Health
Do Wazuans Exercise?
Bigchick wrote:washiku wrote:So today I decide to challenge myself to a personal marathon. Distance about 30km. From somewhere in Ngara to Githurai roundabout and back. Time 2hrs 55mins. First part was good, went non-stop but return journey wooiiiiii...wacha tu. Sema kuhema...I had to keep telling myself "Keep Trying" Maybe if I try this severally I can try the 42 kms sometime next year.
ION, I like the way Thika Road was done. The pedestrian path is so good and far from the road thus safe for running. The motor bike guys are the only challenge but they are manageable. Well done.Washiku. Wacha hata mimi niseme...nasiringi I did 10 Kms in 1 hr 33mins.(Brisk walking not running) From Bishops Court 5th Ngong Avenue, up to community area, down Haile Selassie upto to roundabout, down Uhuru Highway upto Nyayo Stadium then to TMall roundabout up Mbagathi way on on upto Silver springs on on to China Plate the back to Bishops Court. Well, it was smooth upto Tmall. At Mbagathi I was tempted to take a boda boda but none was willing to carry a sweaty woman . By the time I stopped my tongue was 6ft inje and my saliva was all salty. Next time will try jog halfway and walk halfway before I can attempt jogging all the way. Good stuff. Keep it up. You should also try karura forest, the tracks are marked, fresh air and no fumes.
ruby wrote:Bigchick wrote:washiku wrote:So today I decide to challenge myself to a personal marathon. Distance about 30km. From somewhere in Ngara to Githurai roundabout and back. Time 2hrs 55mins. First part was good, went non-stop but return journey wooiiiiii...wacha tu. Sema kuhema...I had to keep telling myself "Keep Trying" Maybe if I try this severally I can try the 42 kms sometime next year.
ION, I like the way Thika Road was done. The pedestrian path is so good and far from the road thus safe for running. The motor bike guys are the only challenge but they are manageable. Well done.Washiku. Wacha hata mimi niseme...nasiringi I did 10 Kms in 1 hr 33mins.(Brisk walking not running) From Bishops Court 5th Ngong Avenue, up to community area, down Haile Selassie upto to roundabout, down Uhuru Highway upto Nyayo Stadium then to TMall roundabout up Mbagathi way on on upto Silver springs on on to China Plate the back to Bishops Court. Well, it was smooth upto Tmall. At Mbagathi I was tempted to take a boda boda but none was willing to carry a sweaty woman . By the time I stopped my tongue was 6ft inje and my saliva was all salty. Next time will try jog halfway and walk halfway before I can attempt jogging all the way. Good stuff. Keep it up. You should also try karura forest, the tracks are marked, fresh air and no fumes. Ditto. Or Arboretum. Breathing in the dust, fumes and all manner of air pollutions, can't be good for your health. Kwanza it's deep breathing/panting. Not to mention Ngeta! All the same, Congratulations.
Mukiri wrote:ruby wrote:Bigchick wrote:washiku wrote:So today I decide to challenge myself to a personal marathon. Distance about 30km. From somewhere in Ngara to Githurai roundabout and back. Time 2hrs 55mins. First part was good, went non-stop but return journey wooiiiiii...wacha tu. Sema kuhema...I had to keep telling myself "Keep Trying" Maybe if I try this severally I can try the 42 kms sometime next year.
ION, I like the way Thika Road was done. The pedestrian path is so good and far from the road thus safe for running. The motor bike guys are the only challenge but they are manageable. Well done.Washiku. Wacha hata mimi niseme...nasiringi I did 10 Kms in 1 hr 33mins.(Brisk walking not running) From Bishops Court 5th Ngong Avenue, up to community area, down Haile Selassie upto to roundabout, down Uhuru Highway upto Nyayo Stadium then to TMall roundabout up Mbagathi way on on upto Silver springs on on to China Plate the back to Bishops Court. Well, it was smooth upto Tmall. At Mbagathi I was tempted to take a boda boda but none was willing to carry a sweaty woman . By the time I stopped my tongue was 6ft inje and my saliva was all salty. Next time will try jog halfway and walk halfway before I can attempt jogging all the way. Good stuff. Keep it up. You should also try karura forest, the tracks are marked, fresh air and no fumes. Ditto. Or Arboretum. Breathing in the dust, fumes and all manner of air pollutions, can't be good for your health. Kwanza it's deep breathing/panting. Not to mention Ngeta! All the same, Congratulations. washiku and big chick. you guys are strong. thats amazing.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/2/2006 Posts: 1,206 Location: Nairobi
What do you guys think of a treadmill?Can it help? Any expert advice? Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
bird_man wrote:What do you guys think of a treadmill?Can it help? Any expert advice? Wachana nayo.......You actually dont use any effort on treadmill(you work is only limited to lifting you legs up) If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Veteran Joined: 7/5/2010 Posts: 2,061 Location: Nairobi
Swenani wrote:bird_man wrote:What do you guys think of a treadmill?Can it help? Any expert advice? Wachana nayo.......You actually dont use any effort on treadmill(you work is only limited to lifting you legs up) Wewe @swenani wacha ....@bird-man, raise the incline of the treadmill to halfway between 0 and maximum for starters, adjust the speed to a fast trot and the settings to 'random' -which means it will keep adjusting to steep hill, gentle hill and flat scenarios and you will have a great work-out. Keep making the settings harder as you progress. Before I graduated to road-running, I used to do 3 treadmill sessions a week, 35 minutes each, kidogo weight machines and dropped 10 kilograms in about 12 weeks. If you just run on a flat incline you will not see noticeable results.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/28/2008 Posts: 2,276 Location: Kibish
Rope jumping is doing wonders for me. Nadondosha meli kubwa seuze ngalawa!
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/2/2006 Posts: 1,206 Location: Nairobi
quicksand wrote:Swenani wrote:bird_man wrote:What do you guys think of a treadmill?Can it help? Any expert advice? Wachana nayo.......You actually dont use any effort on treadmill(you work is only limited to lifting you legs up) Wewe @swenani wacha ....@bird-man, raise the incline of the treadmill to halfway between 0 and maximum for starters, adjust the speed to a fast trot and the settings to 'random' -which means it will keep adjusting to steep hill, gentle hill and flat scenarios and you will have a great work-out. Keep making the settings harder as you progress. Before I graduated to road-running, I used to do 3 treadmill sessions a week, 35 minutes each, kidogo weight machines and dropped 10 kilograms in about 12 weeks. If you just run on a flat incline you will not see noticeable results. @Quicksand,sounds good!But would you advice me to buy one? i.e is it a sustainable solution to reduce weight?My main problem is work hours...they are very gym unfriendly. Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
ruby wrote:Bigchick wrote:washiku wrote:So today I decide to challenge myself to a personal marathon. Distance about 30km. From somewhere in Ngara to Githurai roundabout and back. Time 2hrs 55mins. First part was good, went non-stop but return journey wooiiiiii...wacha tu. Sema kuhema...I had to keep telling myself "Keep Trying" Maybe if I try this severally I can try the 42 kms sometime next year.
ION, I like the way Thika Road was done. The pedestrian path is so good and far from the road thus safe for running. The motor bike guys are the only challenge but they are manageable. Well done.Washiku. Wacha hata mimi niseme...nasiringi I did 10 Kms in 1 hr 33mins.(Brisk walking not running) From Bishops Court 5th Ngong Avenue, up to community area, down Haile Selassie upto to roundabout, down Uhuru Highway upto Nyayo Stadium then to TMall roundabout up Mbagathi way on on upto Silver springs on on to China Plate the back to Bishops Court. Well, it was smooth upto Tmall. At Mbagathi I was tempted to take a boda boda but none was willing to carry a sweaty woman . By the time I stopped my tongue was 6ft inje and my saliva was all salty. Next time will try jog halfway and walk halfway before I can attempt jogging all the way. Good stuff. Keep it up. You should also try karura forest, the tracks are marked, fresh air and no fumes. @Washiku & @Bigchick. Kudos. I admire you guys. Washiku, i'm trying to picture you on the return route, kuhema, struggling, wondering why did I run all this way Good job man. Trust me, if you can do this every Sato all the way to Sept. you can handle the 42K during the stan chart. I'm tempting you to give the 42 K a try. Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
Rank: Member Joined: 3/14/2012 Posts: 577 Location: Nairobi Kenya
Are you guys aware Ndakaini Marathon is on Sept 13th. Will start training, let's meet on the starting line. RinkBefore I die - i will touch the sky!!
YoungMulla wrote:Are you guys aware Ndakaini Marathon is on Sept 13th. Will start training, let's meet on the starting line. Rink Team, Reminder Reminder Reminder. Polite reminder that we have less than a month to go. Get to the track and train if you havent been training. Please remember Ndakaini is more of a cross country than the marathons you are used to here in Nai so you need some extra effort. Get down to work.
rryyzz wrote:ruby wrote:Bigchick wrote:washiku wrote:So today I decide to challenge myself to a personal marathon. Distance about 30km. From somewhere in Ngara to Githurai roundabout and back. Time 2hrs 55mins. First part was good, went non-stop but return journey wooiiiiii...wacha tu. Sema kuhema...I had to keep telling myself "Keep Trying" Maybe if I try this severally I can try the 42 kms sometime next year.
ION, I like the way Thika Road was done. The pedestrian path is so good and far from the road thus safe for running. The motor bike guys are the only challenge but they are manageable. Well done.Washiku. Wacha hata mimi niseme...nasiringi I did 10 Kms in 1 hr 33mins.(Brisk walking not running) From Bishops Court 5th Ngong Avenue, up to community area, down Haile Selassie upto to roundabout, down Uhuru Highway upto Nyayo Stadium then to TMall roundabout up Mbagathi way on on upto Silver springs on on to China Plate the back to Bishops Court. Well, it was smooth upto Tmall. At Mbagathi I was tempted to take a boda boda but none was willing to carry a sweaty woman . By the time I stopped my tongue was 6ft inje and my saliva was all salty. Next time will try jog halfway and walk halfway before I can attempt jogging all the way. Good stuff. Keep it up. You should also try karura forest, the tracks are marked, fresh air and no fumes. @Washiku & @Bigchick. Kudos. I admire you guys. Washiku, i'm trying to picture you on the return route, kuhema, struggling, wondering why did I run all this way Good job man. Trust me, if you can do this every Sato all the way to Sept. you can handle the 42K during the stan chart. I'm tempting you to give the 42 K a try. You are so right. The return journey haikuwangi mchezo. I was actually thinking about the 42 Kms this evening when doing an evening run and thought I can try it out but I got scared. But I also checked up the distance between Ngara and Githurai and was surprised its 18.4km hence my total run was about 36.8km in about 3hrs. Will re-do it this Saturday nione. Ngara to Githurai
Those still planning to go to Ndakaini Cross country...registration closes tomorrow, 7th Sept. Hope it won't be a rainy day.
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
washiku wrote:Those still planning to go to Ndakaini Cross country...registration closes tomorrow, 7th Sept. Hope it won't be a rainy day. Congrats...for 36km. Am in for ndakaini (21km)...see you guys at the start....and finish!
Rank: Member Joined: 4/14/2010 Posts: 806 Location: Nairobi
washiku wrote:Those still planning to go to Ndakaini Cross country...registration closes tomorrow, 7th Sept. Hope it won't be a rainy day. Congrats...for 36km. Am in for ndakaini (21km)...see you guys at the start....and finish!
winston wrote:washiku wrote:Those still planning to go to Ndakaini Cross country...registration closes tomorrow, 7th Sept. Hope it won't be a rainy day. Congrats...for 36km. Am in for ndakaini (21km)...see you guys at the start....and finish! Drink a lot of water in the remaining days. You must ensure your body is ready. Mimi this time sina pressure, I will target 2hrs 30 mins.
washiku wrote:winston wrote:washiku wrote:Those still planning to go to Ndakaini Cross country...registration closes tomorrow, 7th Sept. Hope it won't be a rainy day. Congrats...for 36km. Am in for ndakaini (21km)...see you guys at the start....and finish! Drink a lot of water in the remaining days. You must ensure your body is ready. Mimi this time sina pressure, I will target 2hrs 30 mins. Is there something like 5km...Thats the closest i have gone to on the tread mill.
willin2learn wrote:washiku wrote:winston wrote:washiku wrote:Those still planning to go to Ndakaini Cross country...registration closes tomorrow, 7th Sept. Hope it won't be a rainy day. Congrats...for 36km. Am in for ndakaini (21km)...see you guys at the start....and finish! Drink a lot of water in the remaining days. You must ensure your body is ready. Mimi this time sina pressure, I will target 2hrs 30 mins. Is there something like 5km...Thats the closest i have gone to on the tread mill. Yes there is...but you ought to have registered by now.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
lol.... I wish you guys well in Ndakaini... I will be engaged on that day. All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Health
Do Wazuans Exercise?