont have a big impact on their Country.

Final will be Ghana v Camerou.!!!
marex
#12 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 5:10:21 AM

why does everyone think am a manugu fan?
The way I am
#13 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 5:19:12 AM

@njunge, smile remember there was a curfew during the '82 Games?
Ja-Kom
#14 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 5:20:54 AM

@Guka,(As old.....hehe...!!..By this time i had jumped city stadium walls many times to watch Gor and Epsi play regional powerhouses like Limbe Leaf,Rio Tinto,Berec Power Pac,Nkana Red Devils,Power Dynamos,KCC (Hapana maziwa...bure wewe...!!...Kampala City Council...lol) KMKM Zanzibar (Kikozi Maalum cha Kuzuia Magendo).....and yes,i was ther when Djoliba Stars........)

Hizi ni nini!! Ati these teams were LOCAL POWERHOUSES?? Eish!!! U remind me of that advert ""kijana,how many years have u been in form one?" smile
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
#15 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 8:06:08 AM

@Jakom,
I said regional powerhouses...bure wewe.smile .!!On the local scene, besides Epsi (Formerly Abaluhya FC), Gor Mahia and Luo union,we had teams like Feisal,Hakati sportiff,Gema United,Maragoli united,Abeingo............Sometimes in the early days of Daniel's rule,the man directed that all football teams in Kenya do away with tribal names.Abaluhyia FC became AFC leopards (You realise the first initial still stands for Abaluhyia..heh),Gor Mahia took the name Gulf Olympic Rangers (GOR) and dropped Mahia.This was restored later after some Luo elders went on their knees for the name.Luo union became Re-union and if my memory serves me right,Gema united became Nakuru Wanderers.

@GG,
Can you add some more.I see pia wewe ni wa before na haukaja wakati moja na reli...Laughing out loudly
Ja-Kom
#16 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 8:57:05 AM

@Guka,Hapo ni ten-nil.Wah! And i thought mi ni mjuajismile Sisemi kitu! Whatever happened to all these teams??
For just as through the disobedience of the one man the many were made sinners, so also through the obedience of the one man the many will be made righteous. Romans 5:19
Ja-Kom
#17 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 9:02:29 AM

It will be hard to know which teams progress,football these days is not about names et all. But teams to watch in my two-cent opinion,Cameroon and Egypt(they need a consolation coz of world cup).
#18 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 9:15:01 AM

@Ja-kom,
Most of this teams are no more.....and their death,coupled with that of Olympic centres, meant the end of Kenyan football.......BTW,do you know the name of the first semi-professional team in Kenya?....
Ja-Kom
#19 Posted : Wednesday, January 06, 2010 12:28:38 PM

Guka,no idea.And by semi-professional u mean?
#20 Posted : Thursday, January 07, 2010 6:42:40 AM

I meant paid to play football......The team was Volcano United started by Austrian hotelier Gerry Saurer.The man had such passion for football.....But as would be expected,KFF and our jinga politics screwed up this very noble project...we are a sad lot.