Boris Boyka
#11 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 9:53:27 AM

Rahatupu wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:
Biashara!!! Does this charcoal come to Kenya?

Quite difficult. Nearly all the charcoal goes to mid east. Routes from kismayo to Kenya ni through ocean na itaonekana mombasa port, or air ndege ya nani itabeba makaa and all land in wajir airport for inspection or road network which is sooo long and expensive. in short no. However note that the main economic activity of southern somalis is this charcoal trade,fishing is the second and trade final one. Now stopping this charcoal trade means you interfering with locals bread and have to give them an alternative which is .............? ni ngumu so locals were allowed to continue as AU finds other livelyhood means.

And this charcoal is made at the expense of?

The charcoal is made by local somalis at expense of their own environment. @Mukiri I'm not supporting it per se but look at the situation. One kdf is not alone in somali but it's operating under AU so any activity the amisom troops engages in whether operations or aiding civil community is as directed by AU. Two I said this economic activity supports millions locals so telling them to stop the trade as it supports alshabab is like telling matatu guys to stop business as they fund mungich through "taxes". Third true they're destroying their environment but if kdf or whoever decided to stop them what alternative sources of income for the millions are you offering??? it's like telling kenyan jaboyas or prostitutes to stop the whatever yet huna sustainable alternative for them. All in all this is black mail article ; AU controls and directs all actions by amisom troops,therefore stopping the charcoal trade is an AU mandate. Hii wazungu are jealous of how kdf managed to contain alshabab and are out to reverse the gains. They're in fact aiding kebabs directly and indirectly for kenya to humiliate kenya. They were there. FYI locals somalis WANT KDF TO STAY.

@Borris, well said Applause Applause Applause Applause

..al shabab contained? Are we this blind?

@ magigi they indeed were contained by kdf in phase one. which other nation in whole world ever made such a battle that brought kebab to their knees? the Internationales who thrived on the big piracy,arms trade,UN aids among other illegal multi million dollar businesses were now f**d up as kdf was strict even locals hppy. now came in the anti kdf campaign which championed through ug my friend iko majamaa ; big brothers who dont want this kebab to end.
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#12 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 12:18:49 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:

Quite difficult. Nearly all the charcoal goes to mid east. Routes from kismayo to Kenya ni through ocean na itaonekana mombasa port, or air ndege ya nani itabeba makaa and all land in wajir airport for inspection or road network which is sooo long and expensive. in short no. However note that the main economic activity of southern somalis is this charcoal trade,fishing is the second and trade final one. Now stopping this charcoal trade means you interfering with locals bread and have to give them an alternative which is .............? ni ngumu so locals were allowed to continue as AU finds other livelyhood means.

That's rules of war 101. You do not antagonize local populations as you need their support.
#13 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 1:34:39 PM

@Washiku (www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=29651)
You now know who's dumping cheap sugar and why Gichagi and co are 'clueless'.
Iganamagana
#14 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 3:41:36 PM

Boris Boyka wrote:
Rahatupu wrote:
Boris Boyka wrote:

And this charcoal is made at the expense of?

The charcoal is made by local somalis at expense of their own environment. @Mukiri I'm not supporting it per se but look at the situation. One kdf is not alone in somali but it's operating under AU so any activity the amisom troops engages in whether operations or aiding civil community is as directed by AU. Two I said this economic activity supports millions locals so telling them to stop the trade as it supports alshabab is like telling matatu guys to stop business as they fund mungich through "taxes". Third true they're destroying their environment but if kdf or whoever decided to stop them what alternative sources of income for the millions are you offering??? it's like telling kenyan jaboyas or prostitutes to stop the whatever yet huna sustainable alternative for them. All in all this is black mail article ; AU controls and directs all actions by amisom troops,therefore stopping the charcoal trade is an AU mandate. Hii wazungu are jealous of how kdf managed to contain alshabab and are out to reverse the gains. They're in fact aiding kebabs directly and indirectly for kenya to humiliate kenya. They were there. FYI locals somalis WANT KDF TO STAY.

@Borris, well said Applause Applause Applause Applause

..al shabab contained? Are we this blind?

@ magigi they indeed were contained by kdf in phase one. which other nation in whole world ever made such a battle that brought kebab to their knees? the Internationales who thrived on the big piracy,arms trade,UN aids among other illegal multi million dollar businesses were now f**d up as kdf was strict even locals hppy. now came in the anti kdf campaign which championed through ug my friend iko majamaa ; big brothers who dont want this kebab to end.

The propaganda almost made us belief KDF is evil. Thanks mate for your insightful perspective.
#15 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 7:04:36 AM

kiash
#16 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 12:07:10 PM

How did they know its KDF? ama waliona ule anakaa Kamau ?
Its was funny to see Uhunye defending KDF, we might need more tthan just proof thet they are not doing any business after what happened in Westgate.Now that KDF has been ordered out ,let them leave and hang along the border. Take Kakuma to Somalia and tell them to take care of their own.(By the way has the expansion started after Kelly and Obama's Visit)
#17 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 12:10:15 PM

Well if charcoal is a profitable business why not? The revenue from charcola can be used to supplement our national coffers
wanyee
#18 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 12:35:08 PM

http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/somali-mps-vote-kdf-leave

well i know Saturdays to be Sunday equivalent in MOg but i could be wrong..proper-ganda on steroids
#19 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 12:36:18 PM

Well if charcoal is a profitable business why not? The revenue from charcola can be used to supplement our national coffers

Trojan horse.
#20 Posted : Monday, November 16, 2015 3:20:11 PM

http://www.the-star.co.ke/news/somali-mps-vote-kdf-leave

The UN report claimed Kenyan companies and KDF are the leading participants in the illegal charcoal export through the Kismayo port worth Sh22 billion annually.

That seems like a lot of cash,
around 1.8 billion per month
around 62 million per day

assuming they sell a gunia at around kes 500, that comes to around 120,000 gunias per day - thats crazy logistics, considering the state of roads and security in that region.