Alba wrote:One issue that bothers me is the casualness with which teams concede corners especially African teams.
John Boye conceded a needless corner when trying to shield the ball and USA made Ghana pay. Today Zokora had a chance to blast the ball sideways instead he hesitated , waited until he had no choice but to kick the ball out for a corner and Colombia scored.
Then Toure tried to dribble the ball and lost it for the 2nd goal. Both Colombia goals were errors of casualness.
During my heyday playing football mitaani Kiko cup, the crowd always shouted “vuta” when the ball was in the danger zone.
And if you tried to driblle in the danger zone, the whole crowd of idlers and bystanders would shout at you "wacha Maua !!!!!"
You are better off conceding a throw in or even blasting the ball aimlessly instead of conceding a corner. Teams today value possession to a fault. And CIV took too many chances by dribbling near the danger zone. Someone finally made them pay the way Roger Milla made Higuita pay in 1990.
Just VUTA !!!!!!!!!!
its not only mitaani, its everywhere - one of the basic principles taught to defenders is always to move the ball sideways out of the danger area and play for a throw in whenever posible - lakini you have mentioned two instances where both civ and ghana defenders made the elementary errors, that ended up costing the team.