Uganda Terror Alert
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 5:09:26 PM

My observation is that Al Shabaab tends to borrow tactics from other more accomplished terror organisations:

1. Mumbai attack - Westgate
2. Boko Haram and village slaughers - Mpeketoni Lamu
3. Pakistan Greenzone attack - Gigiri alerts
4. Karachi International Airport - Entebee attack to be?

Si Raisi alituambia hii haikuwa Al shabaab?d'oh! d'oh!

Al Shaboobs working with locals..wanajijua. BTW, grenade attacks ziliisha tangu..

Yaani this was unbelievable. The lengths people will go to remain relevant!
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 5:13:30 PM

#13 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 5:50:51 PM

Robinhood wrote:
My observation is that Al Shabaab tends to borrow tactics from other more accomplished terror organisations:

Na si tuliona kwamba hii ni kazi ya Merika? d'oh! d'oh!

Ni wewe tu Alp (na pengine Mr Lenku) unaamini hayo

Still believe Mpeketoni was purely a shabaab attack? My take: Politics+Locals(Land)+MRC+Kebabs.......more of a cocktail of deadly poisons that culminated in a tragedy we shall never forget.

@simon I'm with you about the arithmetic formular take. I didn't mean Mpeketoni attack is Shabaab, this is clearly political, otherwise how would you explain a garment that sits back whole night as people as attacked, yet they can afford drones of GSU to escort Maina and now streets of UG!!
I meant the Boko haram is likely a making of Merikani, just like the predecessors Al Qaeda and Taliban.
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 8:13:31 PM

@Alph have you ever heard of the "black flags of Khorasan"?
#15 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 8:20:51 PM

Na wamesahau Burundi!
Outvestor
#16 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 2:20:22 PM

¡ʇɹoɟɟǝ ƃuıɟɟǝ ǝɥʇ ɹoɟ ɥɔnɯ os ؛uıɐʌ uı ɔıqɐɹɐ ƃuıuɹɐǝן pǝıɹʇ ı
kollabo
#17 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 2:29:35 PM

Outvestor wrote:

How klutzish can UG be? That's an army sniper in full combat gear. How do you expose a sniper in the streets?

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Nandwa
#18 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 3:13:06 PM

Al Shaboobs working with locals..wanajijua. BTW, grenade attacks ziliisha tangu..

I quite agree that Mpeketoni was a mix Al shabaab and local issues.

But then why did Uhuru deny the terror group's obvious involvement!
Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic
#19 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 3:17:10 PM

Nandwa wrote:

Because the crux of the whole thing was not kebab. It wasnt a kebab mission. Kebabs offered mission support (rented).
Nandwa
#20 Posted : Friday, July 04, 2014 3:36:29 PM

Nandwa wrote:

Because the crux of the whole thing was not kebab. It wasnt a kebab mission. Kebabs offered mission support (rented).

As long as Alshabaab is the main purveyor and the means of choice is terror, then the logical thing to do is to accept that reality, then one can start looking at the secondary issues of why they did it.

Terror groups choose different targets for different reasons each time!

They almost always collaborate with and use local converts/hirees

For me Alshabaab wanted to send a message to Uhuru that he should pull KDF out of Kismayu combined with some revenge on the alleged KDF atrocities in Somalia.

Just as absolute power corrupts leaders, so does absolute fanaticism blind the people from logic