24 Pages«<23456>»
Referendum – the ambiguity of 1M signatures
wal6807
#31 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 2:48:52 PM

limanika wrote:
One A4 sheet can contain about 20 names with voter reg no. signatures, 1 Million signatures will require 50,000 sheets. Assuming these sheets of paper and names are presented to IEBC in no particular order, i.e. no semblance to voters existing register (does it have signatures?), how easy will it be for IEBC to verify the authenticity of these names (whether they are registered) and signatures? Who will fund this stage of the process? Isn’t it time for IEBC to petition parliament to provide legislation to guide this pre-referendum stage? for now it is too ambiguous and open to abuse!

Thats what IEBC is paid for.

let me tell you what will happen.
1) CORD will 'collect' these signatures.
2) They will be handed over to IEBC, IEBC will pokea them and 'trust' that the party that submitted them is telling the truth and kick of the process. in the same manner to supporters of presidential candidates (2k for each county for atleast half of the counties).
3) Ukitaka kustop process unakimbia kortini ukisema - these are fake voters. the court asks the IEBC - did you verify... the IEBC says it does not have a budget to hire data entry operators and the thing is stuck in limbo.
4) The court will ask IEBC to verify
5) once they verify that it's not 1m actual people (sijui signatures wata verify aje - i have a story to tell on that one but not for this forum) CORD gets called in and is accused of attempted fraud! in the same way some people presented fake voter registration slips worth 5/=

Am glad nowadays the Mpesa agents sheets have no name field , knowing what went down during the political parties registration
"Children today are tyrants. They contradict their parents, gobble their food, and tyrannize their teachers."
•Socrates (470?-399 BC)
#32 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 2:49:42 PM

Let the noisemakers do what they know best!! Meanwhile, Kazi iendelee!!

A very misused word, especially in this regime ya UHURUTO
MKWASI
#33 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 2:50:56 PM

Hii kitu iniaitwa referendum tentatively ni siku gani....2015???. Why can't this thing be October 2014. Tumalize and we move on. We do not want someone to waste our time doing monkey business.

I also urge them to collect submissions from the all interested groups so that we undertake just one referendum.

I urge the COE (Version 2) to move fast.
#34 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 2:54:44 PM

This Katiba i love and hate at the same time. i love it more when politicians can not manipulate it knowing fully well we only got it because they disagreed. if they were all together, they'd be shafting us (the same "us" shouting hoarse in their support) by now.

Katiba ni sasa na kama si sasa, ni sasa hivi! Story ndio hii sasa!
#35 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 2:55:27 PM

Mtafiti wrote:
all those things you are hearing about the UN from CORD are supposed to be added to alfu lela ulela

Wits game.😁

Cord has delusions of grandeur! they think the UN takes instructions from minority political parties.
#36 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 4:41:30 PM

Part of the secretariat collecting signatures. 1 M tutapata. Kiambu alone will generate over 200k! Accuracy is on name/ID no/Voters card no full stop. Hapa hakuna BVR kit!
#37 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 4:48:56 PM

Part of the secretariat collecting signatures. 1 M tutapata. Kiambu alone will generate over 200k! Accuracy is on name/ID no/Voters card no full stop. Hapa hakuna BVR kit!

anyone can raise 1 Million signatures out of 14 million registered. hiyo sio shida - shida ni 'IEBC should not do the election'. It's like saying the Judiciary should not listen to this court case or Parliament should not make this law e.t.c. we must learn to respect and accept institutions.
limanika
#38 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 5:05:09 PM

If it is that simple any mole in IEBC can generate 1 million names with ID numbers within hours and print out. But pliz explain the process of verifying the signatures, that is subject of the thread
#39 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 5:42:44 PM

limanika wrote:

If it is that simple any mole in IEBC can generate 1 million names with ID numbers within hours and print out. But pliz explain the process of verifying the signatures, that is subject of the thread

i have already told you how it will play out

1) CORD will 'collect' these signatures.
2) They will be handed over to IEBC, IEBC will pokea them and 'trust' that the party that submitted them is telling the truth and kick of the process. in the same manner to supporters of presidential candidates (2k for each county for atleast half of the counties).
3) Ukitaka kustop process unakimbia kortini ukisema - these are fake voters. the court asks the IEBC - did you verify... the IEBC says it does not have a budget to hire data entry operators and the thing is stuck in limbo.
4) The court will ask IEBC to verify
5) once they verify that it's not 1m actual people (sijui signatures wata verify aje - i have a story to tell on that one but not for this forum) CORD gets called in and is accused of attempted fraud! in the same way some people presented fake voter registration slips worth 5/=

when you go to a gava office with your id - they don't call ole lenku to verify that you are actually having a real card - they 'trust' that you know that you will be prosecuted for fraud if you are caught having presented fraudulent papers. same thing with degree , KCSE cert or stuff from EACC or CID. they take it and 'file it'. When a challenge comes - the claims are examined.
jmbada
#40 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 5:47:16 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:
Let the noisemakers do what they know best!! Meanwhile, Kazi iendelee!!

A very misused word, especially in this regime ya UHURUTO

Izz not a word izz a phrase. Gerritt?
24 Pages«<23456>»