Market
Review
Cashless matatu fare system.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
murchr wrote:alma wrote:murchr wrote:@alma Kelele miiiiingi ya nini? Watu kama wewe are expected, people who are always resistant to change, dont worry you'll get used to it better still dont use them matatus. Wenye gari ndio wataamua who told you that you are in control? aii my friend. I can assure you, I am more digital than you will ever be. And mine is not an empty laptop campaign promise. I was digital before you knew the meaning of the word. Hata ukiskia sina simu, nilipitia hiyo stage a long long time ago. Ati resistant to change. Ha! I'm resistant to gov't control of things that are none of their business. Wenye magari have every right to change how they do business. The gov't on the other hand has things like finding out who is sending leaflets in Tinderet it should be doing, or just finding terrorists. If they wish to, they can search for dinded fiekos. Not making laws on how or what mode of payment a human being should be using. I do hope in your search for the digital life you never forgot English comprehension and understand what I'm saying. The govts biggest interest is revenue collection, lazima ushuru ilipwe thats why cash elimination is key. Another thing its becoming very expensive to print and kuthondeka those coins you call money thats why almost all govts are looking at minimizing the use of cash/coins. So start looking at it from that angle, owners want to get the maximum returns from their investments, and the GOK wants to collect as much revenue as they can. Wewe kama abiria hauna say, you get that gadget or you walk/drive yourself to wherever. And I think this initiative will help the owners, because I think the crew steal a lot. I support this thing. By the way, how will fare be determined and regulated? Centrally in the system or it is left to the crew to set the fare.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/27/2012 Posts: 851 Location: Nairobi
Muriel wrote:mkeiy wrote:Muriel wrote:
Too much regulation and consolidation of this line of business into the hands of a few.
How would you expect it to run with everyone? having a matatu on the road. Systems are there for a reason. Those who use brains embrace them, those who use hearts reject them. All the same, unyeuthi! Give nyeuthis some credit if they use their brains to think, unless you believe nyeuthis cannot and should not think, theirs is to accept and adopt. Only. That is the point, it is not expected to run with everyone having a matatu on the road and that would mean either: (a) 'retrenchment' of the 'small holder' matatus or (b) conglomeration / cartels / monopolies Point (b) will be the most viable option and that will leave the individual commuter at a most disadvantaged position in so far as his bargaining power goes. By the way, what is the primary problem is this that this new system is expected to solve? It is not a rhetorical question. Is it too much liquidity on the roads? Is there anything fundamentally wrong with cash on the roads? Bribery is a second tier problem tertiary to this point. What will be the solution to bribery? Dude, you see absolutely no primary problem being solved, yet you are demanding credit? Here are some; 1. Tax evasion. 2. Adherance to preset fares,protecting the commuter even when it rains. 3. Better returns for investors in the sector. 4. Security. No more thugs hanging around in a mat/bus. With automated doors and cctv. 5. Safety. Bigger companies mean bigger pockets meaning higher standards of building buses/mats. 6. Bigger commuter bus companies inconjunction with local authorities,they would have gps installed in buses and display panels at major stages/terminals, to keep commuters posted on arrival time of the closest buses. Si kukaa kwa stage without knowing when the next bus will be arriving. 7. To enable commuters using connecting buses/routes, to pay less than they do now when they pay for each bus/route separately/independently. More so when the commuter train shall get integrated into the commuter buses system. Etc , etc. Lastly what bargaining power do the commuters have currently? When it rains, what happens?
This is a welcome move and will go along way to help matatu owners impove their collections. Let us go for it! Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
mkeiy wrote:
Dude, you see absolutely no primary problem being solved, yet you are demanding credit?
Here are some; 1. Tax evasion.
2. Adherance to preset fares,protecting the commuter even when it rains.
3. Better returns for investors in the sector.
4. Security. No more thugs hanging around in a mat/bus. With automated doors and cctv.
5. Safety. Bigger companies mean bigger pockets meaning higher standards of building buses/mats.
6. Bigger commuter bus companies inconjunction with local authorities,they would have gps installed in buses and display panels at major stages/terminals, to keep commuters posted on arrival time of the closest buses. Si kukaa kwa stage without knowing when the next bus will be arriving.
7. To enable commuters using connecting buses/routes, to pay less than they do now when they pay for each bus/route separately/independently. More so when the commuter train shall get integrated into the commuter buses system.
Etc , etc.
Lastly what bargaining power do the commuters have currently? When it rains, what happens?
Yes, credit. Yet I do not think you have addressed me though I see you have responded to my post. I'm sorry if I came across as asking for a comparative analysis - I wasn't. I asked about the primary problem and wondered and hinted if it was having cash on the roads. If it wasn't you just had to say so and told me it was tax issues, seeing it being the top of your list. Then we would continue from there. See? Dance moves. The commuter bargaining power I was referring to is like this. I observed a peculiar habit in one of my unusual commutes. People were standing, braving the elements and the dimming sunlight waiting for the matatu. Several matatu came and passed, flashy, musical, new, boisterous but only a few people hopped on but others kaushad. Being not particulary committed, I resolved to observe longer. 2 or so hours later an old ramshackle rumbled by to a stop and the now noticeably thinner crowd scrambled to get on board. I also did. It was not very pleasant inside stuffy, dingy, squeezy, stinky and damp but I noted the fare was considerably reduced. I reasoned that some straits informed the decision and choice of these plebs to wait that long and that hard for that vehicle. I sympathised. They were the ones I had in mind when I spoke with you. Will there be arrangements for such people in the new dispensation?
Quote:Another thing its becoming very expensive to print and kuthondeka those coins you call money thats why almost all govts are looking at minimizing the use of cash/coins.
So start looking at it from that angle, owners want to get the maximum returns from their investments, and the GOK wants to collect as much revenue as they can. I agree with these sentiments from @murchr
Truebeauty wrote:Quote:Another thing its becoming very expensive to print and kuthondeka those coins you call money thats why almost all govts are looking at minimizing the use of cash/coins.
So start looking at it from that angle, owners want to get the maximum returns from their investments, and the GOK wants to collect as much revenue as they can. I agree with these sentiments from @murchr Aaahhhhhh. Mkeiy, I think Murchr and Truebeauty have answered my question about cash on the roads and I think I am satisfied with it and even the reason behind it. I may not agree with it but it sufficiently answers my question. Thank you, Truebeauty for bringing it to my attention.
Muriel wrote:Yes, credit. Yet I do not think you have addressed me though I see you have responded to my post. I'm sorry if I came across as asking for a comparative analysis - I wasn't. I asked about the primary problem and wondered and hinted if it was having cash on the roads. If it wasn't you just had to say so and told me it was tax issues, seeing it being the top of your list. Then we would continue from there. See? Dance moves. The commuter bargaining power I was referring to is like this. I observed a peculiar habit in one of my unusual commutes. People were standing, braving the elements and the dimming sunlight waiting for the matatu. Several matatu came and passed, flashy, musical, new, boisterous but only a few people hopped on but others kaushad. Being not particulary committed, I resolved to observe longer. 2 or so hours later an old ramshackle rumbled by to a stop and the now noticeably thinner crowd scrambled to get on board. I also did. It was not very pleasant inside stuffy, dingy, squeezy, stinky and damp but I noted the fare was considerably reduced. I reasoned that some straits informed the decision and choice of these plebs to wait that long and that hard for that vehicle. I sympathised. They were the ones I had in mind when I spoke with you. Will there be arrangements for such people in the new dispensation? what's so hard in admitting the truth? that you were waiting for a cheaper ride all along? or it is the wazua 'middle-class' problem.
mkenyan wrote:Muriel wrote:Yes, credit. Yet I do not think you have addressed me though I see you have responded to my post. I'm sorry if I came across as asking for a comparative analysis - I wasn't. I asked about the primary problem and wondered and hinted if it was having cash on the roads. If it wasn't you just had to say so and told me it was tax issues, seeing it being the top of your list. Then we would continue from there. See? Dance moves. The commuter bargaining power I was referring to is like this. I observed a peculiar habit in one of my unusual commutes. People were standing, braving the elements and the dimming sunlight waiting for the matatu. Several matatu came and passed, flashy, musical, new, boisterous but only a few people hopped on but others kaushad. Being not particulary committed, I resolved to observe longer. 2 or so hours later an old ramshackle rumbled by to a stop and the now noticeably thinner crowd scrambled to get on board. I also did. It was not very pleasant inside stuffy, dingy, squeezy, stinky and damp but I noted the fare was considerably reduced. I reasoned that some straits informed the decision and choice of these plebs to wait that long and that hard for that vehicle. I sympathised. They were the ones I had in mind when I spoke with you. Will there be arrangements for such people in the new dispensation? what's so hard in admitting the truth? that you were waiting for a cheaper ride all along? or it is the wazua 'middle-class' problem. Lol.
Muriel wrote:mkeiy wrote:
Dude, you see absolutely no primary problem being solved, yet you are demanding credit?
4. Security. No more thugs hanging around in a mat/bus. With automated doors and cctv.
5. Safety. Bigger companies mean bigger pockets meaning higher standards of building buses/mats.
6. Bigger commuter bus companies inconjunction with local authorities,they would have gps installed in buses and display panels at major stages/terminals, to keep commuters posted on arrival time of the closest buses. Si kukaa kwa stage without knowing when the next bus will be arriving.
7. To enable commuters using connecting buses/routes, to pay less than they do now when they pay for each bus/route separately/independently. More so when the commuter train shall get integrated into the commuter buses system.
Etc , etc.
Lastly what bargaining power do the commuters have currently? When it rains, what happens?
Yes, credit. Yet I do not think you have addressed me though I see you have responded to my post. I'm sorry if I came across as asking for a comparative analysis - I wasn't. I asked about the primary problem and wondered and hinted if it was having cash on the roads. If it wasn't you just had to say so and told me it was tax issues, seeing it being the top of your list. Then we would continue from there. See? Dance moves. The commuter bargaining power I was referring to is like this. I observed a peculiar habit in one of my unusual commutes. People were standing, braving the elements and the dimming sunlight waiting for the matatu. Several matatu came and passed, flashy, musical, new, boisterous but only a few people hopped on but others kaushad. Being not particulary committed, I resolved to observe longer. 2 or so hours later an old ramshackle rumbled by to a stop and the now noticeably thinner crowd scrambled to get on board. I also did. It was not very pleasant inside stuffy, dingy, squeezy, stinky and damp but I noted the fare was considerably reduced. I reasoned that some straits informed the decision and choice of these plebs to wait that long and that hard for that vehicle. I sympathised. They were the ones I had in mind when I spoke with you. Will there be arrangements for such people in the new dispensation? I don't think you can call using a stuffy uncomfortable mat bargaining. Its akin to drinking countryman and arguing you got a bargain. Standards is what i mentioned on the fifth point. High standards. The new system integrated with others in the future will solve a myriad of problems and that,will be a good thing.
mkeiy wrote:Muriel wrote:mkeiy wrote:
Etc , etc.
Yes, credit. Yet I do not think you have addressed me though I see you have responded to my post. I'm sorry if I came across as asking for a comparative analysis - I wasn't. I asked about the primary problem and wondered and hinted if it was having cash on the roads. If it wasn't you just had to say so and told me it was tax issues, seeing it being the top of your list. Then we would continue from there. See? Dance moves. The commuter bargaining power I was referring to is like this. I observed a peculiar habit in one of my unusual commutes. People were standing, braving the elements and the dimming sunlight waiting for the matatu. Several matatu came and passed, flashy, musical, new, boisterous but only a few people hopped on but others kaushad. Being not particulary committed, I resolved to observe longer. 2 or so hours later an old ramshackle rumbled by to a stop and the now noticeably thinner crowd scrambled to get on board. I also did. It was not very pleasant inside stuffy, dingy, squeezy, stinky and damp but I noted the fare was considerably reduced. I reasoned that some straits informed the decision and choice of these plebs to wait that long and that hard for that vehicle. I sympathised. They were the ones I had in mind when I spoke with you. Will there be arrangements for such people in the new dispensation? I don't think you can call using a stuffy uncomfortable mat bargaining. Its akin to drinking countryman and arguing you got a bargain. Standards is what i mentioned on the fifth point. High standards. The new system integrated with others in the future will solve a myriad of problems and that,will be a good thing. It might not be what you think but that is what is, for a truth. Does it mean the users of low standard matatus will have to use their legs altogether? I am aware 'high' standards unfailingly come with commensurate costs.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
@Impunity You don't need the smart card to get into your Mark X! You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
XSK wrote:@Impunity You don't need the smart card to get into your Mark X! Of course, its a Mark II. But occasionally you I need to board those buses when visiting places like Banana in Kiambu, for security reasons! Bado unacheka? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Member Joined: 5/9/2014 Posts: 130 Location: Nairobi
I suppose all systems are not ready just yet to implement this plan. We may still have to stick with our cash for a while but going forward a positive plan.
Imagine a regime where a conductor has no cash to bribe the cop, when a matatu gets hijacked no cash will be found except those in our pockets. Overall, a good proposal, I hope it works. It may reduce corruption in the mat industry and crime in the form of hijackings by a huge percentage.
Tuko tayari ... tomorrow is cashless. In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:Tuko tayari ... tomorrow is cashless. Sisi kama Jubilee tuko tiyari. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Impunity wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Tuko tayari ... tomorrow is cashless. Sisi kama Jubilee tuko tiyari. Poeple MUST learn to embrace change! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
Angelica _ann wrote:Impunity wrote:Angelica _ann wrote:Tuko tayari ... tomorrow is cashless. Sisi kama Jubilee tuko tiyari. Poeple MUST learn to embrace change! I saw a grown up Kenyan man of kamba origin (in his earlt 30s) standing infront of natinal tv camera ans saying "...sisi kama watu ambayo hawajasoma hatutaki hiyi kitu bla bla bla alot of sh*et..." I shook my t'ing and changed the channels! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Impunity wrote:XSK wrote:@Impunity You don't need the smart card to get into your Mark X! Of course, its a Mark II. But occasionally you I need to board those buses when visiting places like Banana in Kiambu, for security reasons! Bado unacheka? wewe wacha, Banana hakuna ubaya, very secure place, I usually drive up through karuri, njiku, ndenderu at night na sijaona insecurity akiwa huko -
Market
Review
Cashless matatu fare system.