9 Pages«<6789>
@Masukuma, kinarudiwo Mathare...
#71 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 4:45:20 PM

Talking of systems, the iebc provisional thing will always work as long as the scale is small, lakini at the presidential level ni ngumu, the human input is too vital for comfort.

I am sure the technical side of things is not very complex, lakini as long as you have a ka jama at the polling station pushing some buttons to submit the data, itakuwa shida at the presidential level, strongholds will always want to push their data last.

thus the procedures and processes! systems are made up of 4 components
1. hardware
2. software
3. people
4. procedures and processes

getting the last 2 working is the difficult thing... but we are getting there... each by-election enables us to test these procedures and processes and polish up.
halafu munataka hii commission yote iende home mulete watu wapya ndio waanze step 0! bure kabisa!

people ni ngumu, you should think of replacing the tiny mobile gadgets they use to send the figures, they are too secretive, since cash is not shida - weka touch screens kubwa kama ile ya kbc world cup - ana bonyeza figures that everyone in the room can see then use their finger print to transmit them - wacha niendele kulala, the dreams are getting better smile

hehe... over thinking as usual! iris scan iko wapi? it cannot be credible until everyone has their iris scanned
#72 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 4:46:57 PM

Talking of systems, the iebc provisional thing will always work as long as the scale is small, lakini at the presidential level ni ngumu, the human input is too vital for comfort.

I am sure the technical side of things is not very complex, lakini as long as you have a ka jama at the polling station pushing some buttons to submit the data, itakuwa shida at the presidential level, strongholds will always want to push their data last.

1. hardware
2. software
3. people

getting the last 2 working is the difficult thing... but we are getting there... each by-election enables us to test these procedures and processes and polish up.
halafu munataka hii commission yote iende home mulete watu wapya ndio waanze step 0! bure kabisa!

people ni ngumu, you should think of replacing the tiny mobile gadgets they use to send the figures, they are too secretive, since cash is not shida - weka touch screens kubwa kama ile ya kbc world cup - ana bonyeza figures that everyone in the room can see then use their finger print to transmit them - wacha niendele kulala, the dreams are getting better smile

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly As long as we have stronghold where almost 99% of the people support one side, it will not work whether the screen is mega big! Bado tuko far!
#73 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 5:07:48 PM

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly As long as we have stronghold where almost 99% of the people support one side, it will not work whether the screen is mega big! Bado tuko far!

this is the idea... Elections do not start with voting... people need to looks several steps back to get to understand the whole electoral cycle.. we electoral workers know that what you see on election day is actually a product of a lot of back breaking work before that (have you ever wondered - hawa watu huwa wanafanya nini miaka 5?)

Elections 101 - the electoral cycle.

What you see during the Electoral Period is a product of many things for example.... emphasis on Voter registration! most stakeholders neglect this stage of the cycle and somehow equate numbers during rallies to be numbers in ballot boxes.... how do you facilitate your people to vote? ama it's a case of four people named Everybody, Somebody, Anybody and Nobody. people should internalise this. Once registered biometrically - the commission should be able to determine who are people who have registered multiple times (normally immaterial since no one really is able to vote twice if voting works as expected). this list is provided to the public for scrutiny... IT IS YOUR RESPONSIBILITY TO GO CHECK IF YOU ARE ON THE LIST... IF INELIGIBLE PEOPLE ARE ON THE LIST .e.t.c. The commission just has data - it does not know who all these people are!
For political parties - just because you have gotten people registered it does not mean they will come to vote! you need to ensure your base is 'excited' and comes to vote. In Mathare only 33% showed up to vote... i.e. 1 in every 3 people came out to vote so TNA has no one to blame but themselves... kwa nini watu wao hawakutokea kuvote and they knew it would be tight? could voter apathy point to the fact that there is a disconnect between the political parties and their electorate?

on election day if everything works well... biometric identification on the material day and consequent transmission of these atomic results should go a long way into ensuring that elections are credible.

Until all stakeholders get their act right elections cannot be credible just changing an election commission every so often will not change anything - it's like FKA changing coaches and the players are the same!
p.s. plus one good election does not mean... future elections will be good - each has it's challenges.
#74 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 6:45:14 PM

1. hardware
2. software
3. people

Some of these delay tactics can be solved the hard way. Why not have a deadline to submit results? Beyond which no votes from that station are acceptable?
#75 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 6:48:12 PM

There are some strongholds people rise from the dead to vote! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#76 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 6:49:50 PM

There are some strongholds people rise from the dead to vote! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

and thus the biometric identification/verification/accreditation of voters on voting day! this coupled with a fairly new register should keep dead voters.... DEAD!
#77 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 6:56:09 PM

ODM victory was expected since areas such as Mathare north are actually "kisumu ndogo". BTW did they start paying rent after taking over the houses in 07/08?
#78 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 8:07:51 PM

^^^^^Enyewe goggles will kill us .... spoiling a good lecture by @masukuma!
#79 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 8:47:17 PM

nimesikia kalooser akisifu IEBC....smh... elections mzuri ni zile wanashinda.
#80 Posted : Wednesday, August 13, 2014 9:39:01 PM

nimesikia kalooser akisifu IEBC....smh... elections mzuri ni zile wanashinda.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ...they have to keep talking else watasahaulika. Typical Kenyan Politician.
9 Pages«<6789>