wazua Tue, Nov 26, 2024

Polio jabs
Mtafiti
#1 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 1:53:50 PM

Dear @Wazua docs and experts, should the frequency make meLiar ?
#2 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 2:00:41 PM

Mtafiti wrote:

Nimeskia kwa radio sasa hivi eti the more they are given the drops the better, hii ni kweli? Eti so dont worry even if them girls come to your house twice in a month!

kamundu
#3 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 2:03:54 PM

Oral polio vaccine OPV is a live -attenuated virus. It is safe,
However, there is risk (although very small) of actually inducing polio when giving the vaccine in Areas with low OPV coverage. Thats why it was discontinued in the Western world where they use the injectable form.
Peace in our Homeland.
bebeto
#4 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 2:20:40 PM

Mtafiti wrote:

Nimeskia kwa radio sasa hivi eti the more they are given the drops the better, hii ni kweli? Eti so dont worry even if them girls come to your house twice in a month!

I've always had reservations about them. Too many of late!
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
#5 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 2:29:01 PM

bebeto wrote:
Mtafiti wrote:

I'm told if you refuse to open your door then they will come a few hours with police and media to film your apparent "foolishness" while they break in and vaccine mitoto zako sote.

Sad Sad Sad Sad

#6 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 2:36:33 PM

Polio 'jab'? hiyo ndio gani?
#7 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 3:20:26 PM

Polio 'jab'? hiyo ndio gani?

Inapewo huko kwa kina @Kiash.

#8 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 9:45:49 PM

bebeto wrote:
Mtafiti wrote:

I'm told if you refuse to open your door then they will come a few hours with police and media to film your apparent "foolishness" while they break in and vaccine mitoto zako sote.

Sad Sad Sad Sad

Forester
#9 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 10:42:21 PM

bebeto wrote:
Mtafiti wrote:

Sad Sad Sad Sad

Build your own dreams, or someone else will hire you to build theirs - Farrah Gray.
Bykhovets
#10 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 10:48:23 PM

The vaccine is harmless to the under-fives. There is no cause for alarm despite the many the doses given at home, school or church.

Polio is a serious disease and has been targeted for elimination in all countries in the world. It's a WHO guided initiative and Kenya cannot veto it since we do not have enough research data to form our own opinion.

The problems with our setup (porous borders, having children at home, not completing vaccine schedules etc) mean that we have to increase the rounds of vaccination to reach those who might have been missed.

There's something called Herd Immunity where the immunity of a large number of people in a community is so high such that the few who are not immunised cannot get the disease. This is the scientific idea behind these repeated vaccinations.

Our failure is that we don't have a way of identifying those that have taken the vaccine. It is wasteful to give the vaccine to a child 10 times.

MOH is slowly making parents develop apathy and fatigue to vaccines. In future, they might need to give an important life-saving vaccine in a medical emergency and many might oppose it; though they can always call the cops on you smile

I think some MOH officials, NGOs and drug companies are making a lot of money from these vaccinations. It a meaningful public health exercise but vaccines still remains a billion dollar business.
"Occasionally I drop a tea cup to shatter on the floor. On purpose. I am not satisfied when it does not gather itself up again. Someday perhaps that cup will come together."
Bykhovets
#11 Posted : Monday, June 23, 2014 11:00:04 PM

kamundu wrote:
However, there is risk (although very small) of actually inducing polio when giving the vaccine in Areas with low OPV coverage. Thats why it was discontinued in the Western world where they use the injectable form.

Doc, there have been confirmed cases of OPV vaccine associated poliomyelitis at Daadab and Kakuma. But it is a rare phenomenon. Those who react this way usually have other problems that need to be addressed.

Yes, kwa akina @Kiash ni IPV only usually given as a combined vaccine with tetanus, diphtheria etc.

BTW starting 1 July 2014, Rotavirus vaccine will be given at all GoK facilities for free to all children. It's already in that purple GoK antenatal book (ehhh, I know Wazuans go to Aga Khan and Nairobi Hosp for ante-natal clinic so they might not have seen this book). smile

Ksh 12,000 jabs from paediatricians are a thing of the past smile

"Occasionally I drop a tea cup to shatter on the floor. On purpose. I am not satisfied when it does not gather itself up again. Someday perhaps that cup will come together."
kamundu
#12 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 8:12:03 AM

Bykhovets wrote:
kamundu wrote:

Doc, there have been confirmed cases of OPV vaccine associated poliomyelitis at Daadab and Kakuma. But it is a rare phenomenon. Those who react this way usually have other problems that need to be addressed.

Yes, kwa akina @Kiash ni IPV only usually given as a combined vaccine with tetanus, diphtheria etc.

BTW starting 1 July 2014, Rotavirus vaccine will be given at all GoK facilities for free to all children. It's already in that purple GoK antenatal book (ehhh, I know Wazuans go to Aga Khan and Nairobi Hosp for ante-natal clinic so they might not have seen this book). smile

I think some NGO and MOH officials are laughing all the way to the bank.....
Peace in our Homeland.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 8:43:20 AM

Bykhovets wrote:
kamundu wrote:

Very very unnecessary charges being levied on those nidro class wazuans visiting the "posh" hospitals.

Muriel
#14 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 8:51:48 AM

Bykhovets wrote:
kamundu wrote:

Surely you cannot fault someone for reading - and understanding - the 'fine print'.

I have come to acknowledge that not everyone is "stupid" even if and when they act out of "ignorance".

And that not everyone is "clever" even if and when they act out of "awareness".
kripp
#15 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 11:34:15 AM

Some alternative views/news about vaccines;

POLIO

Other Vaccine Headlines
Bykhovets
#16 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 1:22:15 PM

Muriel wrote:
Bykhovets wrote:
kamundu wrote:

Surely you cannot fault someone for reading - and understanding - the 'fine print'.

I have come to acknowledge that not everyone is "stupid" even if and when they act out of "ignorance".

Ubaya yenu @Muriel, @Tycho, @Chessmaster and @Symbols ni writing things I do not understand.

Anyway, odds of OPV causing the disease is almost zero and this doesn't cancel out the benefits of giving it. Infection happens to people who come from populations that have low herd immunity to polio such as refugees.

Wacheni conspiracy theories.
Muriel
#17 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 2:22:44 PM

Bykhovets wrote:
Muriel wrote:
Bykhovets wrote:
kamundu wrote:

Ubaya yenu @Muriel, @Tycho, @Chessmaster and @Symbols ni writing things I do not understand.

Anyway, odds of OPV causing the disease is almost zero and this doesn't cancel out the benefits of giving it. Infection happens to people who come from populations that have low herd immunity to polio such as refugees.

Wacheni conspiracy theories.

Laugh
Laugh
Laugh

But I am just reading what you have written. Hiyo "almost zero" you have written sounds harmless but it is not "zero".

'Almost' doesn't count. Hata Brandy the musicisn aliimba hiyo years ago. You have even repeated that "Infections happens ,,,"

Hii si conspiracy. Ni ukweli. But it is easier to dismiss those who refuse by bringing police and cameramen to film "this foolishness" as Impunity says.

Many are agreeing to avoid embarrassment.