DBLyon wrote:Did anyone here attend the dinner they held at Cardinal Otunga sometime last month? If yes, kindly share what it was like and what they had to say.
It's currently ongoing every Thursday/Friday of the week. If you can, make some time to attend. Really informative session. Some of the things that were talked about were;
Opportunities as a bank/sacco
Loans - Asset/property financing - They are still giving loans to members. Most recently the Thika buses, they were the financiers.
Agriculture
Dairy farming - Proposal by Jubilee govt. for maziwa ya 'Nyayo" to come back. That means 5 children per litre a day. There are 10 million school going children. That's 2mill. a day. They already have invested in lots of dairy farming and hope to reap from it.
Fixed deposit accounts/cheque books/atm cards - They offer the mentioned and the atm cards even have the new chip and you can use co-op bank for normal withdrawals i.e. 33/= per withdrawal or any other VISA place for transactions A member recently put half a BILLION into it.
Chamas
They give their offices to chama members to hold a meeting - Boardroom like kind of set-up
Opportunities as an insurance
They offer insurance to dairy farming
Opportunities in Power generation - They are already generating some power. Hydro I think in Central Kenya.
Community project - They also have a big heart just that they don't tell the media to cover it - Adopted, thermos bernados in Madaraka amongst others and also do environ conservation
Smart campaign - They're the first in Africa to do it (google it) Commonly used in Europe and dev. countries
They plan to have different arms under one umbrella unaitas holdings i.e. insurance arm, mortgages arm etc
Also, they withdrew M-pesa transactions charges and now its free of charge.
I think they're already a bank with a title of a SACCO, hehe
“The beauty of success is that it doesn’t matter how many times you have failed, you only have to be right once and then everyone can tell you how lucky you are.” - Mark Cuban