7 Pages<1234>»
How big is Nigerian economy?
#11 Posted : Monday, August 11, 2014 11:29:17 AM

urstill1 wrote:
I found it interesting that our economy is less than 10% the oga's economy. Do you mean oil and their population can have such a huge effect? From the figures I have seen, I doubt if any African nation will ever catch up with them? Hua kuna njaa uko kweli?

PS: My comparison is strictly African we are affected by almost the same thing. So no much yada yada about how GDP is arrived at huko kwani @Kiash

let me put things in perspective! Forget Naija - Lagos has a much larger economy than Kenya! Tokyo, New York e.t.c. have larger economies than Africa (Naija, SA, Egypt.....57 countries and territories and it's 1 billion people combined)
So... place yourself in the grand scheme of things with your loud mouths.

on the flipside Nairobi has a larger economy than Rwanda.

And you forgot to add that Thika has a far much bigger economy than Nyanza!

and K-street has a far much bigger economy than the whole of Kamba Land
#12 Posted : Monday, August 11, 2014 11:30:02 AM

urstill1 wrote:
I found it interesting that our economy is less than 10% the oga's economy. Do you mean oil and their population can have such a huge effect? From the figures I have seen, I doubt if any African nation will ever catch up with them? Hua kuna njaa uko kweli?

PS: My comparison is strictly African we are affected by almost the same thing. So no much yada yada about how GDP is arrived at huko kwani @Kiash

let me put things in perspective! Forget Naija - Lagos has a much larger economy than Kenya! Tokyo, New York e.t.c. have larger economies than Africa (Naija, SA, Egypt.....57 countries and territories and it's 1 billion people combined)

Hey!! I said no mentioning of majuu. In that part of the world, the governments and policy shapers can easily trace over 90% transactions since most of them are in monetary form. Huku hatuwezi that's why I don't want that comparison. Wacha kujifanya mwerevu sana. Rudi chini kidogo. Stick to the rules.

sikujifanya mwerevu... nikuwa mwerevu... it's in the same way a tiger does not proclaim his tigritude - he just pounces. but to please you I also dropped a nugget about rwanda, lagos, nairobi!

tafakari haya... Liberia has 30,000 people connected to electric power on the main grid.... only 30,000 people. Waafrika tuko nyuma sana.

oops... sorry my tigritude is showing again...
#13 Posted : Monday, August 11, 2014 11:37:08 AM

So, back to the question. How big is the Nigerian economy?

urstill1
#14 Posted : Monday, August 11, 2014 11:37:39 AM

urstill1 wrote:

Hey!! I said no mentioning of majuu. In that part of the world, the governments and policy shapers can easily trace over 90% transactions since most of them are in monetary form. Huku hatuwezi that's why I don't want that comparison. Wacha kujifanya mwerevu sana. Rudi chini kidogo. Stick to the rules.

sikujifanya mwerevu... nikuwa mwerevu... it's in the same way a tiger does not proclaim his tigritude - he just pounces. but to please you I also dropped a nugget about rwanda, lagos, nairobi!

tafakari haya... Liberia has 30,000 people connected to electric power on the main grid.... only 30,000 people. Waafrika tuko nyuma sana.

All that you have mentioned are nothing new ... to me. I simply need an explanation between Kenya and Nigerian working values (There's no difference in leadership). I so hear you are currently in West Africa, you may be in a better position to explain. Wachana na google coz no African in the village understands that.
urstill1
#15 Posted : Monday, August 11, 2014 11:39:38 AM

radio wrote:

Simple question!!
#16 Posted : Monday, August 11, 2014 12:35:23 PM

urstill1 wrote:

All that you have mentioned are nothing new ... to me. I simply need an explanation between Kenya and Nigerian working values (There's no difference in leadership). I so hear you are currently in West Africa, you may be in a better position to explain. Wachana na google coz no African in the village understands that.

@urstill, you have started a very interesting debate, @maspinach seems to be the only guy contributing with figures to back him up.

In the wazua spirit, kindly allow him to continue. The thread may veer off-target kidogo, but we will all be wiser at the end.

@masukuma, ati how many households have electricity in Liberia again ?
#17 Posted : Monday, August 11, 2014 1:39:01 PM

@masukuma, ati how many households have electricity in Liberia again ?

30k.... for a country that had 'independence' in 1847.... they got their first traffic lights in 2012 (the prezi had to open them in the same way Uhunye would open the new terminal of JKIA). but this thread is not about Liberia, On Naija - it's all based on people! Economy (GDP) is all people... a 170 million strong country doing anything will have a strong GDP. GDP is a measurement ... many will go like... Oh GDP per capita... Oh GINI cooefficient, HDI e.t.c. are better ( depending on what narrative you want to support... gloom or boom) but to me they are all facets of the same thing.... human development.

That is why I think our politics are short sighted because we always look for messiahs that will automatically change all these metrics quickly. All these things take time! TIME! wachana na 'governance'... it's all about what you and me do to better our lives that aggregate to what our HDI, GINI, GDP, GDP per capita, GDP PPP is like.
#18 Posted : Monday, August 11, 2014 1:54:25 PM

urstill1 wrote:

BLAME IT ON RAIRA!!!!

#19 Posted : Monday, August 11, 2014 2:26:18 PM

urstill1 wrote:

Bado hatuja rebase wacha tu rebase ndio tujue the true picture. Naija econ is diversified, if it werent for corruption wangekuwa same league na waarabu. They have Nollywood and a big textile industry. Alafu hao watu wao wengi ni ma consumers. Wananunua Sukari ya Dangote, Simiti yake, na ku bank kwa Banks zao. Thats is what drives the economy. They are now getting into agriculture. Planting what they consume, so no African country will catchup with them soon, maybe Angola in the next few years.

As for Kenia, we are a little fascinated by things imported. Hio ndio inaturudisha nyuma. Look imported sugar is killing Mumias and others. We import njugu, popcorn. What do we export? Raw tea coffee.
Fyatu
#20 Posted : Monday, August 11, 2014 2:52:04 PM

The Nigerian economy is approximately 500b US dollars. Nigeria is the 6th biggest producer of irori in the World. It is the most populous country in Africa and 6th populous in the world. Despite its population, Nigeria is more than 50% forested.

By 1900, Nigeria was already exporting things like Kimbo, Cowboy, Omo, and Guiness Kubwa. At this time most Kenyans, were walking around naked and most were hunter gatherers. Nigeria has an excess of 300 public universities. Attaining a D+ guarantees you a position in University....University education in Nigeria is universal. In Kenya we are still struggling to make primary education universal.. All oga's want to be entrepreneurs unlike in Kenya where almost everyone wants to be either an MCA, or a KYM at Safcom or NMG etc

Nigeria is a full federal state. The ugatuzi we have in Kenya is jokes. even the igwes and their kingdoms have some level of autonomy and can bring in investors to their villages.

Oga's as a people are full of spirit. Oga's think large and think big money. Oga's are in all corners of the world making mullah and repatriating the mullah back home. The reason why KQ is going big on Asia route is because Oga's discovered guangzhou long time ago...in short the Nigerian economy is big....very big

Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
7 Pages<1234>»