wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

KPLC Connections Rip-offs?
jmbada
#1 Posted : Saturday, April 12, 2014 9:31:33 AM

Hi all,
Is anyone trying to get a KPLC residential elec connection? Have been trying to get a connection. Paid in Jan after the assessment of KES35K. They have since raised that to KES180K and even after clear indications that the subsidy is back on...they still refuse to complete the connection!

http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/State-keeps-power-connection-subsidy-at-Sh35-000/-/539546/2266232/-/b2o7lk/-/index.html

Any help guys? Seems they are looking for ANY excuse to say that my connection is too far. Guidelines are that you don't have to pay more than KES35K if you are within 600M radius of a transformer. Mine is less than 300M!
jerry
#2 Posted : Saturday, April 12, 2014 12:55:15 PM

TKK!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
Kihara joni
#3 Posted : Saturday, April 12, 2014 3:21:56 PM

Well yours is very low am just 20 meters from the line and I have been told to add 324,000/- to the 35k to get connected, plus you can't get a refund of your money if you can't afford the new amount.
jmbada
#4 Posted : Saturday, April 12, 2014 5:34:58 PM

Kihara joni wrote:
Well yours is very low am just 20 meters from the line and I have been told to add 324,000/- to the 35k to get connected, plus you can't get a refund of your money if you can't afford the new amount.

We need to report all these people in a VERY public way!!! They are preying on our ignorance and division! The figure is 35k AND they get a state subsidy based on the difference in cost... with a full refund from the state. I believe the scam is that:
1. They assess you round 1 for 35k
2. the re-assess you for a RIDICULOUSLY higher amount.
3. They connect you once you've paid for the higher amount.
4. They "offer" refunds...but when you claim, the refund is paid into a KPLC employee account, with NO payment / invoice details.
5. They POCKET the refund!!!
jmbada
#5 Posted : Saturday, April 12, 2014 5:42:16 PM

Subsidy maths:
1. They assess you for 35 k.
2. They re-assess you for 379 k.
3. They charge you and connect you.
4. They claim the 324k refund from the govt. subsidy
5. They "offer" you a refund for 324k which is handled by a different dept.
6. They keep the refund and ONLY COMPENSATE THE PEOPLE WHO COMPLAIN CONSISTENTLY AND VERY TENACIOUSLY!!!!.
...Human nature is that most people don't put up a fight when they are being ripped off financially....only when it's a physical attack do we stand up to be counted.
THEY ARE PREYING ON HUMAN NATURE TO RIP US OFF!
stockshunter
#6 Posted : Saturday, April 12, 2014 6:30:35 PM

jmbada wrote:
Subsidy maths:
6. They keep the refund and ONLY COMPENSATE THE PEOPLE WHO COMPLAIN CONSISTENTLY AND VERY TENACIOUSLY!!!!.
...Human nature is that most people don't put up a fight when they are being ripped off financially....only when it's a physical attack do we stand up to be counted.

KPLC is corrupted to its core I had to use all means possible to get connected last year. Twitter Facebook, calls and Physically going to their offices on weekly basis ang It took me 9 months to get connected and the only thing they brought was a cable since the pole was already there, I had vowed not to part with any bribe and I did not Give any despite them asking shamelessly for lunch. I wish you all the best
fear makes people live a miserable life.
bird_man
#7 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 11:39:52 AM

KPLC has a notice on connection charges...todays DN Page6.
Was supposed to be a clarification...but even more confusing!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
Kihara joni
#8 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 5:03:22 PM

bird_man wrote:
KPLC has a notice on connection charges...todays DN Page6.
Was supposed to be a clarification...but even more confusing!

So according to this the third post (just) one is making the connection cost jump from 34,500/- to 379,000/-? OOOOKAY, I should get a refund from my maths teacher.
#9 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 5:29:55 PM

kenyans are very hard working people.just the goverment and its system fails them.imagine you want power connection and then you have to bribe to get the service.shame on kplc crooks.
rryyzz
#10 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 7:52:35 PM

jmbada wrote:
Kihara joni wrote:

We need to report all these people in a VERY public way!!! They are preying on our ignorance and division! The figure is 35k AND they get a state subsidy based on the difference in cost... with a full refund from the state. I believe the scam is that:
1. They assess you round 1 for 35k
2. the re-assess you for a RIDICULOUSLY higher amount.
3. They connect you once you've paid for the higher amount.
4. They "offer" refunds...but when you claim, the refund is paid into a KPLC employee account, with NO payment / invoice details.
5. They POCKET the refund!!!

Are you certain about this???
Too often we underestimate the power of a touch, a smile, a kind word, a listening ear, an honest compliment, or the smallest act of caring, all of which have the potential to turn a life around.... Leo Buscaglia
karis.kuria
#11 Posted : Sunday, April 13, 2014 10:57:24 PM

My story exactly. I applied for a connection from Thika Office in November. Get preliminary quote and paid 35k. When I followed up for connection, was told my quote had been revised upwards to 250k. Complained further and even got a 'designer' to come to site and review. This time the quote went even further up to 293k. The 250k was based on 550m distance of cabling and the 293k is now based on 350m. I asked for an itemised quote for the 350M and apparently, the biggest cost is poles. I was quoted for 6 poles at approx 20k each (excl VAT)... Any one with an idea whether this is the real and actual cost of 11m and 9.8M poles? Interestingly, the 11M pole is slightly cheaper than the 9.8M???? Something has to give. As it is, right now I am considering whether a solar solution is an option....I can't just see how I will need to pay 293k to be connected to unreliable power and continue paying monthly bills on top of that...Nani atawazua hii?
#12 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 12:07:06 PM

stockshunter wrote:
jmbada wrote:
Subsidy maths:

KPLC is corrupted to its core I had to use all means possible to get connected last year. Twitter Facebook, calls and Physically going to their offices on weekly basis ang It took me 9 months to get connected and the only thing they brought was a cable since the pole was already there, I had vowed not to part with any bribe and I did not Give any despite them asking shamelessly for lunch. I wish you all the best

Its my turn now, and the guys are not even embarrassed asking for lunch openly.
the worst thing is that, my phone number somehow was leaked to some guy who keeps on calling me asking for a bribe failure to which he will increase my quote.
Money Whisperer
#13 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 8:11:11 PM

got mine some weeks back. no much hustle save the usual pay now or we increase the rates then toa kitu even the guys who came to do the actual connection on site asked for lunch. by Kenyan standards it was not bad
"Money never sleeps"
#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 8:35:52 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:
got mine some weeks back. no much hustle save the usual pay now or we increase the rates then toa kitu even the guys who came to do the actual connection on site asked for lunch. by Kenyan standards it was not bad

how long did it take from the time you applied.
Money Whisperer
#15 Posted : Wednesday, May 14, 2014 8:56:53 PM

Money Whisperer wrote:

how long did it take from the time you applied.

applied in around July last year the wait was long before the reference number came out. got the ref number in Nov paid in December
"Money never sleeps"
#16 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 10:47:31 AM

stockshunter wrote:
jmbada wrote:
Subsidy maths:

Its my turn now, and the guys are not even embarrassed asking for lunch openly.
the worst thing is that, my phone number somehow was leaked to some guy who keeps on calling me asking for a bribe failure to which he will increase my quote.

Seems i was lucky to have been connected during the "nusu mkate" govt. I paid 35k and was connected in 2 weeks, and no chai was asked.
gadj
#17 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 11:59:07 AM

Why is it that in Kenya esp. rural areas one has to part with a bribe to get connected to power? Its time the gava liberalized this sector for other players to come in.
OffersAfrica
#18 Posted : Thursday, May 15, 2014 9:36:41 PM

It's also time Kenyans started to rely on alternative means of energy e.g. Solar. or generators, although that might be more costly coz of fuel. As you wait for KPLC connection, life goes on with solar energy.

I think there is a policy in government that will make solar panels compulsory in all residential and office buildings in coming years. Going green.
Check OffersAfrica.com and look for promos, offers & Discounts from reputable businesses before you shop and Save Instantly!
Money Whisperer
#19 Posted : Friday, May 16, 2014 6:02:50 PM

OffersAfrica wrote:
It's also time Kenyans started to rely on alternative means of energy e.g. Solar. or generators, although that might be more costly coz of fuel. As you wait for KPLC connection, life goes on with solar energy.

I think there is a policy in government that will make solar panels compulsory in all residential and office buildings in coming years. Going green.

solar is good and cheap in the long run but the initial cost of installation is very high and risk to the panels is also great
"Money never sleeps"
Kihara joni
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 19, 2014 8:21:03 PM

Has kplc received the budget money they were waiting for? Also now that my neighbours have been connected and I am now within two poles limit, will I finally get connected at 35k which I have paid by the way