Market
Technical
VW help!!! warning lights & vehicle stalling
Rank: Member Joined: 12/7/2010 Posts: 520 Location: Epicentre - Ngamia 1
Help!!! ESP, EPC warning lights & Vehicle Stalling on VW.Anyone experienced this with their VW? What did you do and where can i have this sorted? Vehicle is a 2006 Polo, well serviced as it is company maintained so no river roady Njoroge has ever touched it. Its scary when the car loses power at 80kph middle lane M-Road with a trailer rattling down behind you and nomatter how much you step on the accelerator, the car moves slower than a black mamba . Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
Forester wrote:Anyone experienced this with their VW? What did you do and where can i have this sorted? Vehicle is a 2006 Polo, well serviced as it is company maintained so no river roady Njoroge has ever touched it. Its scary when the car loses power at 80kph middle lane M-Road with a trailer rattling down behind you and nomatter how much you step on the accelerator, the car moves slower than a black mamba . The first people to ask should have been the guys maintaining it?
Rank: Member Joined: 7/24/2010 Posts: 236 Location: nairobi
Most modern cars have a programmable software for safety reasons.
In fact you should be very happy for that behavior. Most mechanics do not know it, but it is called a SAVE MODE, its mean't to get you out of the road to a save place to check your car, if you force it the car will stop.
Hii mpesa for cosultation.
Rank: Member Joined: 6/14/2010 Posts: 521 Location: Nairobi
innovator wrote:Most modern cars have a programmable software for safety reasons.
In fact you should be very happy for that behavior. Most mechanics do not know it, but it is called a SAVE MODE, its mean't to get you out of the road to a save place to check your car, if you force it the car will stop.
Hii mpesa for cosultation. Did you mean Safe mode
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
Take it for diagnostics. agba or opti-ride can sort it out. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Rank: Member Joined: 7/24/2010 Posts: 236 Location: nairobi
The optimist wrote:innovator wrote:Most modern cars have a programmable software for safety reasons.
Hii mpesa for cosultation. Did you mean Safe mode Oooh! yap spelling
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
Forester wrote:Anyone experienced this with their VW? What did you do and where can i have this sorted? Vehicle is a 2006 Polo, well serviced as it is company maintained so no river roady Njoroge has ever touched it. Its scary when the car loses power at 80kph middle lane M-Road with a trailer rattling down behind you and nomatter how much you step on the accelerator, the car moves slower than a black mamba . Was that you at nyayo stadium roundabt with the vw polo today? You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
Rank: Member Joined: 8/27/2010 Posts: 495 Location: Nairobi
Forester wrote:Anyone experienced this with their VW? What did you do and where can i have this sorted? Vehicle is a 2006 Polo, well serviced as it is company maintained so no river roady Njoroge has ever touched it. Its scary when the car loses power at 80kph middle lane M-Road with a trailer rattling down behind you and nomatter how much you step on the accelerator, the car moves slower than a black mamba . Your car is in the limp home mode. Without a diagnostic scan with VAG-COM (that is the VW specific diagnostic scanner, generic ones will just give you the engine date), it will be very difficult to say what could be wrong. So first step is have the car diagnosed at the company dealer. Just offhand guessing, probably could be the wiring to throttle body, coils, or just a loose vacuum tube. No big deal. Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
Rank: Member Joined: 10/19/2009 Posts: 671 Location: Nairobi
XSK wrote:Forester wrote:Anyone experienced this with their VW? What did you do and where can i have this sorted? Vehicle is a 2006 Polo, well serviced as it is company maintained so no river roady Njoroge has ever touched it. Its scary when the car loses power at 80kph middle lane M-Road with a trailer rattling down behind you and nomatter how much you step on the accelerator, the car moves slower than a black mamba . Was that you at nyayo stadium roundabt with the vw polo today? Life is joy, death is peace, but the transition is very difficult.
kaka2za wrote:Take it for diagnostics. agba or opti-ride can sort it out. @Kakak2za - Never ever!!! Maintenance is capped to some amount. Thanks anyway. @Ash Ock - buda boss, your answer is most accurate. Thanks to google i have an idea, problem seems common so mechs won't be clueless, i will educate them a bit.Imagine a mech telling you the check engine sign ati ni warning light that you need to change fuel filter,bure kabisa!!! @Innovator - thanks bro. @XSK - no, nilikuwa huko furniture palace heading to CBD. Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
Forester wrote:Help!!! ESP, EPC warning lights & Vehicle Stalling on VW.Anyone experienced this with their VW? What did you do and where can i have this sorted? Vehicle is a 2006 Polo, well serviced as it is company maintained so no river roady Njoroge has ever touched it. Its scary when the car loses power at 80kph middle lane M-Road with a trailer rattling down behind you and nomatter how much you step on the accelerator, the car moves slower than a black mamba . YOU WERE LUCKY
Zoea kupeleka gari service kwa authorized dealer "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
murchr wrote:Zoea kupeleka gari service kwa authorized dealer And pray that they can diagnose the problem and fix it.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/3/2008 Posts: 4,057 Location: Gwitu
My polo has been showing the EPC and Engine light for the last 2 years. The brake light switch had issues, fixed it but the lights didn't go off. I haven't had any problems, it moves well and has never 'limped '. I guess am either daring, lucky or naive. Truth forever on the scaffold Wrong forever on the throne (James Russell Rowell)
Fixed and SOLD!!! Back to Jap mitumba for now... Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
Forester wrote:Help!!! ESP, EPC warning lights & Vehicle Stalling on VW.Anyone experienced this with their VW? What did you do and where can i have this sorted? Vehicle is a 2006 Polo, well serviced as it is company maintained so no river roady Njoroge has ever touched it. Its scary when the car loses power at 80kph middle lane M-Road with a trailer rattling down behind you and nomatter how much you step on the accelerator, the car moves slower than a black mamba . Njoroge would have sorted that one out
Why do people buy this thing? All folks I know who own the thing cant wait to sell it - just no one will buy! Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/2/2006 Posts: 1,206 Location: Nairobi
This VWs ni mashida tupu!Why do guys buy cars with known issues in Africa?Benz C200 a much better idea... Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
@Jagger - thanks for the link. Wah! This car is pure trouble. Some guy says '' But better to move on with another brand and just continue to hate VW, everything to do with VW and tell everyone how much you hate VW at every opportunity. It's very cathartic and great for blood pressure and stress levels'' Kweli tupu if you ask me Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
bird_man wrote:This VWs ni mashida tupu!Why do guys buy cars with known issues in Africa?Benz C200 a much better idea... Oh sijui German technology is superior, oh sijui comfort&stability, oh sijui the cars age gracefully, crap!!!I will NEVER buy a VW again, NEVER!!! Today I will sleep fofofo like a baby , Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
Market
Technical
VW help!!! warning lights & vehicle stalling