wazua Mon, Jun 29, 2026

SGR vs African Heritage House -please demolish
Coolbull
#1 Posted : Friday, July 11, 2014 7:08:56 PM

Aki now how can we sacrifice a national park because of a private property which can be re-located.

May the government move fast to demolish the so said 'most photographed house in Africa', if the owner cannot accept compensation.

The National Park is more a national treasure than this property. How many cities have National Parks?

Link: African Heritage House

The house can be rebuild and the artifacts are not 'cemented' deep inside the ground.

#2 Posted : Friday, July 11, 2014 7:24:31 PM

Coolbull wrote:
Aki now how can we sacrifice a national park because of a private property which can be re-located.

May the government move fast to demolish the so said 'most photographed house in Africa', if the owner cannot accept compensation.

The National Park is more a national treasure than this property. How many cities have National Parks?

The house can be rebuild and the artifacts are not 'cemented' deep inside the ground.

Those are personal challenges for uhuru
#3 Posted : Friday, July 11, 2014 7:39:26 PM

Coolbull wrote:

Thot the hse is in the N. Park. Will those who stole the road reserve compensate the govt?
#4 Posted : Friday, July 11, 2014 8:24:23 PM

Coolbull wrote:

Thot the hse is in the N. Park. Will those who stole the road reserve compensate the govt?

If it was grabbed, the house should be demolished, the owner sodomised then thrown in prison
#5 Posted : Friday, July 11, 2014 8:37:44 PM

Now that its "the most photographed in Africa" there are already enough recorded memories for those who haven't seen it before. Anyway, justice should prevail.
#6 Posted : Friday, July 11, 2014 9:41:53 PM

I have read most of the input by readers here and can now say that there is something very wrong with us, we can not protect even that which important for the present and future. It does not matter if we demolish the building since most Kenyan do not know it,,,, lol, we can relocate the artefacts... lol and so much more. If you ask the developed world such issues will not even have a place for discussion, if the building is a national heritage then that is it, why demolish it. Would you demolish the national museum to make way for the railway or a road? We have to change our mindset right from the bottom up.

One of the comments from that piece...
#7 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 11:23:31 AM

I have read most of the input by readers here and can now say that there is something very wrong with us, we can not protect even that which important for the present and future. It does not matter if we demolish the building since most Kenyan do not know it,,,, lol, we can relocate the artefacts... lol and so much more. If you ask the developed world such issues will not even have a place for discussion, if the building is a national heritage then that is it, why demolish it. Would you demolish the national museum to make way for the railway or a road? We have to change our mindset right from the bottom up.

One of the comments from that piece...

@Maka, The so called developed world should not be a reference point on such matters. They did worse things- Slavery, forceful displacements of populations ( read red Indians), racial discrimination among many other inhuman treatments early in their development stage.

When we have all the roads, railways, bridges etc that we need, then for new ones we can then debate where it will pass. For now, wacha hiyo nyumba ienda. It has already been photographed enough for reference.
wanyee
#8 Posted : Saturday, July 12, 2014 3:02:13 PM

Neo-evil society miscreants craving for relevance in a dynamic society..kweli midro class is their antidote..
#9 Posted : Monday, January 26, 2015 8:37:31 PM

C&P:

The government has elevated 21 historical sites to national monuments in a bid to guard their importance and raise their profiles among the country’s endeared places.

The sites are found in Nairobi, Machakos and the coastal region and include some of the most well-known historical places in the country.

The Cabinet Secretary for Arts and Culture, Hassa Wario, gazetted the 21 sites through a notice published Friday.

The sites are African Heritage House (Machakos); Kaloleni Social Hall (Nairobi); First Old District Commissioner House Taveta; Methodist Church Hola Mission (Tana River); Taveta ACK Holy Trinity Church, Mahoo; the German Fortress; Voi Commonwealth War Graves; Maktau Indian Commonwealth War Graves; Taveta Indian Commonwealth WaRINK