target1360 wrote:
guru267 wrote:
target1360 wrote:
jerry wrote:
target1360 wrote:
jerry wrote:
target1360 wrote:
I have bought some to atleast book myself a seat before the doors are closed! ladies and gentlemen enjoy the ride!

It (UNAITAS) must be a great business! When are they likely to close doors?

i think anytime from now! currently they are at around 700m,their target is a billion to convert to a bank as they say..
The 8-9%dividend is almost equivalent to a money market account in kenya but again dividends (owner)are sweeter than interest((customer)

They reached 1.3Bn last month i and are targeting 1.8Bn. See post #241.

@jerry thank you for the info.
I hope they list soon

Listing on NSE is for 2018 earliest... Hope you weren't planning to exit this year!

@guru i see this wasnt the smartest decision i have made consindering my poor research on it.but i l try not to ever exit this one so long as it consistently paying some dividend.

buying a few pieces of unaitas wasnt a bad decision after all.will keep buying

When you say a few pieces....................
Money comes and goes. When you have it enjoy it.
target1360
#262 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 8:09:12 PM

wannaberich wrote:
target1360 wrote:
guru267 wrote:
target1360 wrote:
jerry wrote:
target1360 wrote:
jerry wrote:
target1360 wrote:
I have bought some to atleast book myself a seat before the doors are closed! ladies and gentlemen enjoy the ride!

i think anytime from now! currently they are at around 700m,their target is a billion to convert to a bank as they say..
The 8-9%dividend is almost equivalent to a money market account in kenya but again dividends (owner)are sweeter than interest((customer)

I hope they list soon

Listing on NSE is for 2018 earliest... Hope you weren't planning to exit this year!

@guru i see this wasnt the smartest decision i have made consindering my poor research on it.but i l try not to ever exit this one so long as it consistently paying some dividend.

Okay a few tiny pieces of the big cake
I find satisfaction in owning great business,not trading them
wannaberich
#263 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 9:21:14 AM

target1360 wrote:
wannaberich wrote:
target1360 wrote:
guru267 wrote:
target1360 wrote:
jerry wrote:
target1360 wrote:
jerry wrote:
target1360 wrote:

I hope they list soon

Haahaaaa 100,1000,10000,100000 what if any is the preferable amount to invest in.
xtina
#264 Posted : Monday, July 07, 2014 12:29:09 PM

What a good investment choice.
target1360
#265 Posted : Tuesday, July 08, 2014 7:13:30 AM

wannaberich wrote:
target1360 wrote:
wannaberich wrote:
target1360 wrote:
guru267 wrote:
target1360 wrote:
jerry wrote:
target1360 wrote:
jerry wrote:
target1360 wrote:

I hope they list soon

Haahaaaa 100,1000,10000,100000 what if any is the preferable amount to invest in.

@wannaberich as much as as you are able to. But hear theres a 5m limit
I find satisfaction in owning great business,not trading them
wannaberich
#266 Posted : Monday, July 14, 2014 9:21:29 AM

target1360 wrote:
wannaberich wrote:
target1360 wrote:
wannaberich wrote:
target1360 wrote:
guru267 wrote:
target1360 wrote:
jerry wrote:
target1360 wrote:
jerry wrote:
target1360 wrote:

I hope they list soon

@wannaberich as much as as you are able to. But hear theres a 5m limit

Applause Applause Applause Applause
Speculz
#267 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 10:37:33 AM

Does someone have to visit them or do they have agents? E.g in CBD anywhere else apart from Cardina Otunga hse?
"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
Kastone
#268 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 1:06:35 PM

Speculz wrote:
Does someone have to visit them or do they have agents? E.g in CBD anywhere else apart from Cardina Otunga hse?

Here's a list of their branch network link
What's your email I give you a contact?
“The beauty of success is that it doesn’t matter how many times you have failed, you only have to be right once and then everyone can tell you how lucky you are.” - Mark Cuban
Speculz
#269 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 1:13:23 PM

Kastone wrote:
Speculz wrote:

Here's a list of their branch network link
What's your email I give you a contact?

Thanks Kastone, please send on ezzyckatgmaildotcom
"You can't have everything. Where would you put it?" - Stephen Wright
patrazi
#270 Posted : Tuesday, July 15, 2014 10:44:08 PM

Stract_Consulting
#271 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 6:59:25 AM

@FaidaInvestments and @RSMAshvir win @Unaitas restructuring deal as it plans to list at the NSE as well as become a fully fledged bank http://disq.us/8j9xca via Business Daily
Be ignorant and ask a few questions - Peter Drucker
littledove
#272 Posted : Wednesday, July 16, 2014 8:42:52 AM

Stract_Consulting wrote:
@FaidaInvestments and @RSMAshvir win @Unaitas restructuring deal as it plans to list at the NSE as well as become a fully fledged bank http://disq.us/8j9xca via Business Daily

''Unaitas invited bids from transaction advisors in April to help it restructure its capital base and list at the NSE. Both events are expected to take place within the next four years and are part of the Sacco’s 2014-2018 strategic plan which was launched in May''
this means listing at nse will not take place ealier than 2019, that atleast five years
There are only two emotions in the stock market, fear and hope. The problem is, you hope when you should fear and fear when you should hope
#273 Posted : Thursday, July 17, 2014 5:37:34 PM

littledove wrote:
Stract_Consulting wrote:

''Unaitas invited bids from transaction advisors in April to help it restructure its capital base and list at the NSE. Both events are expected to take place within the next four years and are part of the Sacco’s 2014-2018 strategic plan which was launched in May''
this means listing at nse will not take place ealier than 2019, that atleast five years

Pray Pray

Are they still selling?
littledove
#274 Posted : Friday, July 18, 2014 8:44:00 AM

littledove wrote:
Stract_Consulting wrote:

Pray Pray

Are they still selling?

yah, they are still selling, and i believe they will continue even the whole of 2015.
There are only two emotions in the stock market, fear and hope. The problem is, you hope when you should fear and fear when you should hope
KenyanEconomist
#275 Posted : Thursday, July 24, 2014 1:44:24 PM

Does anyone have a link to the full Unaitas Annual Report, with the notes? All I see in their website is the financial statements without the notes. Also, anyone know what Net Asset Value per share(NAV) is? the comments above say NAV is 21 but that does not sound realistic. Why would they sell a share at 10 bob, below NAV? That would be dilutive to existing shareholders...
Stract_Consulting
#276 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 2:31:11 PM

KenyanEconomist wrote:
Does anyone have a link to the full Unaitas Annual Report, with the notes? All I see in their website is the financial statements without the notes. Also, anyone know what Net Asset Value per share(NAV) is? the comments above say NAV is 21 but that does not sound realistic. Why would they sell a share at 10 bob, below NAV? That would be dilutive to existing shareholders...

I have a copy of the full report.

Give me your email address.

KenyanEconomist
#277 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 3:28:56 PM

Stract_Consulting wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:

Thanks, it's mumo.muthengi@gmail.com
Stract_Consulting
#278 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 7:45:00 PM

KenyanEconomist wrote:
Stract_Consulting wrote:
KenyanEconomist wrote:

Thanks, it's mumo.muthengi@gmail.com

Nishatuma
DBLyon
#279 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 8:56:07 AM

Did anyone here attend the dinner they held at Cardinal Otunga sometime last month? If yes, kindly share what it was like and what they had to say.
When you live for others' opinions, you are dead.

- Carlos Slim Helu
Kastone
#280 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 2:37:29 PM

DBLyon wrote:
Did anyone here attend the dinner they held at Cardinal Otunga sometime last month? If yes, kindly share what it was like and what they had to say.

It's currently ongoing every Thursday/Friday of the week. If you can, make some time to attend. Really informative session. Some of the things that were talked about were;

Opportunities as a bank/sacco
Loans - Asset/property financing - They are still giving loans to members. Most recently the Thika buses, they were the financiers.

Agriculture
Dairy farming - Proposal by Jubilee govt. for maziwa ya 'Nyayo" to come back. That means 5 children per litre a day. There are 10 million school going children. That's 2mill. a day. They already have invested in lots of dairy farming and hope to reap from it.

Fixed deposit accounts/cheque books/atm cards - They offer the mentioned and the atm cards even have the new chip and you can use co-op bank for normal withdrawals i.e. 33/= per withdrawal or any other VISA place for transactions A member recently put half a BILLION into it.

Chamas
They give their offices to chama members to hold a meeting - Boardroom like kind of set-up

Opportunities as an insurance

They offer insurance to dairy farming

Opportunities in Power generation - They are already generating some power. Hydro I think in Central Kenya.

Community project - They also have a big heart just that they don't tell the media to cover it - Adopted, thermos bernados in Madaraka amongst others and also do environ conservation

Smart campaign - They're the first in Africa to do it (google it) Commonly used in Europe and dev. countries

They plan to have different arms under one umbrella unaitas holdings i.e. insurance arm, mortgages arm etc

Also, they withdrew M-pesa transactions charges and now its free of charge.

I think they're already a bank with a title of a SACCO, hehe
“The beauty of success is that it doesn’t matter how many times you have failed, you only have to be right once and then everyone can tell you how lucky you are.” - Mark Cuban