Insecurity, Tribalism: What are the solutions
Interesting piece from Gaitho Quote:That terrorists — be they Al-Shabaab infiltrators from Somalia or home-grown adherents — have made anyone in Kenya fair game and should disabuse us of the notion that only high-value targets such as Western embassies, hotels and shopping malls frequented by foreigners, and strategic installations are at risk.
CORD "HIGHLY INSENSITIVE"
We are all at risk in our homes, clubs, places of work, villages, markets, streets, and every place that offers a soft target and maximum casualties for the gratification of deranged, blood-thirsty terrorists.
Yet, instead of closing ranks against this common threat, we resort to stupid politics of ethnic and partisan blame games. The merchants of terror, death, and destruction thrive on causing maximum confusion and division and, therefore, the current sterile political noises must sound like sweet music to their ears.
Al-Shabaab does not give a hoot about Jubilee or Cord. To them President Kenyatta and former Prime Minister Raila Odinga are birds of the same feather.
The terrorists care even less about our foolish ethnic divisions and political rivalries of the Luo, Kikuyu, Kalenjin, or any other groups.
Let there be no doubt about this: We will only defeat our common enemy when we confront the scourge as one united, indivisible people.
Listening to our sorry excuses for political leaders and their mindless support groups all over the place, the enemy is not the terrorist group, but every other Kenyan who does not subscribe to “my” ethnic and political affiliation.
Cordistans are busy blaming the Government. The Jubilants are busy pointing fingers at the Opposition. There is no way we will prevail against the common enemy if we are busy taking potshots at each other.
To that extent, some of the early statements from Cord leaders in the aftermath of the Mpeketoni attack are highly insensitive and irresponsible. They reveal a mindset hungry to milk political capital out of the blood of innocent Kenyans.
Mr Odinga’s minions, with their mindless threats and political sabre-rattling, are doing their best to justify Jubilee paranoia about their demands for national dialogue.
CHEAP POLITICAL THREATS
The government statement from the sorry Interior minister, Mr Joseph ole Lenku, is even worse. There are few places in the world I can think of where the government responds to serious national security issues with cheap political threats against the opposition.
The statement echoes propaganda already broadcast all over Jubilee strongholds that it is Mr Odinga and his Western friends, not Al-Shabaab, who is responsible for terrorism and all the challenges facing the Jubilee Government.
When the minister responsible for national security seeks to validate the violent rhetoric and threats against the opposition spewed by the Jubilee social media hirelings, that is indeed scaring.
On social media in the past few weeks, a dominant narrative has been that Mr Odinga represents a real and present danger to the Jubilee administration.
Jubilee activists have gone into overdrive with propaganda on both social media and across population groups in their political strongholds that virtually everything that troubles the government — terrorist attacks, British and American travel advisories, the ICC trials, student unrest, industrial strife, toxic alcohol, ad infinitum—emanates from the opposition leader.
Scare stories abound on the intentions of Mr Odinga’s demands for a national dialogue and the series of political rallies leading up to Saba Saba, 7 July.
It is almost being taken at face value that it is all a plot backed by Western nations aimed at overthrowing the Uhuru Kenyatta-William Ruto administration in much the same way the “Arab Spring” toppled dictatorships, and wrought instability and turmoil, in Libya and Egypt, with Syria also in the line of fire.
The conclusion and consensus from the Jubilee social media brigades that is echoed across churches, homes, markets, and bars across much of Central Kenya and the Rift Valley is that Mr Odinga must be “dealt with”.
The Mpeketoni attack, as well as the earlier terrorist strikes at Gikomba market, Thika highway, and a bus in Mombasa, provided further fodder for that school of thought.
Jubilee activists have been suggesting on Facebook and Twitter that President Kenyatta ought to take off the gloves and deal decisively with Mr Odinga, one even suggesting that it is time detention camps were re-opened and Ngong Forest (a euphemism for political assassination) be made available for troublemakers.
DELIBERATELY PRIMING LOYALISTS
This is the warped thinking that the Interior minister, on behalf of the national security apparatus after a meeting with the President, seems to be advancing.
Of course Mr Odinga does himself no favours with the political adventure launched on his return from a sabbatical in the United States.
What was initially couched as an earnest plea for dialogue on pressing national issues has transmogrified into what looks like a sinister political manoeuvre.
The threats and violent rhetoric coming out of his political rallies suggest not just a quest for dialogue, but a deliberate plan to replicate the mass action campaigns of the early 1990s that forced former president Daniel arap Moi’s Kanu to accede to demands for an end to one-party dictatorship.
The choice of Saba Saba as a launching pad for the campaign is probably deliberate because of the symbolism of the 7 July, 1990 protests that forced Mr Moi’s hand.
What is coming out of the Cord rallies now (well after attainment of multi-partyism and a new Constitution) is helping fuel the Jubilee paranoia and the incendiary propaganda being spread across the coalition strongholds.
It seems political leaders on both sides are deliberately priming their loyalists for conflict, but paying little regard to the complications wrought by the terrorist threat that strikes all without discrimination.
If the Jubilee supporters really do believe that Mr Odinga is responsible for the attacks, Cord supporters would equally be justified in the belief that the culprits will be found in President Kenyatta’s national security organs to solidify the siege mentality already being inculcated in their support bases.
In the meantime, Al-Shabaab will be throwing itself a grand party as our leaders prepare their mindless followers to take up arms against one another. http://www.nation.co.ke/...74/-/2nn5bt/-/index.html
Rank: Member Joined: 5/26/2009 Posts: 326 Location: Nairobi
It seems like nobody has an action plan that can yield a solution to the twin problems facing Kenya; Insecurity (terrorism, organized crime, crime...) and Tribalism (polarization...).
Not the Executive, Legislature, Judiciary and not the Opposition.
What solutions can we offer?
We can go discuss this over chai na mandazi in statehouse. lunch has also been offered. Politics is just things to keep the people divided and foolish and put your trust in men and none of them can do nothing for you...
It starts with Mr. President. He must acknowledge that we have a problem with the above and tackle it. Acknowledge there is a problem and come up with a way of solving it, not necessarily a solution but a plan. The CS in Charge, the Police Boss, NIS boss to work together(To read from same script and stop the blame game), I was very embarrassed as a Kenyan when the CS blamed the Opposition for what happened in mpeketoni. Surely as a Kenyan I don't care whom I voted for but the current government should offer security to Kenyans. Ignore the opposition and solve the issues especially those of security. If it is opposition and they have the facts and evidence arrest them!! If it is alshabab have a better organised Intelligence unit and stop the killings before they happen, if you cannot get help from nations with advanced Intelligence just stop this non-sense! Has the president even addressed the nation? update president set president = speaker where president is null
invite a tender to Bring FBI, CIA and M16 to lead the security and intelligence gathering
And of course the Chinese will be the lowest bidder.
#ItsComplicated
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/1/2011 Posts: 8,804 Location: Nairobi
Come up with a global proposal that can counter balance the Berlin conference and post World wars era and their polit-economic implications. Redraw boundaries through the creation of vibrant social networks, and promotion of capital activities to the grassroots, promote digital and multicultural education.
But there must be a dedicated network to carry out such a task.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/27/2012 Posts: 2,256 Location: Bandalungwa
If we try and look at this without introducing the CORD vs Jubilee perspective or the tribal perspective we might have solutions.
From an immediate perspective, the security budget must be bolstered. Kenya needs a rapid reaction force that can arrive at the scene of chaos by helicopter within 1 hour. Those Shababas terrorized people in Lamu for 4hrs then by the time help came , it was from poorly equipped police who are not trained to deal with terrorists. So they ran away as well.
Kenya needs to prioritize a rapid reaction force over some of the stuff that they are spending money on like building and maintaining massive mansions for past presidents, giving them huge amounts of money every month, allocating huge amounts to the 1st and 2nd lady etc.
You simply cannot send police to deal with Shababas. The police are not trained in anti-terror. We need to bolster the Anti-terror forces with proper training as well as equipment like helicopters, night vision, body heat detectors……This is war !
Secondly, Kenyans need to start voting on issues besides tribe. We have been reaping what we sowed. We have a bunch of incompetents running security who are there specifically because of tribe and nothing less. The people below them who are more knowledgeable are demoralized. The opposition which has been very disappointing so far needs to focus on holding the government accountable for its numerous mis-steps. Right now I just see politicking. Why do we even have a senate ? They should be the ones holding the government officials accountable. But they probably will not since the current system benefits them as well. And please can we stop flashing our middle finger at the west. The truth is that we need their expertise.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Jaina wrote:invite a tender to Bring FBI, CIA and M16 to lead the security and intelligence gathering
And of course the Chinese will be the lowest bidder.
#ItsComplicated @chaina, you should know people. See who these people are and evaluate your standpoint towards them. They created Al Qaedahttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SYKD_QjhcwgThey kept Boko Haram under the radar for future use: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EY9cEKUOnHs
somehow reminds me of the 5 stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. kenyans seem to be going through the first three all at the same time but me thinks we need to skip number 4 seeing as we have yet to lose the nation completely and go into full swing on number 5. the earlier we accept out failures and decide to stand up for the nation, the better. 1. some changes in the security apparatus - kama ni mbaya ni mbaya na irekebishwe 2. cut down on the politicking and build the nation 3. stop tribalising everything including the vote 4. take real action on corruption - it has to start somewhere Float like a butterfly, sting like a bee. - Muhammad Ali🐝
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,818 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
Kila mtu agawiwe ka-acre kake ajenge nchi yake. Heshima itadumu. Mimi ka inchi kangu nitakaita Dunkania, Capital City itakuwa Dunkangpolis au Dunkangville. Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
@butterfly all you've written there sounds nice but can never happen with the current crop of leadership "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/17/2013 Posts: 4,693 Location: Earth
I have read stuff which have made me realise that our beloved Kenya is no longer what I used to think it was. It's not politics or terrorism that will take Kenya to the gutter but deep tribal hatred. Everything one does or talks about no matter how innocent ends up taking a tribal dimension. I have given up on grown ups because we all sound the same everywhere.
When we pray and propagate hatred at the same time the prayers become null and void and God turns the other way leaving us to our own greed.
Where can an ordinary citizen find some fresh breathe of air? Where is the voice of the church? I guess they are busy hating on each other as well. So deep is the hatred that If Jesus returned today and took away the church,some folks will claim he raptured either cord/jubilee fellows only. Others will even claim that he wore a red/orange robe.
Now this is what I think and fear.
God may just leave kenyans to reap what they have sown. As painful as it sounds,it could mark the re-birth of a new nation and we know what happens during birth. What makes us imagine that God doesn't care about our children's future cz we talk as if we are supposed to enjoy some fruit called 'liberation' while forgetting that our blood and tears may water the very tree that will produce that fruit for the sake of the future generation.
Kenyans have sunk to a high low,it's such a pity and shame. Whatever the outcome,it will be remembered for a long time to come.
The best thing that my old man ever did is not to force me to learn how to speak my mother tongue I never speak a single word of it and am totally ok with it...my kids will never learn it and their kids kids... possunt quia posse videntur
[quote=Lolest!]Interesting piece from Gaitho Quote:That terrorists — be they Al-Shabaab infiltrators from Somalia or home-grown adherents — have made anyone in Kenya fair game and should disabuse us of the notion that only high-value targets such as Western embassies, hotels and shopping malls frequented by foreigners, and strategic installations are at risk.
CORD "HIGHLY INSENSITIVE"
We are all at risk in our homes, clubs, places of work, villages, markets, streets, and every place that offers a soft target and maximum casualties for the gratification of deranged, blood-thirsty terrorists.
Yet, instead of closing ranks against this common threat, we resort to stupid politics of ethnic and partisan blame games. The merchants of terror, death, and destruction thrive on causing maximum confusion and division and, therefore, the current sterile political noises must sound like sweet music to their ears.
Al-Shabaab does not give a hoot about Jubilee or Cord. To them President Kenyatta and former Prime Minister Raila Odinga are birds of the same feather.
The terrorists care even less about our foolish ethnic divisions and political rivalries of the Luo, Kikuyu, Kalenjin, or any other groups.
Let there be no doubt about this: We will only defeat our common enemy when we confront the scourge as one united, indivisible people.
Listening to our sorry excuses for political leaders and their mindless support groups all over the place, the enemy is not the terrorist group, but every other Kenyan who does not subscribe to “my” ethnic and political affiliation.
Cordistans are busy blaming the Government. The Jubilants are busy pointing fingers at the Opposition. There is no way we will prevail against the common enemy if we are busy taking potshots at each other.
To that extent, some of the early statements from Cord leaders in the aftermath of the Mpeketoni attack are highly insensitive and irresponsible. They reveal a mindset hungry to milk political capital out of the blood of innocent Kenyans.
Mr Odinga’s minions, with their mindless threats and political sabre-rattling, are doing their best to justify Jubilee paranoia about their demands for national dialogue.
CHEAP POLITICAL THREATS
The government statement from the sorry Interior minister, Mr Joseph ole Lenku, is even worse. There are few places in the world I can think of where the government responds to serious national security issues with cheap political threats against the opposition.
The statement echoes propaganda already broadcast all over Jubilee strongholds that it is Mr Odinga and his Western friends, not Al-Shabaab, who is responsible for terrorism and all the challenges facing the Jubilee Government.
When the minister responsible for national security seeks to validate the violent rhetoric and threats against the opposition spewed by the Jubilee social media hirelings, that is indeed scaring.
On social media in the past few weeks, a dominant narrative has been that Mr Odinga represents a real and present danger to the Jubilee administration.
Jubilee activists have gone into overdrive with propaganda on both social media and across population groups in their political strongholds that virtually everything that troubles the government — terrorist attacks, British and American travel advisories, the ICC trials, student unrest, industrial strife, toxic alcohol, ad infinitum—emanates from the opposition leader.
Scare stories abound on the intentions of Mr Odinga’s demands for a national dialogue and the series of political rallies leading up to Saba Saba, 7 July.
It is almost being taken at face value that it is all a plot backed by Western nations aimed at overthrowing the Uhuru Kenyatta-William Ruto administration in much the same way the “Arab Spring” toppled dictatorships, and wrought instability and turmoil, in Libya and Egypt, with Syria also in the line of fire.
The conclusion and consensus from the Jubilee social media brigades that is echoed across churches, homes, markets, and bars across much of Central Kenya and the Rift Valley is that Mr Odinga must be “dealt with”.
The Mpeketoni attack, as well as the earlier terrorist strikes at Gikomba market, Thika highway, and a bus in Mombasa, provided further fodder for that school of thought.
Jubilee activists have been suggesting on Facebook and Twitter that President Kenyatta ought to take off the gloves and deal decisively with Mr Odinga, one even suggesting that it is time detention camps were re-opened and Ngong Forest (a euphemism for political assassination) be made available for troublemakers.
DELIBERATELY PRIMING LOYALISTS
This is the warped thinking that the Interior minister, on behalf of the national security apparatus after a meeting with the President, seems to be advancing.
Of course Mr Odinga does himself no favours with the political adventure launched on his return from a sabbatical in the United States.
What was initially couched as an earnest plea for dialogue on pressing national issues has transmogrified into what looks like a sinister political manoeuvre.
The threats and violent rhetoric coming out of his political rallies suggest not just a quest for dialogue, but a deliberate plan to replicate the mass action campaigns of the early 1990s that forced former president Daniel arap Moi’s Kanu to accede to demands for an end to one-party dictatorship.
The choice of Saba Saba as a launching pad for the campaign is probably deliberate because of the symbolism of the 7 July, 1990 protests that forced Mr Moi’s hand.
What is coming out of the Cord rallies now (well after attainment of multi-partyism and a new Constitution) is helping fuel the Jubilee paranoia and the incendiary propaganda being spread across the coalition strongholds.
It seems political leaders on both sides are deliberately priming their loyalists for conflict, but paying little regard to the complications wrought by the terrorist threat that strikes all without discrimination.
If the Jubilee supporters really do believe that Mr Odinga is responsible for the attacks, Cord supporters would equally be justified in the belief that the culprits will be found in President Kenyatta’s national security organs to solidify the siege mentality already being inculcated in their support bases.
In the meantime, Al-Shabaab will be throwing itself a grand party as our leaders prepare their mindless followers to take up arms against one another. http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/2nn5bt/-/index.html[/quote] While i agree with a lot of the issues raised in the article my main problem is this, why do Kenyans think we are devoid of world politics? It's a fact that the West is involved in regime changes all over the world, why are we always quick to think it cant happen in Kenya? Why is it always easier to think that such things only happen to others, the same way we used to think terrorism only happens in far far away places.Interestingly here Alphadoti is pointing fingers at the west for groups such as boko haram and al qaeda and in another thread his sister says that we shouldn't blame the west for the machinations of her beloved Al shabs As for tribalism, for me the instance we start respecting each other as Kenyans and respecting each others opinions without hurling insults and being bigoted we would be heading the right path. At the moment no one is listening to the other. Just like having a fight with your wife if you talk each other down you solve nothing. “People will believe a big lie sooner than a little one, and if you repeat it frequently enough, people will sooner or later believe it.” ― Walter C. Langer
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
Bigotry lurks in a generalised supremacist instinct. Thus when a candidate from my ethnic group emerges top, I readily project her talents to the entire ethnic group even when the trailing one is my kin! The narrow mind takes life as a simple routine to construct small pigeon-holes of prejudice because it is unprepared for, and therefore frightened at, the prospect of a larger world! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
We're being terrorized.We need courage to face ourselves,our enemies and implement solutions.
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/23/2009 Posts: 8,083 Location: Enk are Nyirobi
Terrorism kitu gani? This is the work of economic mercenaries. Kenya is being set up to sell its oil cheaply, not to benefit Kenyans but to repay loans used in fighting Alshabaab and other imaginary enemies. Believe it or not, Raila speaks for those mercenaries. Life is short. Live passionately.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 975 Location: Nairobi
sparkly wrote:Terrorism kitu gani? This is the work of economic mercenaries. Kenya is being set up to sell its oil cheaply, not to benefit Kenyans but to repay loans used in fighting Alshabaab and other imaginary enemies. Believe it or not, Raila speaks for those mercenaries. I don't know why but I think Raila is being set up for a major loss in the next election. Just like in 2013 it was all about ICC. The next might be "Security" You will know that you have arrived when money and time are not mutually exclusive "events" in you life!
symbols wrote:We're being terrorized.We need courage to face ourselves,our enemies and implement solutions. We are being terrorized? "Terrorizm" iz a political term created to create political factz and political realitiez.
why is it that when kemboi or lupita wins, its not a kale/luo who has won? why is it that when oliech scores it's not a jaluo who has scored? why is it that when mathai gets a nobel its not a kikuyu who has won? why is it that when we need blood we accept from all of us? why is it that when am boarding a matatu i dont seek the tribe of the owner? funny i find kenyans are only divided by politics and land, yet of all the richest guys in the world (top ten) none of them is in politics or land except maybe mayor michael bloomberg LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Insecurity, Tribalism: What are the solutions