Cashless matatu fare system.
#81 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 4:11:21 PM

XSK wrote:
REMINDER!!!

Tomorrow we go cashless, who has bought the smart card or who know where I can get one?

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

@Impunity

You don't need the smart card to get into your Mark X!

Of course, its a Mark II.

But occasionally you I need to board those buses when visiting places like Banana in Kiambu, for security reasons!

Bado unacheka?

wewe wacha, Banana hakuna ubaya, very secure place, I usually drive up through karuri, njiku, ndenderu at night na sijaona insecurity akiwa huko - smile

Applause Applause awache kudanganya sisi au atafte mpango ya kando ingine
#82 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 4:37:39 PM

XSK wrote:
REMINDER!!!

Tomorrow we go cashless, who has bought the smart card or who know where I can get one?

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

@Impunity

You don't need the smart card to get into your Mark X!

Of course, its a Mark II.

But occasionally you I need to board those buses when visiting places like Banana in Kiambu, for security reasons!

Bado unacheka?

wewe wacha, Banana hakuna ubaya, very secure place, I usually drive up through karuri, njiku, ndenderu at night na sijaona insecurity akiwa huko - smile

Applause Applause awache kudanganya sisi au atafte mpango ya kando ingine

You are one of them, they cant take one of their own.

Sad Sad Sad Sad

#83 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 9:16:56 AM

#84 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 9:20:32 AM

Kulienda aje?

Ati now it will be done in phases ... This Kenya of ours ... Bure kabisa in implementation of policies and systems! We develop very nice laws/legislation lakini when it comes to action nothing happens.

This thing will die a natural death
#85 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 11:19:34 AM

pipe dreams... ninapanda ma3 kutoka Kinoo nataka kufika Muthiga ama Wida - sina cardi... watakataa pesa? ndoto mchana!
#86 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 11:22:45 AM

pipe dreams... ninapanda ma3 kutoka Kinoo nataka kufika Muthiga ama Wida - sina cardi... watakataa pesa? ndoto mchana!

smile smile smile Applause Applause Applause
#87 Posted : Tuesday, July 01, 2014 1:43:00 PM

Kumbe wewe jirani yangu?
kangi
#88 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 12:27:35 PM

Kumbe wewe jirani yangu?

Hama haraka bro Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Accept no one's definition of your life; define your life.
african coloner
#89 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 12:37:57 PM

hawatakataa but it is a very positive idea that will minimise corruption on our roads
#90 Posted : Thursday, July 03, 2014 12:39:39 PM

It has not worked, period! NEXT!
#91 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 11:10:01 AM

The mayhem continues....

The technology is NFC; the customer?
A business whose case is legislation; the customer?
Is this shaping up to be an Equity vs Safaricom vs KCB battle?

babaroy
#92 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 12:58:24 PM

Tall Order wrote:
I suppose all systems are not ready just yet to implement this plan. We may still have to stick with our cash for a while but going forward a positive plan.

Imagine a regime where a conductor has no cash to bribe the cop, when a matatu gets hijacked no cash will be found except those in our pockets. Overall, a good proposal, I hope it works. It may reduce corruption in the mat industry and crime in the form of hijackings by a huge percentage.

cops already have dedicated mpesa numbers for collecting bribesLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
#93 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 2:34:09 PM

babaroy wrote:
Tall Order wrote:
I suppose all systems are not ready just yet to implement this plan. We may still have to stick with our cash for a while but going forward a positive plan.

Imagine a regime where a conductor has no cash to bribe the cop, when a matatu gets hijacked no cash will be found except those in our pockets. Overall, a good proposal, I hope it works. It may reduce corruption in the mat industry and crime in the form of hijackings by a huge percentage.

cops already have dedicated mpesa numbers for collecting bribesLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Nope,our Kenyan cops are hi tech,they have already bought the vending machines, The conductors will just be swiping the cards to the machine
#94 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 3:57:38 PM

babaroy wrote:
Tall Order wrote:

Nope,our Kenyan cops are hi tech,they have already bought the vending machines, The conductors will just be swiping the cards to the machine

the saccos centralised bribe channels for the big bosses. now the money goes to the big guys and they issue instructions to the juniors on which vehicles not to touch. the junior on the ground are left hustling for the bread crumbs.
#95 Posted : Monday, December 01, 2014 9:36:56 PM

Scom will end up being an uncontrollable behemoth if not cut down to size now. See what's happened with Google. It's large, unwieldy and extremely powerful. They are talking about breaking it to pieces, but that will require great will and patriotism by legislators, much like the Americans did once before, with Bell Telephone company. The sooner scom is cut down to size the better it will be for us. Scom is today able to track any subscriber with an android phone, it can, with mpesa plot with incredible accuracy which chicken you have eaten, and with this cashless thing it will even know where your mpango stays and how frequently you take a matatu to her house. Once the command and control system is up, they will be the police force. Forget the Orwellian 1984, this is worse.
bird_man
#96 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 7:33:19 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
Scom will end up being an uncontrollable behemoth if not cut down to size now. See what's happened with Google. It's large, unwieldy and extremely powerful. They are talking about breaking it to pieces, but that will require great will and patriotism by legislators, much like the Americans did once before, with Bell Telephone company. The sooner scom is cut down to size the better it will be for us. Scom is today able to track any subscriber with an android phone, it can, with mpesa plot with incredible accuracy which chicken you have eaten, and with this cashless thing it will even know where your mpango stays and how frequently you take a matatu to her house. Once the command and control system is up, they will be the police force. Forget the Orwellian 1984, this is worse.

Boss,you are worried about what you cannot stop.Mobile providors out there are doing crazy marketing on behalf of other clients using geospatial mapping & your SIM card.e.g....when you enter the supermarket, Safcom can send you an sms reminding you of what to buy since Tuskys/Uchumi/Nakumatt already have your spending patterns.

Also in terms of policing....such location services are already in use by London Metro police.

Unless you have something to hide, there is no need to worry about such.Only frauds,crooks & terrorists should worry.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
mozenrat
#97 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 9:06:22 AM

GG, All Telcos can tell where each of their subscribers is located...not just Safcom.. and your phone doesn't even have to be on Android.. Your phone broadcasts your location to the nearest telco towers every few minutes. That's how calls to you reach you.

Gordon Gekko wrote:

#98 Posted : Tuesday, December 02, 2014 9:15:38 PM

mozenrat wrote:
GG, All Telcos can tell where each of their subscribers is located...not just Safcom.. and your phone doesn't even have to be on Android.. Your phone broadcasts your location to the nearest telco towers every few minutes. That's how calls to you reach you.

Gordon Gekko wrote:

Thanks for the lesson on mobile telephony. Any mobile company can give your vague location based on the strongest BTS. Google can give what a precision bomber can use. Please answer these questions for me:
1. Why is the European Parliament currently debating breaking up Google?
2. Why have we created a Competition Authority in Kenya?
3. What does our constitution "the best in Africa" say about the right to privacy?
bird_man
#99 Posted : Wednesday, December 03, 2014 9:07:25 AM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
mozenrat wrote:

Gordon Gekko wrote:

Thanks for the lesson on mobile telephony. Any mobile company can give your vague location based on the strongest BTS. Google can give what a precision bomber can use. Please answer these questions for me:
1. Why is the European Parliament currently debating breaking up Google?
2. Why have we created a Competition Authority in Kenya?
3. What does our constitution "the best in Africa" say about the right to privacy?

Privacy?That is a concept that doesn't exist..even in the first world.What is needed is stronger regulation especially on Telcos. Not punishing some of them for being the most innovative companies in EA.
Otherwise just know that your phone will be tapped if need be,your emails will be read & your bank details will be given out if need be.Personally I'd not be worried, unless I was a criminal.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
GGK
#100 Posted : Thursday, December 04, 2014 5:15:48 PM

Am almost sure this thing will not work.
There doesn't seem to be a market leader in matatu commuter transport sector and one ready to try it full throttle for fear of losing revenue.

And why should it be in regulation anyway?
I simply do not get the logic?
If I run out of fuel in my jalopy on Waiyaki way I wouldn't get a mat to take me to the nearest gas station coz I don't have a card?
Nope... not in our lifetime!
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,