wazua Thu, Dec 4, 2025

It's a pig's life....
uwanja
#21 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 12:44:00 PM

@ Njunge

my point is this ... let us not waste energy 'blaming,and hating',who is perfect that he is not found 'wanting' in some area... not that am exusing anyone.. why not focus on the problems not on people ?

He who wishes to be rich in a day will be hanged in a year.

Leonardo da Vinci
Fundaah
#22 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 1:27:00 PM

Prof. You are out of touch.....just take a day or 2 to dandora ...rent a room for a month ... report one criminal to police....you will post sk replies from the other world..(if that is possible)

Here the governement has to put in place some measure to ensure that we do not have rogue policemen in the police force ...not the Dandora or wangige residents.....

e.g why should we have to recruit policemen with D+..........

when we have university graduate youngmen who are willing to serve the country......why do people have to bribe with Ksh.100,000 as aired in some local TV stations to get their children in the police force.....Garbage in Gabbage out.....

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Prof.J.T.Ouma
#23 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 1:31:00 PM

So who is going to do anything?lets stay like that since no one can do anything,pure buck passing. 'Don't blame us,blame the government'

ODM
Spend.thrift
#24 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 1:44:00 PM

@ Fundaah,you can't just say out of touch. Point out the fault lines in Prof's argument because his was more than a five words.

I see his point in holding 'the poor responsible' but also recognise the ethical validity of the UN Human Rights Declaration in which basic needs are typically understood to include 'food,clothing,housing,and medical care.' All people have a right to such goods. However,I believe that if there is any right that is exercised without a RESPONSIBILITY to the recipient,it ceases to be a right and transforms into an oppression of someone else. The HR argument continues to add that these needs should be provided to the (poor) people if they do not already possess them. In essence this argument says that government is responsible for organizing the redistribution of the goods necessary to satisfy all society members' basic needs or of the money to purchase these goods- The latter forms a whole debate which reminds me of the National Social Health Insurance Fund debate of 2005. I don't know which side you were on then.

I'm battling to find practical answers to the questions below;

Is society responsible for the well-being of the poor?

If so,at what cost to the rest of the community?

Are the poor to be held in any way responsible for themselves?

How far must poverty go before society is morally bound to act?

But whether we find answers or not,I still don't think we have a government in Kenya-rather we have a collection of smartly dressed thieves......... Having said that,I still insist that your household is your business. Imagine coming back home empty handed to your hungry kids and then telling them 'the government has failed to provide us with food'

If you ain't got your own Vision 2030,the only Vision 2030 you might ever see is tarmac roads passing near your grass thatched house,or planes overflying your house. There may even be hospitals that you cannot afford to pay 10 bob boda boda fare to reach-will you say the govt. needs to send a boda boda to pick you up?

It begins with you,ndio wewe.

We tenda wema kisha wende zako. Usinipe macho ya kutarajia shukrani!!!
Fundaah
#25 Posted : Tuesday, August 18, 2009 1:52:00 PM

Spot on .....spend.thrift.....can't agree more......everyone should take charge of his own destiny.....but the leaders should show the way ....that is why they are leaders and not every.... tom ...dick .....and njeri.....

Rules of the game here: Before you post anything think.give facts only..It's a serious blog for serious people....Do not insult your brother....respect one another...Just be good.... It's good to live a honest life....life without guilt.... Jeremiah 17:11 As a partridge that hatches eggs which it has not laid,So is he who makes a fortune,but unjustly; In the midst of his days it will forsake him,And in the end he will be a fool.' From the SK Anti-hate/anti- corruption campaigner..
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
Wakanyugi
#26 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 9:04:00 AM

@Spendthrift auliza je?

'Is society responsible for the well-being of the poor?'

Yes it is but only up to a point. Ethical society is constructed on the assumption that: a) all people will be granted a minimum standard of life b) that any members society who may not be able to access such standard by virtue of circumstance (draught or other disaster) age (children or the very old,physical or social condition (the very poor,women,handicapped,pastoralists etc) will receive help to attain such standard.

I believe this is the basis of Human rights conventions. Anything below this essentially consigns the unfortunate to the dictates of a soulless system where might is the only right. Such a system destroys the rich as surely as the poor.

'If so,at what cost to the rest of the community?'

This is a more difficult one. It is a fact that society (through instruments of government mostly) can only provide these rights to the extent it can bear. Thus for instance our government could do a lot more for the poor but how much more is limited by the resources at hand.

I would argue that we owe a duty of care to those whom circumstance has made less well equipped to withstand adversity. Further that this duty is a right not a privilege. But we also owe a duty to the future of society and any actions we take today should be seen in that light. Luckily anything we do to help the poor today has a demonstrable value to the future. Helping the poor to exit poverty is good business,if you like.

'Are the poor to be held in any way responsible for themselves?'

Yes they are. The same principles above hold that those who so receive such help are obligated to do their best to help themselves. But again this ability is constrained by external factors,the poor usually can not pull themselves out of poverty without external help - their key obligation then is to seek such help and to do all they can to apply it in a beneficial manner. The key role of government is help the poor find and use the supports that will help become &lsquo;un-poor.&rsquo; It is not to nanny them.

'How far must poverty go before society is morally bound to act?'

I would say in Kenya it has gone far enough.

I would also like to reiterate a point earlier made - Kenyans are generally a resilient and proud people. This is a major benefit as it means that,most of the time,all they want is the government to create a good environment and then get out of the way. They will do the rest. Creating such an environment is not hard to do.

Finally as to the professor's argument that the poor should do their part by having only those children they can care for,I agree (there is a demographic counter argument that does not apply here).

However the time to impart this lesson was yesterday,not today when the children are eating pig swill. Today we save life,tomorrow we preach.

My two cents
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Sigiriri
#27 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 11:56:00 AM

Let me try to pacify the two schools of thought here..

Without much philosophy,we are just divided into two schools of thought. Much similar to objectivists and consequentialists.

Kina Prof. are right in a way. Responsible parenting is not an option. It is also the right of ur child to be provided for - not by the government,but by their parents - you & me! If you cannot raise 2,please have just one! The poor are known to procreate more,the verdict would be - the parents err in getting into such a commitment without due planning and capacity to feed,cloth,secure and educate them!

The other team are right also because even after we have erred and sired more kids than we can raise,a govt. is charged with the responsibility to create a conducive environment for our kids to be raised in. If leaders did their work well,our economy would be able employ the Jane Wanjirus of this country - and afford a better life to the 4 children.

Can we now stop fighting over this thing and agree that poverty in Kenya is at disastrous levels now?!! And will get worse as effects of forest degradation sink in. And our politics continues to be dominated by a baba and hiw forty thieves and band of 212 tea-swillers,and their numerous appointees,most of advanced age who have no idea what patriotism refers to.

Baraka za Mungu ni za Ajabu
zach
#28 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 1:09:00 PM

Every person of majority age must be made or enabled to earn his life. Dependency sydrome has been whipped up and used to consign people into crude cycle of poverty. Population can be converted into human resource to be supplied to all areas of defficiency all over the world. Besides,it forms market for products produced locally and abroad.

Paradox arises

-where you find hungry people,and farmers will not invest in farming because guarantees of the market to cover costs are not there.

-expanse of arable land whether arid and semi arid but countries in a more worse desert conditions supplying fruits all over the world

-There was a time poultry farmers did a great job but just when the industry was picking up,flooding of the eggs from outside killed the industry.

We need commodity pricing guarantees and the buyer of the last resort who will guarantee that farmers remains in the industry.

Despite the fact that we grow up from a region of farmers nobody believes of a business case in farming. pyrethrum,coffee,tea,cassava,millet. etc.

Rain or no rain,hunger and famine will come to an end when business cases are developed harnesed and sustained for the pride of the nation.

Better ensure market by buying all produce to destroy or give freely than having farmers making losses and abandoning the farming altogether as it has hapened.

muthitho
Charley
#29 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 1:53:00 PM

Just skimmed through the discussion and thought I should contribute. But where do I start? I am angry and disappointed... so if I am inconsistent and rant like a woman scorned,forgive me. My take is that Kenyans are all culpable. Ask any Kikuyu and he swears by the same said Kibaki (even those blaming gova will blame the Raila part of gova if there is any such a thing),ask a Kamba and he will secretly (if not openly) claim Kalonzo is not to blame.....the luo's Raila,the kalenjins Ruto..... The poor blame their leaders but fight for them.... the poor being so poor must procreate substantially as some sort of insurance,that is proletariate behaviour... the elite say the poor are poor by choice (I have moved pubs because of this insensitivity to no avail).... we,the elite,have failed as we engage in tribalism,nepotism,corruption you name it. Kenya is subdivided into innumerable and meaningless Districts almost to the point of clan subdivision and we all cooperate and raise funds for DC's residences. What is the Kenyan ethos,vision and motto that holds all Kenyans together in commonality - none,zero! And do we seek such commonality - NO! Let us not pretend; we have all failed. The blood of 1,300 people is upon Kenyans... if there is a God,he is very angry with us and his anger is now upon Kenya. Politicians are our brothers,sisters,mothers and fathers... their failure is our failure - we bred them,we think like them,we are them; they are us. We have all failed and not only will we eat pig food..... we will probably eat soil too.... and as we do so,we will procreate even more and ensure that future generations will suffer for our sins even more.....yes,we are all to blame. We should all begin by being Kenyans,finding a genuine Kenyan identity,feeling,appreciation and honesty. WE are dishonest,corrupt,greedy and living a lie. Who among us would turn down the opportunity of being on the gravy train as an MP,PS or judge? The solution - a true genuine moral rearmament and reconciliation- find an avenue to seek forgiveness for our ills (which we must accept); an acceptance that a luo,kamba,kikuyu etc are equivalent) - an acceptance that we are all corrupt; culpable and have lost our ways. Genuine truth,reconciliation and reform move - not the current goon show.

My pesa nane take.... with all my anger and disappointment. If I have offended,I did not intend to,just an honest take - the way I know how,warts and all..... .
wote
#30 Posted : Wednesday, August 19, 2009 2:55:00 PM

@ Charley if you have disappointed some people that is for them to say but you have not disappointed me at all.

I want you to look at the following scenario.

Israel is desert state with no known minerals,the size of Tsavo West National Park and a population of 7.4million people has never experienced power shortages,food crisis or water problems. As a matter of fact,they are self reliant in almost all agric aspects,and world's lagerst exporter of cut flower and oranges.( They actually told me that some of the arable land in their country was air lifted from Kenya in the early 70 when they built Mumias sugar company)

Kenya on the other hand has vast Lakes,seafront,bigger landscape and several rivers. But no drinking water,no electricity,people are going hungry and we are crying we are culpable? no

Why do we pay people to be in Government? here i make reference to all arms of Government.

1,We pay people to be in government so that they can come up with plans that mitigate all the negative scenarios we are witnessing now. In simple terms we pay them to plan for our future and when they fail to do that,then we have a problem in such a situation . And that problem is the government.

Considering the level of development of our country,Kenyans are among the highly taxed people on the on eath,most of taxes are paid and no service rendered and if such service is rendered its of the lowest quality. we do nothing about it. That is where we are guilty for abeting corruption by not demanding what is rightfully ours.

wote
wote
#31 Posted : Thursday, August 20, 2009 6:43:00 AM

Charley,Sorry meant the soil was airlifted.

wote
zamali
#32 Posted : Thursday, August 20, 2009 10:53:00 AM

@ Charley

Your contribution has just sent me into a deep inspection of myself. I have been spun to more serious thought. I wish several more intellectual contributions like this one will continue thriving on SK !

I cant add more,am tongue tied...my fingers are stuck,cant add more..

Zama za Kengen IPO.... zama za mali
#33 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 8:34:00 AM

Well,the Chinese forced 1 kid per family... and the Indians tried but failed... China is far ahead in 'quality of life'... yes,there are ethical concerns lakini WHY should I (or my 1 kid) be forced to pay for others 'poor' procreation practices?
____* Sterilise anyone who needs financial/food assistance & has more than 1 kid. Harsh but needed.
____* Kenya's population has grown much faster than the economic growth rate. Kenya was NEVER as 'arable' as Uganda lakini it could support 8 million in 1963. It cannot support 35mn (census coming up) in 2009.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
wote
#34 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 8:49:00 AM

VituVingiSana,i agree with you on the Chinese policy but doubt your facts on India. When India hit the One Billion Mark there was alot of celebrations across India with the then Prime-Minister remarking' A billion is there'.

wote
#35 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 8:58:00 AM

@VVs,
I diagree with your thinking.Who said Kenya cannot support a population of 35Million???.....If anything,we have more than enough land,only that it's being under-utilised..........Look at Hong Kong.Well developed,has little resources compared to Kenya,yet it has a population of 7M within an area of 1,108 square kms........and Tokyo?.34.4M souls inside an area of 7,835 Km square........

Old man about town....
Fundaah
#36 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 9:09:00 AM

VVS this thing of overpopulation is another colonial fad......sample this :

Italy - population density 199. per square KM....

Kenya -population density 59 per square km.........

Who needs to practice population control.... certeris paribas.....

source : wikipedia...

Spend.thrift
#37 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 9:23:00 AM

@ Fundaah. Good point. But have you ever seen the kenyan style of hunger being reported about Italy. I've been there- just in case someone says,western Media would never report somthing like this.

This should get us thinking of where the real problem is.

@Njunge you're spot on. The problem has also been caused by our common definition of food security. Evryone wants to plant mais even in Ukambani. Why don't you grow mangoes,melons onions,e.t.c which do better and then have money to buy mais from Kitale?

We tenda wema kisha wende zako. Usinipe macho ya kutarajia shukrani!!!
wote
#38 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 9:23:00 AM

Good points Njung'e and Fundaah,and that is why i still insist that we actually pay the wrong people to work for us thus the problems we are in..

wote
#39 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 9:33:00 AM

Sure,the Indians might have celebrated a billion people... lakini that is for PR... What's the point of a billion people when most are below the poverty line?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#40 Posted : Friday, August 21, 2009 9:35:00 AM

@Njunge: My friend... HK imports most of its food & water from the mainland. Before the handover in 1997,the Chinese used to threaten to cut off the water... Yes,we under-utilise the land BUT there is a cost to intensive agriculture. Ask the Americans as well as the Indians. Problems are cropping up. The land is 'dying' under the intensive mono-culture.