National Security Team - Uhuru must act...NOW!
I have been told that sometimes government, and others, read Wazua. I hope they are doing so now. Last year I posted the following: 2. It is clear that Kenya today has the weakest security team since Independence. This is is a major risk for the nation.This fact is still true. President Uhuru must completely reorganize the national security team that he has, starting with Ole Lenku, who is clearly out of his depth. If he must have a Maasai in the docket,may I suggest General (Rtd) Nkaissery for the post. He maybe CORD but, although he plays politics, Nkaissery is a soldier first and I am sure he will get the job done. The current defense Minister needs to be moved to a new role too. National security is too important to have novices in any critical position. "The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
Wakanyugi wrote:I have been told that sometimes government, and others, read Wazua. I hope they are doing so now.
Last year I posted the following:
2. It is clear that Kenya today has the weakest security team since Independence. This is is a major risk for the nation.
This fact is still true. President Uhuru must completely reorganize the national security team that he has, starting with Ole Lenku, who is clearly out of his depth.
If he must have a Maasai in the docket,may I suggest General (Rtd) Nkaissery for the post. He maybe CORD but, although he plays politics, Nkaissery is a soldier first and I am sure he will get the job done.
The current defense Minister needs to be moved to a new role too.
National security is too important to have novices in any critical position. Actually, if some wazuans are to be believed, the security team is first class. It's Raila who is the problem. That said, you have captured my thoughts quite well. The team is hopelessly incompetent. Something should be done, but I fear it wont. Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Wakanyugi wrote:I have been told that sometimes government, and others, read Wazua. I hope they are doing so now.
2. It is clear that Kenya today has the weakest security team since Independence. This is is a major risk for the nation.
This fact is still true. President Uhuru must completely reorganize the national security team that he has, starting with Ole Lenku, who is clearly out of his depth.
If he must have a Maasai in the docket,may I suggest General (Rtd) Nkaissery for the post. He maybe CORD but, although he plays politics, Nkaissery is a soldier first and I am sure he will get the job done.
National security is too important to have novices in any critical position. What about the system? Don't you think it has undergone rot over time? ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
National security is too important to have novices in any critical position due to political expediency and interests. If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
I bet to differ. The current crew is apt for the situation, now and into the future. The current situation can not be likened to the past. This is new a animal all together. The current crew is fast developing vital experience and options upon which to base the war against terror in particular and crime in general. Cs. Ole Lenku and the Inspector General can only take so much flack. Sooner or later, when they really get their back against the wall from pressure from all and sundry, they are going to come out fighting and might just surprise us all.
1. The primary source of raw Intel way back during Baba Moi's and Onyatto's time were the chiefs, sub-chiefs and the likes. We have weakened that system completely. This is a huge part of the problem! 2. The NIS is officially the rich kids employment bureau! 3. Police.....we have limited their freedom of action......sijui IPOA, sijui a weak IG all in the name of human rights and procecting the activists from being clobbered when they riot on the streets. Attempting to free a cop from the command of his boss can only breed indiscipline and disloyalty. 4. Defence tulifunga minyororo na katiba. The situation is bordering on hopeless! There goes the genesis of our problem. And many more. TULIA.........UFUNZWE!
aemathenge wrote:I bet to differ.
The current crew is apt for the situation, now and into the future.
The current situation can not be likened to the past. This is new a animal all together.
The current crew is fast developing vital experience and options upon which to base the war against terror in particular and crime in general.
Cs. Ole Lenku and the Inspector General can only take so much flack. Sooner or later, when they really get their back against the wall from pressure from all and sundry, they are going to come out fighting and might just surprise us all. So how many innocent people must die before they come out fighting. How long will it take them to realize that Kenyans do not have the luxury of waiting for them to get serious?? Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
aemathenge wrote:I bet to differ.
The current crew is apt for the situation, now and into the future.
The current situation can not be likened to the past. This is new a animal all together.
The current crew is fast developing vital experience and options upon which to base the war against terror in particular and crime in general.
Cs. Ole Lenku and the Inspector General can only take so much flack. Sooner or later, when they really get their back against the wall from pressure from all and sundry, they are going to come out fighting and might just surprise us all. What bigger tragedy would push them then? Thought we have had enough terrible hits...What bigger tragedy can push them to surprise us?
simonkabz wrote:1. The primary source of raw Intel way back during Baba Moi's and Onyatto's time were the chiefs, sub-chiefs and the likes. We have weakened that system completely. This is a huge part of the problem!
2. The NIS is officially the rich kids employment bureau!
3. Police.....we have limited their freedom of action......sijui IPOA, sijui a weak IG all in the name of human rights and procecting the activists from being clobbered when they riot on the streets. Attempting to free a cop from the command of his boss can only breed indiscipline and disloyalty.
4. Defence tulifunga minyororo na katiba. The situation is bordering on hopeless!
There goes the genesis of our problem. And many more. I think the primary source of intel during moi's era were the wanainchi who were special branch(NIS) without realizing that they were special branch(NIS). I know of a guy who used to be paid by the OCPD to provide information to the OCPD of the ongoings in the estate. That's why the KANU government could easily tell who had a running stomach, who came late at night, who was the drunkard of the estate, who was the petty thief etc. I think it worked, we have now made NIS a rich kids employment bureau who spend most of their time drinking in silly in bars(I have never know why those guys think information is gotten from bars and political rallies). I think in terms of collecting information, its only the citizens who can provide raw intel(of course if there is monetary rewards-Ask Boinet).Am sure thats how the western govts are able to collect intel in kenya by using the Kenyan wanainchi to provide them with intel and paying them for the info.Otherwise how do the western countries able to tell whatever is happening/being planned literally in every corner of the world yet they have very few CIA and ?or FBI guys here? If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
National Security Team - Uhuru must act...NOW!