wazua Wed, Apr 24, 2024

Referendum bill will have 8 billion on it
#1 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 1:03:32 PM

The national referendum being pushed by Cord will cost taxpayers in excess of Sh8 billion

#2 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 1:05:28 PM

#3 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 2:09:27 PM

What percentage of this goes to your pocket?Drool Drool

Excitement already! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#4 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 2:26:31 PM

What percentage of this goes to your pocket?Drool Drool

Excitement already! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

mimi silipwi na nyinyi tax payers! ningekuwa nikingoja hiyo yenu ningekuwa nimesota mbaya!
#5 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 2:47:26 PM

isn't part of the agenda to reduce the living cost of tax payers. Doesn't this mean the tax payer gets hit harder?
#6 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 2:48:39 PM

isn't part of the agenda to reduce the living cost of tax payers. Doesn't this mean the tax payer gets hit harder?

Yes today for a better tomorrow!
#7 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 2:50:59 PM

come baby come... after hii kukuwe na referendum nyingine na nyingine na nyingine.
#8 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 3:09:52 PM

We can pay billions for Anglo leasing without butting an eyelid, nini mbaya na kulipia referendum?
#9 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 3:19:12 PM

We can pay billions for Anglo leasing without butting an eyelid, nini mbaya na kulipia referendum?

mali ya uuma itumiwe!!! since mali ya uuma inatumika kama mali ya maskini.
#10 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 3:42:24 PM

tenderprenuers galore Laughing out loudly
Iganamagana
#11 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 3:57:11 PM

What a waste? We just voted in favor of a new constitution and a new government. Kwani kazi ni uchaguzi tu?

#12 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 4:24:46 PM

This is peanuts compared to what was sent to Anglofleacing a couple of months ago.

#13 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 4:40:22 PM

come baby come... after hii kukuwe na referendum nyingine na nyingine na nyingine.

a referendum every year may well be the new saba saba. Sad
#14 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 4:41:36 PM

Iganamagana wrote:

What a waste? We just voted in favor of a new constitution and a new government. Kwani kazi ni uchaguzi tu?

Kazi ya wanjiku ni voting Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#15 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 4:55:49 PM

Think of employment it will create, i.e presiding officers,clerks,etc.There will also be an opportunity to transport the ballot boxes, hiring of PA equipment for the campaigns, printing of tshirts, posters, banners, actual campaigners, crowd sourcers,etc.Any rational Kenyan must support it.Look for a way of eating whether Jubilee, Cord or even if you dont care about the 2 coalitions!!!!!
#16 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 5:17:39 PM

mkenyan wrote:

a referendum every year may well be the new saba saba. Sad

sapa sapa! elections are not bad for the economy - kuna 'trickle down' - KATIBA YES!
#17 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 6:40:37 PM

Trust Kenyans all the time....Laughing out loudly

"An MP has proposed an amendment to the Elections Act to force a losing side in a referendum to pay the costs incurred in conducting the vote."
limanika
#18 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 7:28:38 PM

"An MP has proposed an amendment to the Elections Act to force a losing side in a referendum to pay the costs incurred in conducting the vote."

Good, I believe everyone will support this in parliament. coz there is no way you cannot agitate 4 a referendum and go through the pain of collecting 1 million signatures if you are not sure of winning…
But so as not to lock out wananchi from agitating for referendum in case of dictatorial regime in future, I would propose amendment as follows:
‘Any referendum for constitutional amendment by popular initiative shall be held at the same time as the next scheduled general election in order to minimize cost. However, the referendum may be held at any other time, provided the proponents are ready to meet the cost should the proposal be rejected in the referendum.’
#19 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 8:04:45 PM

limanika wrote:

Good, I believe everyone will support this in parliament. coz there is no way you cannot agitate 4 a referendum and go through the pain of collecting 1 million signatures if you are not sure of winning…
But so as not to lock out wananchi from agitating for referendum in case of dictatorial regime in future, I would propose amendment as follows:
‘Any referendum for constitutional amendment by popular initiative shall be held at the same time as the next scheduled general election in order to minimize cost. However, the referendum may be held at any other time, provided the proponents are ready to meet the cost should the proposal be rejected in the referendum.’

Read the constitution Omera referendum is about rights not costs!
#20 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 9:02:05 PM

limanika wrote:

Read the constitution Omera referendum is about rights not costs!

maambie! hii kitu ni unstoppable! itakuwa? ama itakuwa?