Rotten eggs at Mayakos county.
I wish my governor could do even half of what has been done.... hata ya murram kwenye nimetoka, hatujakataa.... lakini tatupati, bado twangoja illusion 2050.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,335 Location: Masada
holycow wrote:I agree with @Impunity.
Who was the Resident Engineer? How many Inspectors did he have on the ground to supervise the 10 contractors? Well contractors are business persons so when there's no supervision, they cut shortcuts. Some sources claim (no link) material samples were collected,taken to the lab and nobody followed up the results. From that, some sections will probably be made of "heaped soil". Anyway, time will tell, I hope there was a contract for the road and it had a defects liability clause in it.
Artisans think making a tarmac road is like weeding a flower bed! There is a reason why the construction work has to take a "little" longer...there is something with cement called "curing time"...if you you overlook this in order to meet fictitious deadlines then utkiona very soon! A tarmac road built where non existed before involves removing quite a chunk of "topsoil" then setting the foundation with hard rocks, compacting the same with that tinga tinga called Roller (the one with front wheel made of mammoth steel drum). "I just heard eti the contractors did a splendid job with what they were given" Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,824 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
holycow wrote:I agree with @Impunity.
Who was the Resident Engineer? How many Inspectors did he have on the ground to supervise the 10 contractors? Well contractors are business persons so when there's no supervision, they cut shortcuts. Some sources claim (no link) material samples were collected,taken to the lab and nobody followed up the results. From that, some sections will probably be made of "heaped soil". Anyway, time will tell, I hope there was a contract for the road and it had a defects liability clause in it.
As long as those are rumours, Mutua bado ako juu. And in 2014, can there be a contract without a defects liability period (minimum 12 months)? Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
I wish ile ya pale kwetu shags inaweza mwagwa hata mawe tu, wacha tarmac, mawe tu pekee...Tunaweza toa viatu tukiipitia coz we would be so happy and careful not to make it dirty. Sasa hii ya Mutua ikaletwa huko hata ugali imwagike kwa barabara tunaokota tu tukule kwa venye inakaa smart. Do people really understand what is the effect of a road in those rural areas especially where farming is done? Hujawahi panda mboga 2 acres and just when they are about to be harvested mvua inamwagika and from there nobody can come for them coz the road is impassable. Unabaki na mboga zako, unapea ng'ombe zinashiba mpaka ukizipea mboga tena unaskia zikiimba wimbo "Tiga wana mani...Si hizi mboga umwagilie Aromata angalau" then zinazikunia na kuzikojolea ukiona. Watu hapa kusema ukweli hawajui shida.
washiku wrote:I wish ile ya pale kwetu shags inaweza mwagwa hata mawe tu, wacha tarmac, mawe tu pekee...Tunaweza toa viatu tukiipitia coz we would be so happy and careful not to make it dirty. Sasa hii ya Mutua ikaletwa huko hata ugali imwagike kwa barabara tunaokota tu tukule kwa venye inakaa smart. Do people really understand what is the effect of a road in those rural areas especially where farming is done? Hujawahi panda mboga 2 acres and just when they are about to be harvested mvua inamwagika and from there nobody can come for them coz the road is impassable. Unabaki na mboga zako, unapea ng'ombe zinashiba mpaka ukizipea mboga tena unaskia zikiimba wimbo "Tiga wana mani...Si hizi mboga umwagilie Aromata angalau" then zinazikunia na kuzikojolea ukiona.
Watu hapa kusema ukweli hawajui shida.  ....Pole>seems you are a county buddy  ....I was on this road a few weeks back and stayed in the county for almost a week.Word is,if you said some of those negative things about Mutua in Machakos today,you would likely be slapped by just about everybody.....Do i mind the road in terms of quality? hell NO!....even if it crumbled 10 minutes after he commissioned it! Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
poundfoolish wrote:Robinhood wrote:Impunity wrote:poundfoolish wrote:People are, disappointed by their own governors that they are soo eager for something good such that mediocrity, shortcuts and 'temporary' measures are given an A+
I am ready for the insults and ridicule, but Mutua is doing nothing good.. its a zero sum game. very fake!!
We have 5 years to see the dividends Time will tell Five years is a lot, I will give 1 year maximum for the so called developments...last year senior challenge soccer could not be played on the stadium reason being the stadium became an inland ocean after a downpour! He better use 600 million shillings to irrigate some shambas for the poor kambas shouting their *sses here. @Imp, have you been to the road and checked the quality of work or are you just keen to just criticise? Would you have been any less critical had the road taken four years to build years, or perhaps cost thrice as much? I am seriously planning to go check it out myself.. but those who have used a good road and used that one do give a verdict that the contractors did a decent job with what they were given. a polite phrase for below standard.. @poundsfoolish... so which is better... doing nothing or doing something that is not so perfect!
I thought the thread was all about eggs and not roads. We should be talking of air now... 
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,335 Location: Masada
Magigi wrote:poundfoolish wrote:Robinhood wrote:Impunity wrote:poundfoolish wrote:People are, disappointed by their own governors that they are soo eager for something good such that mediocrity, shortcuts and 'temporary' measures are given an A+
I am ready for the insults and ridicule, but Mutua is doing nothing good.. its a zero sum game. very fake!!
We have 5 years to see the dividends Time will tell Five years is a lot, I will give 1 year maximum for the so called developments...last year senior challenge soccer could not be played on the stadium reason being the stadium became an inland ocean after a downpour! He better use 600 million shillings to irrigate some shambas for the poor kambas shouting their *sses here. @Imp, have you been to the road and checked the quality of work or are you just keen to just criticise? Would you have been any less critical had the road taken four years to build years, or perhaps cost thrice as much? I am seriously planning to go check it out myself.. but those who have used a good road and used that one do give a verdict that the contractors did a decent job with what they were given. a polite phrase for below standard.. @poundsfoolish... so which is better... doing nothing or doing something that is not so perfect! Non of the above; do a good job once and for all. You reason like a woman who feed her children on half cooked beans just to make them happy coz she doesn't have the time to cook them proper meal. Seat down and cook proper "road", you have all the money and time. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Guy had 600m to do what he did, but fellas wanted to see a dual carriageway worth 600m! I give it 10 years! 10 is good enough for me! TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,824 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
segemia wrote: I thought the thread was all about eggs and not roads. We should be talking of air now...  Damn, never knew we had cartoonist here. UKO JUU zaidi ya Mutua Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
Rotten eggs at Mayakos county.