wazua Thu, Jun 25, 2026

5 Pages«<345
Nooo! 5,000 Chinese workers expected for new railway
wangu.n
#41 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 12:29:17 PM

I really wonder how some people think that this is a good thing. I was part of a project where the chinese company working with us brought everyone including drivers and welders from China. Kenyans were the KYMs of the chinese KYMs.. that bad.

There should be transfer of knowledge and that will not happen if all the labour is outsourced..

and as someone said.. mbwa koko zote kwisha..
#42 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 12:35:36 PM

The way i understand/misunderstood it is that it is part of the deal and lends to the low cost, many of these are prisoners from China reducing the cost of labor and the cost of the project, we Kenyans use prisoners to cut grass and make furniture for gaarment, why cant Chinese ship their prisoners here and send them back once job is complete? That's how Thika road only cost 29birrion, watu waenedelee, do you want a cheap railway quickly or not? hio ndio swali hi zingine ya knowledge transfer..(to our prisoners)..enda ujifundishe, who taught them?...wapi engineers wa 'THE', they don't know how yet we have been producing thousands for almost half a century?
#43 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 12:36:15 PM

wangu.n wrote:
I really wonder how some people think that this is a good thing. I was part of a project where the chinese company working with us brought everyone including drivers and welders from China. Kenyans were the KYMs of the chinese KYMs.. that bad.

There should be transfer of knowledge and that will not happen if all the labour is outsourced..

Pole @wangu, what kind of KYM were you providing? Changing the gloves of the chinese KYM or refilling fuel and oil for the trucks?
#44 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 1:54:55 PM

The way i understand/misunderstood it is that it is part of the deal and lends to the low cost, many of these are prisoners from China reducing the cost of labor and the cost of the project, we Kenyans use prisoners to cut grass and make furniture for gaarment, why cant Chinese ship their prisoners here and send them back once job is complete? That's how Thika road only cost 29birrion, watu waenedelee, do you want a cheap railway quickly or not? hio ndio swali hi zingine ya knowledge transfer..(to our prisoners)..enda ujifundishe, who taught them?...wapi engineers wa 'THE', they don't know how yet we have been producing thousands for almost half a century?

We want a quality railway...
kiash
#45 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 2:02:51 PM

These guys have learnt from experience. Cannot remember the company doing the road in Langata sijui kama its WUYI also but some few months ago we saw how Kenyan drivers were going to a place near the construction site and siphon petrol from the lorries. Then you tell the same Chinese guy to go for locals, Kenyans will be KYM's .
#46 Posted : Wednesday, September 10, 2014 4:37:26 PM

Chinese staff for standard gauge rail halved to 2,500;

http://www.businessdaily...2/-/ih7d0m/-/index.html
#47 Posted : Wednesday, September 10, 2014 4:56:49 PM

kiash wrote:
These guys have learnt from experience. Cannot remember the company doing the road in Langata sijui kama its WUYI also but some few months ago we saw how Kenyan drivers were going to a place near the construction site and siphon petrol from the lorries. Then you tell the same Chinese guy to go for locals, Kenyans will be KYM's .

Wewe unakuanga langata ama huko mayuu?
#48 Posted : Wednesday, September 10, 2014 5:23:10 PM

wangu.n wrote:

Pole @wangu, what kind of KYM were you providing? Changing the gloves of the chinese KYM or refilling fuel and oil for the trucks?

I feel for you even welders Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
5 Pages«<345