46 Pages«<3132333435>»
Do Wazuans Exercise?
#641 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 11:58:07 AM

winston wrote:
For those brave souls - Sotokoto marathon is two weeks away - 6th July 2014....from Uhuru Gardens (Langata road) then along mombasa road and back.

See you there!

Wololo....registration za hii hufanyiwa wapi? Never done one before.

http://www.sotokotomarat...-information/entry-fees

PAYMENTS

Payments to be made at:

.Sotokoto Safari Marathon Secretariat at Auto Village,1st Floor Opposite Uhuru Gardens Langata Road
.AK office Riadha house
.Selected points Countrywide
.Online on this site using PesaPal
.Standard Chartered - Langata Branch
.Ksh Account Details Acct No 0102001451100
.$ Account Details Acct No 8702001451100
Registration deadline is FIVE DAYS before race day. Kindly adhere to this regulation

Aha...sawa. Thanks.
Wazua Cocoon
#642 Posted : Wednesday, June 25, 2014 3:00:12 PM

These guys are my inspiration.

Sad Sad Sad Sad Sad

#643 Posted : Friday, June 27, 2014 3:22:58 PM

winston wrote:
For those brave souls - Sotokoto marathon is two weeks away - 6th July 2014....from Uhuru Gardens (Langata road) then along mombasa road and back.

See you there!

Wololo....registration za hii hufanyiwa wapi? Never done one before.

http://www.sotokotomarat...-information/entry-fees

PAYMENTS

Payments to be made at:

.Sotokoto Safari Marathon Secretariat at Auto Village,1st Floor Opposite Uhuru Gardens Langata Road
.AK office Riadha house
.Selected points Countrywide
.Online on this site using PesaPal
.Standard Chartered - Langata Branch
.Ksh Account Details Acct No 0102001451100
.$ Account Details Acct No 8702001451100
Registration deadline is FIVE DAYS before race day. Kindly adhere to this regulation

Sotokoto marathon cancelled. BTW it was to have been held on 7th, not 6th. There's a new event planned, Laptrust 10K from Uhuru Park-Koinange-Moi-Haile-Uhuru Highway-Uhuru Park. Will be on 27th July 2014, charges 1,000/-
#644 Posted : Saturday, June 28, 2014 7:27:09 AM

Theu wrote:
Any Wazuan gearing for this year's Lewa marathon? Thinking about doing the 21km....smile

Hey Theu,how is it at Lewa? Baridi?
Julie
#645 Posted : Saturday, June 28, 2014 8:02:59 AM

Doing my sexercises now ....
Theu
#646 Posted : Saturday, June 28, 2014 10:21:04 AM

Theu wrote:
Any Wazuan gearing for this year's Lewa marathon? Thinking about doing the 21km....smile

smile smile Never made it. Enjoying baridi ya Nairobi. Lakini will still do it in future. Backet list.
#647 Posted : Saturday, June 28, 2014 6:26:28 PM

Theu wrote:
Theu wrote:

smile smile Never made it. Enjoying baridi ya Nairobi. Lakini will still do it in future. Backet list.

oh, ok.I also hope that one day I will be able to participate in this.
I managed to exercise today at a school's sports day.

#648 Posted : Saturday, June 28, 2014 6:56:59 PM

@Washiku, on payment wanasema coming soon, do you have the exact figures for the following:

Individual MembershipOur Individual membership is a great way for you to meet your fitness goals. In addition to all the equipment, swimming, squash courts, steam & sauna, you will get access to all our group class; group fitness are a fun way to stay fit.

We have individual membership in different categories.

•Annual
•6-months
•3-months
•1-month
•Travellers
•12 visits
•6 visits

•Annual= 108k with towel, 83 without towel
•6-months=65 with towel, 54 without towel
•3-months= 35 with towel, 29 without towel
•1-month= Monthly peak 12,000 with towel, 10 without towel
•Travellers= 23K for 25 visits.
•12 visits=11k
•6 visits=5,500

Thanks man, wewe ni member kweli, I will also check other options.....this looks great though.

@McReagge, did you join The Arena? I have been around for a few weeks now.
Ngogoyo
#649 Posted : Sunday, June 29, 2014 11:59:31 AM

Theu wrote:
Theu wrote:

oh, ok.I also hope that one day I will be able to participate in this.
I managed to exercise today at a school's sports day.

i did this jana 28th. baridi usiku was bearable with tots of whisky.

being my 1st half marathon, i run the first 10km but hangover kicked in (remember cold+whisky).

i jogged till 18km mark and had to walk for 3km.
overall time 3.15. good for me being first half marathon.

the terrain is unforgiving dust and hill. the sun came up early.

the funny thing is, at Finnish line i was given a medal for half marathon but after walking for like five steps a lady came running removed the medal from my neck and put full marathon medal on my neck (i didnt understand this until much later when i noticed my team members had a different medal)
sema kuua nyoni mbili na jiwe moja smile
jokes
#650 Posted : Thursday, July 10, 2014 10:45:25 AM

jokes wrote:
Of recent i have noticed my weight has stagnated at one point, but what surprised me the most was the how fast my clothes were starting to hung, be bulky, get loose.

I was forced to reduce my trousers and shirts, coats etc, but the weight remains the same....

It made me wonder if weight is not the real issue but mass? accumulated FAT mass that envelopes our bodies in its suffocating grip.
Since FAT is light it does not weigh a lot but occupies a bigger massive area unlike muscle and bones which weigh a lot more.

It also made me start doubting the mass/index thing developed by the wazungus. That was not developed with an African in mind. We need to develop our own.

All in all if you have the determination and want to loose weight fast without binging on drugs try this:

1. become a vegetarian and no alcohol. It helps if you join the seventh day Adventist church, they have manuals on how to live a healthy life without indulging in alcohol and animal products.

2. Get stressed, but this may bound to be a bad idea if you end up binging to feel good, but stress has been known to make people loose weight fast. e.g you may marry a devil for a spouse, or get a campus diva to drive you crazy, Laughing out loudly the list is endless.

3. If you work a lot in the office sited down try this; in the morning eat 2 slices of brown bread, one egg ( not omelet) and tea.

At 10.00 drink a cup of tea.

Lunch time eat well but ensure all the ideal food items are on your plate, lots of vegetables, some starch and protein. No juices or soda after the meal. Meza maji.

At 4.00pm kunywa chai.

Later in the evening hit the gym seriously and take lots of water.

Go home and don't eat a thing.
Make sure there is nothing to eat in your house AT ALL.
If you are seriously pressed for food, eat a fruit or take a cup of tea, BUT DO THIS ONCE IN A WHILE.
Don't take water you will wake up later in the night and pee all of it and feel hungry again. combine hunger pangs with lack of sleep and you have a long night ahead of you.

I did this for one month and i was loosing 500gms per week.

I tell you it was not easy. The hunger pangs at night before going to bed were incredibleSad
but later i started enjoying the smell and taste of food i.e my appetite came back.

The above will not work if your wife Knows how to cook and/or demands you eat supper or you will not be having somesmile

It does not work if you have kids, they have to eat supper, and smell of food lingers in the room and you are starving.
Note your sense of smell will be heightened ten fold. you can smell good food a mile away.smile

It works if you are single,
come home late and jump into bed,
with cooperation from the family who ensure there is no food when you arrive.
if you have the WILL OF STEEL.smile

Hiyo ya kulala tumbo tupu usiku works wonders.
Downloading the following morning becomes an enjoyable experience!

Applause Applause Applause Applause

I am telling yousmile
I didn't want to post that earlier but you are right.
The diet and the exercise does wonders to your bowel movement.
My advice is; always be prepared for if you have to go you have to go.
#651 Posted : Thursday, July 10, 2014 5:51:48 PM

Julie wrote:

Swenani approves this and has send a request to join you
#652 Posted : Tuesday, July 22, 2014 3:30:48 PM

Findeo

#653 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 2:08:15 AM

There's an upcoming wheelbarrow race in Hellsgate. @Masukush, utabebeka?

#654 Posted : Friday, July 25, 2014 9:49:42 AM

There's an upcoming wheelbarrow race in Hellsgate. @Masukush, utabebeka?

hehehe... mimi niko mbali sana na Nairobi so - sitabebeka!
YoungMulla
#655 Posted : Monday, July 28, 2014 1:17:51 PM

Julie wrote:

Swenani approves this and has send a request to join you

I second. smile
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
#656 Posted : Saturday, August 09, 2014 3:51:21 PM

So today I decide to challenge myself to a personal marathon. Distance about 30km. From somewhere in Ngara to Githurai roundabout and back. Time 2hrs 55mins. First part was good, went non-stop but return journey wooiiiiii...wacha tu. Sema kuhema...I had to keep telling myself "Keep Trying" Maybe if I try this severally I can try the 42 kms sometime next year.

ION, I like the way Thika Road was done. The pedestrian path is so good and far from the road thus safe for running. The motor bike guys are the only challenge but they are manageable.
YoungMulla
#657 Posted : Saturday, August 09, 2014 4:47:06 PM

So today I decide to challenge myself to a personal marathon. Distance about 30km. From somewhere in Ngara to Githurai roundabout and back. Time 2hrs 55mins. Firts part was good, went non-stop but return journey wooiiiiii...wacha tu. Sema kuhema...I had to keep telling myself "Keep Trying" Maybe if I try this severally I can try the 42 kms sometime next year.

ION, I like the way Thika Road was done. The pedestrian path is so good and far from the road thus safe for running. The motor bike guys are the only challenge but they are manageable.

Wow, congrats washiku, you must be as fit as a fiddle. Am not even sure I can hack that. You just gave me an idea. Why don't the exercise enthusiasts in this thread organize something like that periodically as a group. It can be our very own "wazua marathon" and we can help each other out.
Before I die - i will touch the sky!!
#658 Posted : Saturday, August 09, 2014 5:08:14 PM

So today I decide to challenge myself to a personal marathon. Distance about 30km. From somewhere in Ngara to Githurai roundabout and back. Time 2hrs 55mins. Firts part was good, went non-stop but return journey wooiiiiii...wacha tu. Sema kuhema...I had to keep telling myself "Keep Trying" Maybe if I try this severally I can try the 42 kms sometime next year.

wow... good job
#659 Posted : Saturday, August 09, 2014 7:04:35 PM

So today I decide to challenge myself to a personal marathon. Distance about 30km. From somewhere in Ngara to Githurai roundabout and back. Time 2hrs 55mins. First part was good, went non-stop but return journey wooiiiiii...wacha tu. Sema kuhema...I had to keep telling myself "Keep Trying" Maybe if I try this severally I can try the 42 kms sometime next year.

Well done.Washiku.

Wacha hata mimi niseme...nasiringi

I did 10 Kms in 1 hr 33mins.(Brisk walking not running)

From Bishops Court 5th Ngong Avenue, up to community area, down Haile Selassie upto to roundabout, down Uhuru Highway upto Nyayo Stadium then to TMall roundabout up Mbagathi way on on upto Silver springs on on to China Plate the back to Bishops Court.

Well, it was smooth upto Tmall.

At Mbagathi I was tempted to take a boda boda but none was willing to carry a sweaty woman .

By the time I stopped my tongue was 6ft inje and my saliva was all salty.

Next time will try jog halfway and walk halfway before I can attempt jogging all the way.

#660 Posted : Saturday, August 09, 2014 8:15:49 PM

Well done.Washiku.

Wacha hata mimi niseme...nasiringi

I did 10 Kms in 1 hr 33mins.(Brisk walking not running)

From Bishops Court 5th Ngong Avenue, up to community area, down Haile Selassie upto to roundabout, down Uhuru Highway upto Nyayo Stadium then to TMall roundabout up Mbagathi way on on upto Silver springs on on to China Plate the back to Bishops Court.

Well, it was smooth upto Tmall.

At Mbagathi I was tempted to take a boda boda but none was willing to carry a sweaty woman .

By the time I stopped my tongue was 6ft inje and my saliva was all salty.

Next time will try jog halfway and walk halfway before I can attempt jogging all the way.

Applause Applause Applause Keep it up... A step at a time.