wazua Sat, Nov 30, 2024

Wanjiku's banks interest rate suit
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 11:33:58 AM

Anxiety for banks as court set to rule on interest rate suit

Someone please explain this law suit. I have been a victim in the past as well of our banks punitive rates and I have all the statements and need to know if I should give madam Wanjiku a call.

#2 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 11:52:02 AM

It is Wanjiku's turn to eat. You think for her to allow you to be enjoyed it the suit will be free... hapo ni mpesa 1% of your claim minimum 1k!
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 2:00:19 PM

Anxiety for banks as court set to rule on interest rate suit

Someone please explain this law suit. I have been a victim in the past as well of our banks punitive rates and I have all the statements and need to know if I should give madam Wanjiku a call.

Jesus, this is big! Imagine, all interest revenues, financial results, for a decade, declared illegal Pray
Will the judge rule fait accompli and issue directives or bring down the sword of Damocles upon these greedy, filthy banks?
God please hear us. Let these monsters pay!
kollabo
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 4:18:18 PM

My wife worked in a bank. She says they have been provisioning incase of a negative outcome in this case since 2003.
hisah
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 4:23:59 PM

Mr Kibaki said the adjusted accounts would result in losses or lower profits and the Treasury would be required to refund large sums of corporation taxes paid on the basis of profits earlier declared.

If indeed this goes the class action suit way, the dent on the balance sheets of the banks with a treasury out of sorts will indeed put a huge rod in the econ wheels...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 4:49:09 PM

hisah wrote:
Mr Kibaki said the adjusted accounts would result in losses or lower profits and the Treasury would be required to refund large sums of corporation taxes paid on the basis of profits earlier declared.

If indeed this goes the class action suit way, the dent on the balance sheets of the banks with a treasury out of sorts will indeed put a huge rod in the econ wheels...

I dont have the figures and math here but are corporate taxes paid by banks that big in KRAs revenue pool? I would hazard not, and perhaps that might be offset by the overcharged interest on govts domestic borrowing.
In any case, the govt can take the option of not refunding overstated tax returns and use them to adjust future tax returns. KRA already does this often when it is agreed a company paid more tax than was its due.
Walipe! The interest regime is just crazy and its not market forces or risk at work here. Even permanently employed people whose deductions are made at source are hit for ~15% loan and mortgage rates on average (sensible countries are at approx 4%!) ...where is the risk here? Ni cartels. Banking in Kenya needs a painful lesson.
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 5:58:54 PM

Class action is like mass action. Just imagine the impact including personal loans. I pray Wanjiku doesnot win restrospective but judgment made for future benefits of the common man.

my blonde cents/reasoning
hisah
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 6:07:29 PM

Class action is like mass action. Just imagine the impact including personal loans. I pray Wanjiku doesnot win restrospective but judgment made for future benefits of the common man.

http://www.lieffcabraser.com/About-Us/Class-Action-FAQ/

$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 6:07:59 PM

Meanwhile the UK have imposed negative interest rates for deposits, yaani ukideposit kwa account yako, bank inachukua pesa.....

http://m.bbc.com/news/business-27717594
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 7:29:08 PM

hisah wrote:

http://www.lieffcabraser.com/About-Us/Class-Action-FAQ/

So how did it go? Should I expect some refund in my accounts? This will be awesome.
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 05, 2014 8:57:22 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

Meanwhile the UK have imposed negative interest rates for deposits, yaani ukideposit kwa account yako, bank inachukua pesa.....

http://m.bbc.com/news/business-27717594

You misunderstood sir. The negative rates is for commercial banks parking money in central banks like ECB, not customers to commercial banks.
If the latter happened you would see a mass exodus of cash to other instruments or banks outside the eurozone leading to malaise in European banking.
mwekez@ji
#12 Posted : Saturday, June 07, 2014 11:49:51 AM

Law is an ass!!! ... If such a suit go through ALL kenyan banks will die
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 8:41:09 AM

the court now allows other petitioners to join in the case, i am loving this
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 10:32:54 AM

Let us also not forget that a loan is a contract. When you sign a contract the terms of the contract will bide you,however punitive they may be.I have too borrowed from a bank when the rates were like 24% and i would not like to re-live those painful payments. I learnt my lesson.

I am sure the lawyers will be happy buy wanjiku will undergo the pain a second time. Kama watu wa pyramid schemes are still around and the lossers have died slowly, the law is as ass!
Kanjora1
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 10:56:35 AM

I don't know how this will pan out but let us not forget that banks have a long time held everyone at ransom including including governments all over the world. I am not sure how much banks raked in in illegal charges over the period in question but a similar situation obtained in the UK 2 years ago. In the UK the banks were mis-selling loan and credit card insurance (known as payment protection insurance (PPI))to everyone who took up a loan or credit card with them. PPI is supposed to be optional. Now they're paying back all the premiums of these payments because courts ruled that it was illegal to charge them without the customer's consent. The total payouts were estimated to be over GBP5 billion (~Ksh.750 billion) which the banks have been paying to their customers.
Let's wait and see what happens in the Kenyan case.
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 26, 2014 11:20:07 AM

kyt wrote:
the court now allows other petitioners to join in the case, i am loving this

if @wanjiku wins and I'm not enjoined in the suit do I stand a chance to gain also?

ChumsQuest
#17 Posted : Saturday, June 28, 2014 9:10:14 AM

hisah wrote:

And the chick will not enjoy that payout..this is Kenya...they'll offer her something on the side and she'll step aside. Just my 5 cents..

The optimist
#18 Posted : Tuesday, August 19, 2014 7:52:26 PM

#19 Posted : Tuesday, August 19, 2014 9:02:32 PM

ChumsQuest wrote:
hisah wrote:

And the chick will not enjoy that payout..this is Kenya...they'll offer her something on the side and she'll step aside. Just my 5 cents..

My friend there are people who cannot be bought no matter how many zeros you throw at them...
#20 Posted : Friday, August 28, 2015 5:28:22 AM

Businessman Horatius Da Gama Rose has been enjoined in a class action suit in which hundreds of bank clients are seeking compensation for interest rates charged on loans without the Finance minister’s approval.

Justice Francis Gikonyo Thursday enjoined Mr Da Gama Rose to the suit alongside 186 others seeking to prove that their banks charged interest on their accounts without the Finance minister’s approval, which is against Kenya’s banking laws.

The suit was filed by Rose Florence Wanjiru in 2003.

http://www.businessdaily...6/-/axrs6p/-/index.html

12 years.....this is so unfair