wazua Sun, Dec 7, 2025

The Mbuta of Mau Forest
atiriri
#1 Posted : Monday, December 21, 2009 5:27:41 AM

d'oh! Do you really think the Mbuta of Mau Forest should be compensated? Sad Why should the government part with 330M to give an individual while this person did not buy that land in the first place. Cant these money be used to buy land for the IDPs instead.Pray
#2 Posted : Tuesday, December 22, 2009 1:18:22 PM

these things are oft stage-managed. Fly on the wall followed the exchange:

Immigration Mpig: Uhuru, mii onasikia wewe nataka lipa hii watu ya
Rift Valley
Deputy PMpig in Finance: Wee wachana na mimi, hakuna pesa!

Immigation Mpig: Baaas. Wewe enda kwa watu ya magazeti weka hiyo
mapeni ya UNEP halafu ungojee raia wawike.Otalipa!
inf8nity
#3 Posted : Tuesday, December 22, 2009 8:36:01 PM

atiriri wrote:
d'oh! Do you really think the Mbuta of Mau Forest should be compensated? Sad Why should the government part with 330M to give an individual while this person did not buy that land in the first place. Cant these money be used to buy land for the IDPs instead.Pray

Its simple: check Mark 4.25
"For whoever has, to him more shall be given; and whoever does not have, even what he has shall be taken away from him."

#4 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2009 12:05:54 AM

I think the mbuta should be compensated by moi or given an equal size portion in northeastern. Allocation of land in forest should be declared a national disaster title or no title, as all is fair in times of war or severe internal distress. Did you know mbuta feeds on omena? Dont let it eat you (your taxes)
#5 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2009 5:10:52 AM

@much know: In somalia... not even NE Province...
#6 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2009 6:24:47 AM

Aiii.....Just when i thought RAO was running away with my vote.....and he...damn!!!....is supporting a pay out for the Mbutas??.Whether parliament voted for compensation or not,this grabbers should not get a penny and as Baba Martin says,"Walipwe na nini?.Kwanza inatakiwa wafungwe"
Fundaah
#7 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2009 6:30:32 AM

Chameleon politics...RAO is now disappointing...How the haguecan he support the payment of these daylight thugs .....
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore
atiriri
#8 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2009 10:55:34 AM

he is away on Holiday in the UK. It can be bad if he really supported the payment of Mbuta. Lets wait and hear what he has to say when he comes back. just as much know has said Mbuta feeds on Omena and do i say
#9 Posted : Wednesday, December 23, 2009 1:05:44 PM

I come to your house and make off with your cherished 42" Plasma, then go to rivarori and get a 'legit' receipt. Then I go buy a converter box for the telly and add a home theatre so that not only do I have good high-definition sound but i also can view digital tv and even DsTv through my decoder - does that now make me a legal owner of the plasma? If the theft is discovered 2 YEARS LATER, can I then demand compensation for the 2 yr old plasma, home theatre and the DsTv decoder dish at CURRENT MARKET PRICE?
A resounding No, because the tv was fraudulently acquired rendering the legality of the receipt null and void. In fact trying to get compensation at market rates is attempted fraud, attempting to acquire public money by false pretences by purporting the property was originally yours.

The plasma tv is the mau land, the converter,home theatre and decoder are the developments thereon. Owners cannot be compensated at all before FIRST answering to charges of grand larceny of public resources,attempted fraud and abuse of office.
A good, clever and AG would get a conviction on current laws - unfortunately we don't have such an AG because he's the one who legitimized the titles in the first place.

#10 Posted : Thursday, December 24, 2009 6:52:19 AM

@Njunge and Fundaah...as you are well aware, paying the Mbuta was passed in parliament and RAO is only implementing in accordance with his position as PM. Uhuru being present in parliament did not object to the parliamentary amendment, knowing very well that it had BIG financial implications! RAO has always stood for not compensating these people, now Wekesa goes changes track and says they will pay for the Mbuta's investments in the land...hogwash!! hata 1Kshs these guys should be given!
Ngalaka
#11 Posted : Thursday, December 24, 2009 9:34:33 AM

@Nothingstop

So whose position btwn Uhurus and Railas do you support.
Uhuru says not paying.
Raila says pay up!
Cant have your cake and eat it.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
#12 Posted : Thursday, December 24, 2009 9:49:08 AM

... subject to availability of funds.

Do the payments have a deadline? Can they be paid, for example, on 17th November 3090?

Just a thought.
#13 Posted : Thursday, December 24, 2009 12:52:26 PM

Mr. Ibrahim Mwathane, on his article on page 13 of Nation on 24th December 2009, brings out another angle to this scenario altogether.

Can Mutukufu Rais make an Executive Order repossessing Mau like he did Kenyatta International Conference Center from Kenya African National Union?
#14 Posted : Thursday, December 24, 2009 9:42:34 PM

RAO is NOT supporting the payout...

(poor PR from RAO's camp... RAO needs Salim Lone back!)

but stating that uhuru (the son of Kenya's #1 landgrabber who sees repossession as a threat to his family's stolen wealth) supported compensation in parliament.

At the least, uhuru did not oppose the compensation bill in parliament while RAO did...
#15 Posted : Friday, December 25, 2009 5:24:19 AM

@VVS,
The issue here is not who is supporting what.It is morally wrong to compensate this Mbutas.As Ma-he-goat is won't to say,pay them in 3020 or ask Baba Simama (I always thought the boy was not standing...smile )to make an executive order.
#16 Posted : Saturday, December 26, 2009 6:21:35 PM

Let the gvt pay. The gvt should avoid unnecesary litigation which wil delay the reaforestation process
#17 Posted : Sunday, December 27, 2009 10:40:30 AM

Kadonye thats a lie. KICC (as aemathenge illustrated) is worth more than the 2billion being talked about here. The same Mbuta were kicked out by the government and run to court, but what has happened so far? Kick them out and start reforesting, let the mbuta waste time in court as the trees grow. By the time they are being heard some of us omena may have become mbuta and will place new roadblocks.
#18 Posted : Sunday, December 27, 2009 11:25:00 AM

@intelligentsia...it is the AG who legitimized the titles in the first place... Pray, tell us how
#19 Posted : Monday, December 28, 2009 7:40:24 AM

@sparkly... I stand to be corrected but Mau was initially gazetted land that had to be de-gazetted as a forest land before title deeds were issued. Part of the land was actually meant for the Ogiek jamaaz before it was stolen frm them. Too many legal requirements had to be followed to allow degazettement of the forest from a protectd land gazetted as a forest, change of user, to finally title deeds to be issued in favour of Moi and the creme de creme of his govt.of the time. Wako was not aware/ facilitating all this time as the govt legal adviser when Mau land was being dished out like confetti to a good chunk of the entire govt?
Even the then Commish of Lands (that Gachanja fellow?)and the MP for Lands must answer qstns of abuse of office for allowing that to happen under their watch. 'Following orders from above' is no longer an excuse since the Nuremberg Trials if the law is unjust and you have a personal responsibility as well for your actions even if following orders.

@kadonye - can't pay, won't pay, shouldn't pay. Yes, the sanctity of a title deed is final and should be legally unassailable but this applies only to a title deed that has been legally acquired in a transparent and legal manner and the owner therefore has inherited a good and clear title to the document. Not same for the Mau ones.
Iganamagana
#20 Posted : Monday, December 28, 2009 9:42:23 AM

Raila and Uhuru are just doing what they are good at - switching positions when it is convinient. Why pay the robbers? Incidentally, the Kenyatta family owns a tea plantation in Thika District (the old Thika/Kiambu district) that is clearly inside a forest reserve (Aberdare forest next to Gakoe village). Can they explain how they acquired this piece of Land? It should be repossesed urgently. The same should apply to Nyayo Tea zones. They (the Tea Zones) were curved out of Forest Reserves under the guise of protecting the same forests. What an irony?