New attacks at Marenya, Poromoko villages
Possible but outlier just like deaths from kitchen knives, pangas, hammers, cars etc. Arming civilians is obviously the very last resort here. In any case, if government cannot guarantee a reasonable level of security, people will always find ways to protect themselves whether through legal or illegal means. Its a basic human survival instinct. The legal way under state oversight is the right way. The illegal way will be total anarchy. Jus Blazin wrote:innairobi wrote:Unbelievable incompetence. Given the state can no longer guarantee security, it is probably time for GoK to find ways of relaxing requirements for citizens to bear arms. These cowards usually thrive against unarmed targets. There is no way they will go on a continuous killing spree for 6 hours if you have just 20-30 armed organized civilians in the vicinity. You need only look at the impact of the pistol-wielding civilians at Westgate. And its why you will not see Al Shabaab launch such an attack in a village in Pokot, Turkana or Samburu where they could face armed resistance. A father or husband with a gun can be a more motivated adversary than a soldier or policeman. Then he goes to a bar and drinks himself silly...kidogo there's an argument and then... Bang! Bang! A life is gone... All my friends are heathens, take it slow. Wait for them to ask you who you know. Please don't make any sudden moves.
Kaka Sunguch wrote:McReggae wrote:I thought security was beefed up and akina Dengu spent the night in Mpeketoni? The security that was supposed to beef up security there is being heavily deployed in Kisumu , Kibera...Am glad to know the Govt thinks about our security so much. So peaceful but the tension! I saw that!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:Kaka Sunguch wrote:McReggae wrote:I thought security was beefed up and akina Dengu spent the night in Mpeketoni? The security that was supposed to beef up security there is being heavily deployed in Kisumu , Kibera...Am glad to know the Govt thinks about our security so much. So peaceful but the tension! I saw that!!! May God help us Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Rank: Elder Joined: 1/21/2010 Posts: 6,675 Location: Nairobi
McReggae wrote:Kaka Sunguch wrote:McReggae wrote:I thought security was beefed up and akina Dengu spent the night in Mpeketoni? The security that was supposed to beef up security there is being heavily deployed in Kisumu , Kibera...Am glad to know the Govt thinks about our security so much. So peaceful but the tension! I saw that!!! As Kenyans in coast continue to be slaughtered! Mark 12:29 Deuteronomy 4:16
Jus Blazin wrote:innairobi wrote:Unbelievable incompetence. Given the state can no longer guarantee security, it is probably time for GoK to find ways of relaxing requirements for citizens to bear arms. These cowards usually thrive against unarmed targets. There is no way they will go on a continuous killing spree for 6 hours if you have just 20-30 armed organized civilians in the vicinity. You need only look at the impact of the pistol-wielding civilians at Westgate. And its why you will not see Al Shabaab launch such an attack in a village in Pokot, Turkana or Samburu where they could face armed resistance. A father or husband with a gun can be a more motivated adversary than a soldier or policeman. Then he goes to a bar and drinks himself silly...kidogo there's an argument and then... Bang! Bang! A life is gone... Am also against this...it has never been the solution the few I know who hold a fire arm license are ready to use it at the slightest of provocation...we are a proud,arrogant society without guns...with guns we will be a killer society... possunt quia posse videntur
Kaka Sunguch wrote:McReggae wrote:I thought security was beefed up and akina Dengu spent the night in Mpeketoni? The security that was supposed to beef up security there is being heavily deployed in Kisumu , Kibera...Am glad to know the Govt thinks about our security so much. So peaceful but the tension! In a way, though from another angle, you're reinforcing my point Why should the security apparatus have to deal with Kibera and Kisumu? Because there's another threat on that side!! If someone is a patriot, they cannot bring unrest to a country that is already having enough enemies security wise If I were Raila, I would call off the rallies to reduce unnecessary tensions they've created. But as I've said, there's no justification for the security lapse esp in the painfully slow response to the attacks
Lolest! wrote:Kaka Sunguch wrote:McReggae wrote:I thought security was beefed up and akina Dengu spent the night in Mpeketoni? The security that was supposed to beef up security there is being heavily deployed in Kisumu , Kibera...Am glad to know the Govt thinks about our security so much. So peaceful but the tension! In a way, though from another angle, you're reinforcing my point Why should the security apparatus have to deal with Kibera and Kisumu? Because there's another threat on that side!! If someone is a patriot, they cannot bring unrest to a country that is already having enough enemies security wise If I were Raila, I would call off the rallies to reduce unnecessary tensions they've created. But as I've said, there's no justification for the security lapse esp in the painfully slow response to the attacks Is this the best this government can do, Al Shabaab attacks Kenya, the goverment ends up accusing Raila thus dividing the country further along ethnic lines. Even worse was the demonstration at Dagoretti yesterday.........what you will achieve is that part of the country will now see Al Shabaab as an attractive alternative to the National government and who would have won, Al Shabaab!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
...After every attack Ole Lenku tells us that security has been beefed up across the country and the following day there is an attack! ...What will it cost to overhaul the security management...hata kama it is replacing the same people with likes from the same ethnic community!
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
McReggae wrote:Lolest! wrote:Kaka Sunguch wrote:McReggae wrote:I thought security was beefed up and akina Dengu spent the night in Mpeketoni? The security that was supposed to beef up security there is being heavily deployed in Kisumu , Kibera...Am glad to know the Govt thinks about our security so much. So peaceful but the tension! In a way, though from another angle, you're reinforcing my point Why should the security apparatus have to deal with Kibera and Kisumu? Because there's another threat on that side!! If someone is a patriot, they cannot bring unrest to a country that is already having enough enemies security wise If I were Raila, I would call off the rallies to reduce unnecessary tensions they've created. But as I've said, there's no justification for the security lapse esp in the painfully slow response to the attacks Is this the best this government can do, Al Shabaab attacks Kenya, the goverment ends up accusing Raila thus dividing the country further along ethnic lines. Even worse was the demonstration at Dagoretti yesterday......... what you will achieve is that part of the country will now see Al Shabaab as an attractive alternative to the National government and who would have won, Al Shabaab!!! I think @Lolest is just looking at the issue from a patriotic view, I think Raila should just reconsider the rallies at least for now, its the responsibility of the government to provide security and so far there have been serious failures - lakini even to suggest al-shabaab as an alternative is pushing it too far and just goes to show the divisions present.
nakujua wrote:McReggae wrote:Lolest! wrote:Kaka Sunguch wrote:McReggae wrote:I thought security was beefed up and akina Dengu spent the night in Mpeketoni? The security that was supposed to beef up security there is being heavily deployed in Kisumu , Kibera...Am glad to know the Govt thinks about our security so much. So peaceful but the tension! In a way, though from another angle, you're reinforcing my point Why should the security apparatus have to deal with Kibera and Kisumu? Because there's another threat on that side!! If someone is a patriot, they cannot bring unrest to a country that is already having enough enemies security wise If I were Raila, I would call off the rallies to reduce unnecessary tensions they've created. But as I've said, there's no justification for the security lapse esp in the painfully slow response to the attacks Is this the best this government can do, Al Shabaab attacks Kenya, the goverment ends up accusing Raila thus dividing the country further along ethnic lines. Even worse was the demonstration at Dagoretti yesterday......... what you will achieve is that part of the country will now see Al Shabaab as an attractive alternative to the National government and who would have won, Al Shabaab!!! I think @Lolest is just looking at the issue from a patriotic view, I think Raila should just reconsider the rallies at least for now, its the responsibility of the government to provide security and so far there have been serious failures - lakini even to suggest al-shabaab as an alternative is pushing it too far and just goes to show the divisions present. When Al Shabaab attacks, you have nothing to tell the country but profile regions where to 'beef' up security then as a garment you are also pushing it too far!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
New attacks at Marenya, Poromoko villages