wazua Fri, Jun 26, 2026

Jubilee: Now this real tenderpreneurship!!!
#11 Posted : Wednesday, July 09, 2014 1:48:47 PM

Has happened before. Especially with water. You cant just ng'ethia as your bread earner dies of thirst and drought

What bread earner, there are no tourists. Animals dying is the natural order. It must happen for future animals to survive.

Just because another tenderprenuer did it before doesn't mean that its ok.

God will take care of the Zebra with heavy rainfall after the drought and nature will blossom again.

By the way, i'm in day 3 in Nakuru and still don't have water in my taps, can we start there please.

una bahati you had water three days ago - smile
#12 Posted : Wednesday, July 09, 2014 2:23:35 PM

Has happened before. Especially with water. You cant just ng'ethia as your bread earner dies of thirst and drought

What bread earner, there are no tourists. Animals dying is the natural order. It must happen for future animals to survive.

God will take care of the Zebra with heavy rainfall after the drought and nature will blossom again.

By the way, i'm in day 3 in Nakuru and still don't have water in my taps, can we start there please.

LOL! Hii Jubilee imekuonea kweli doh!

wewe siko na options - Sebra hauna!

smile ....it's our turn!!!
#13 Posted : Wednesday, July 09, 2014 2:28:12 PM

And some Kenyans were dying in Baringo county last a few weeks ago.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, July 09, 2014 3:11:45 PM

LOL! Hii Jubilee imekuonea kweli doh!

wewe siko na options - Sebra hauna!

smile ....it's our turn!!!

This will fatten them for Kamaus to poach and sell zebra beef to Nairobians.Talk of rewarding these people!!!
Nandwa
#15 Posted : Wednesday, July 09, 2014 3:53:12 PM

These are not "one community".

Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
#16 Posted : Wednesday, July 09, 2014 4:07:28 PM

Nandwa wrote:

Nobody cares about them...
#17 Posted : Wednesday, July 09, 2014 4:11:59 PM

Nandwa wrote:

Nobody cares about them...

You so right, whether hunger, clashes, killings, it's never a national agenda!!!
Theu
#18 Posted : Wednesday, July 09, 2014 4:19:16 PM

http://www.africanconser...ldlife-during-drought-2

HOME
NEWS
EXPLORERJOBSCOMMUNITY
JOIN US
VOLUNTEER
TAKE ACTION
TRAVEL
NEW!
DONATE Linking People & Conservation
African Conservation Foundation logo
REGISTER LOGIN
JAN
KENYA: KWS EFFORTS TO SAVE WILDLIFE DURING DROUGHT
MONDAY, 04 JANUARY 2010
HITS 710
CATEGORIES Wildlife News

inShare
Pinterest
Nairobi — Wildlife of high tourism value were rescued and fed when the country was experiencing extreme drought last year.

According to Kenya Wildlife Services managing director, Mr Julius Kipng'etich, this was done to protect the animals.

"The famine we experienced was historical and we had to rescue some of the animals from this calamity. However, we only rescued and fed those with high tourism value," he said.

Kenya experienced a record drought and famine that affected both human and wildlife across the country. The situation led to at least 10 million Kenyans falling into dire need of food supply and death of thousands of animals.

The animal situation posed a risk to the country's tourism industry that is famed for its wildlife.

The most affected parks and reserves were the Amboseli National Park and Tsavo National Park that recorded the highest number of collected animal carcasses. It is estimated that the parks lost 40 per cent of animals

"For almost three months we bought hey and fed the animals," explained the managing director. This cost the service about Sh5 million.

According to some industry players, hoteliers within and along the national parks too resorted to the feeding programme. This was to keep the animals alive and maintain the tourist attractions for business sake. Others dug boreholes to provide watering holes for the animals.

However, with the onset of the rains, it is projected the animals will have plenty to feed on and avert further crisis.

Mr Kipng'etich was speaking to journalists in Nairobi on Monday, while announcing the results of an anti-poaching operation held last week.

http://www.nation.co.ke
LEAVE A COMMENT

You are commenting as guest. Optional login below.
Facebook Twitter

reCAPTCHA challenge image
Get a new challenge Get an audio challenge Help

Privacy & Terms

NEWS CATEGORIES
ALL NEWS
WILDLIFE NEWS
HABITAT NEWS
IN FOCUS: CURRENT THREATS
SUBMIT NEWS
TOP STORIES

Kenya: Will showcasing captive whale sharks advance or hinder marine conservation efforts?
19 March 2013, In: Wildlife News | Marine & Coastal | Habitat News, Views: 26911
Tracker dog unit for anti-poaching patrol in Masai Mara
15 May 2010, Views: 26335
Critically Endangered Cross River Gorilla Silverback Killed in Cameroon
23 March 2013, In: Wildlife News | Great Apes, Views: 23559
Senegal: Surveys reveal raptor ‘super-roost'
07 May 2007, In: Wildlife News, Views: 19759

African Conservation Foundation logo
ABOUT ACF:

The African Conservation Foundation works to preserve Africa's wildlife by conducting, supporting and linking conservation projects throughout the continent.
Learn more
CONTACT US

info@africanconservation.org
GET INVOLVED

Join Our Community
Donate
Volunteer in Africa
Take Action Now
STAY UPDATED:

HOME
ABOUT US
FAQ
PUBLICATIONS
SITE TERMS
CONTACT US
Copyright © 2014. African Conservation Foundation. Developed by theAfrican Conservation Foundation
Boris Boyka
#19 Posted : Wednesday, July 09, 2014 4:53:10 PM

@alma am meant to understand the water problem in nakuru is from wrangles within management in fact it has been there for long but since Jan it has worsened but if you "screw" the officials you get. Another problem is BILLS. KAMAUS have large water tanks supplied but OFF METER (hawalipi) leaving bills for watoto wa baba n mitimoni. NAWASCO employees sell the water also (kutoa meter ). The county has enough water resources but mangmnt and infrastructures dvplmt ni kizungu mkuti
Everybody STEALS, a THIEF is one who's CAUGHT stealing something of LITTLE VALUE. !!!
#20 Posted : Wednesday, July 09, 2014 5:22:17 PM

So we should also let people die since its also natures order? Those animals are residents just like the people who call themselves Kenyans, they have brought in more revenue to Kenya than the people in your arguments