wazua Wed, Nov 27, 2024

8 Pages«<34567>»
VIPortal, ponzi company
mnandii
#81 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 6:43:26 AM

butterflyke wrote:
its2013 wrote:
I know a couple who had put their savings in this and the payment dates have lapsed but they haven't got anything. They are being given reasons that don't make much good sense.

i don't get it - you work hard (presumably), you save money and then you hand-over your money to someone to just make it multiply....d'oh!

sometimes people just ask for it #kichapochamaisha

Financial speculation is usually high at a market top. Prechter has a term for it: complacency.

This is how people drive stock markets to a peak because they base their expectations on hope.
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
#82 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 8:06:38 AM

butterflyke wrote:
its2013 wrote:
I know a couple who had put their savings in this and the payment dates have lapsed but they haven't got anything. They are being given reasons that don't make much good sense.

i don't get it - you work hard (presumably), you save money and then you hand-over your money to someone to just make it multiply....d'oh!

Greed, Beer pressure, trust, fake prayers, get rich quick, umama etc! Learn the hard way ask, was once there in a church scheme in the 90's.
#83 Posted : Tuesday, June 24, 2014 11:20:45 AM

its2013 wrote:
@alma and @butterfly Now that people are talking of realising they've made losses I am shocked at the amounts I've heard people say they put into this thing. The least I've heard is 100k. People even took loans for this.

this was the same story in the last pyramid wave. it's like coming a cross an abandoned open well, you decide to jump in hoping that some passerby will come, throw some rope down the well and rescue you

Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad AlišŸ
#84 Posted : Monday, June 30, 2014 2:14:23 PM

[quote=Pesa Nane[/quote]
#85 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 12:37:36 PM

LSK wants Kimaiyo to investigate
VIP Portal Limited for alleged fraud-
www.standardmedia.co.ke/...%20for%20alleged%20fraud
#86 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 1:21:36 PM

butterflyke wrote:
its2013 wrote:

Greed, [b]B[/b]eer pressure, trust, fake prayers, get rich quick, umama etc! Learn the hard way ask, was once there in a church scheme in the 90's.

Its not a laughing matter but I couldnt help but laugh at beer pressure.
I know of a guy who put in 200k. He is still hopeful of getting paid. I feel sorry for him. Sad
Mart_Consult
#87 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 2:19:59 PM

How is it that this company is doing Sponsorships then ?? (for the Christmas Cantanta play & IYF Camp)
I went into the (Ferry) industry knowing the same thing I knew with all other businesses I went into- Nothing. Then I built it from there. - Sheldon Adelson (Titans at the Table- Giants of Macau)
The optimist
#88 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 3:18:44 PM

Mastermind wrote:
LSK wants Kimaiyo to investigate
VIP Portal Limited for alleged fraud-
www.standardmedia.co.ke/...%20for%20alleged%20fraud

And the struggle continues.I remember people were warned here.
Tall Order
#89 Posted : Monday, August 04, 2014 4:12:14 PM

I agree with you @The optimist

I'm glad even your optimism kept you on the sidelines and now you don't have to go through the agony, tempting it was but of course that was a huge risk to take and as you put it clearly, 'people were warned here'.
holycow
#90 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 9:32:32 AM

Todays Daily Nation page 26.

#91 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 10:05:07 AM

Bullshit!

Those guys who are now crying were the ones who were calling others fools for not understanding.

Now they want the world to feel sorry for them? They were participating in an illegal scheme.

It's like a thief who joins a gang and the leaders are arrested. Then he comes to complain that people have refused to buy the stolen property.

The gov't should have nothing to do with pyramid schemes. Mentioning the name of the Presidents son is so stupid. Kweli he was there signing papers for them?

Jinga kabisa loosers. Wacha pesa yao yote inunulie huyo kijana mercedes. Obviously the money was wasted on them.
Ash Ock
#92 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 11:24:01 AM

Bullshit!

Those guys who are now crying were the ones who were calling others fools for not understanding.

Now they want the world to feel sorry for them? They were participating in an illegal scheme.

It's like a thief who joins a gang and the leaders are arrested. Then he comes to complain that people have refused to buy the stolen property.

The gov't should have nothing to do with pyramid schemes. Mentioning the name of the Presidents son is so stupid. Kweli he was there signing papers for them?

Jinga kabisa loosers. Wacha pesa yao yote inunulie huyo kijana mercedes. Obviously the money was wasted on them.

I have been following the VIPortal saga on their Facebook page with astonishment. The ā€œinvestorsā€ donā€™t have a clue on what they invested in and are still living in lala land.

The claim of 2b from the company includes the ridiculous interest rates they expected to getā€¦60-80% per month! Ponzi schemes are immediately and irrevocably in debt from the word go. That claim, even if it were to be awarded by a court, is nonsense.

Like @alma writes, these were the same people who even I tried to warn and I was called all sorts of names.

Idiots!
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
mnandii
#93 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 12:47:29 PM

Pray
Conventional thinkers waste time building shelters when they are unnecessary and then have no shelters when they need them the most. Socionomists do the opposite.
kasibitta
#94 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 3:21:36 PM

Sad Sad Sad I am not sure how kenyans will be made to understand that nothing comes easy.Worse off, people placing all their life savings on such.

Wacha wapate kichapo....and if another one comes up, more of them will lose cash.We are a country of people who adamantly refuse to learn
Tall Order
#95 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 4:30:39 PM

Kenyans have peculiar behaviors such as involvement with Ponzis, looting from beer, oil and food company vehicles that have veered off-road into ditches e.t.c.

Most of this situations are usually dangerous but some Kenyans will always risk it. It's part of our society, let's just accept it.
Bykhovets
#96 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 5:22:30 PM

I have read some of the comments on FB. Kenyans are too gullible! Sad

"Occasionally I drop a tea cup to shatter on the floor. On purpose. I am not satisfied when it does not gather itself up again. Someday perhaps that cup will come together."
#97 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 6:01:35 PM

Has the govt stopped being against them? Clearly theres need 4 investor education.
Ash Ock
#98 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 9:39:41 PM

Has the govt stopped being against them? Clearly theres need 4 investor education.

Investor education doesn't help. Greed is an evolutionary survival trait and in any case, googling Ponzi shows just how many schemes are busted weekly in the US. Just look the Madoff victims, most of whom are pillars of society coming from very well off families. They were badly duped.
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
#99 Posted : Friday, August 08, 2014 11:09:19 PM

Ash Ock wrote:

Investor education doesn't help. Greed is an evolutionary survival trait and in any case, googling Ponzi shows just how many schemes are busted weekly in the US. Just look the Madoff victims, most of whom are pillars of society coming from very well off families. They were badly duped.

I agree Ashok but "American Greed" the prog on CNBC helps people from falling for such scams
#100 Posted : Saturday, August 09, 2014 8:18:38 AM

Ash Ock wrote:

I agree Ashok but "American Greed" the prog on CNBC helps people from falling for such scams

True...but Kenyans will still come up with 'hii ni ya ukweli' line

Reading those fb comments tells it all
Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad AlišŸ