New attacks at Marenya, Poromoko villages
Looks like the President can't just send KDF to Mpeketoni: Article 241. Establishment of Defence Forces and Defence Council
(3) The Defence Forces-- (a) are responsible for the defence and protection of the sovereignty and territorial integrity of the Republic; (b) shall assist and cooperate with other authorities in situations of emergency or disaster, and report to the National Assembly whenever deployed in such circumstances; and (c) may be deployed to restore peace in any part of Kenya affected by unrest or instability only with the approval of the National Assembly.
LSK to initiate process for removal of CS Ole Lenku and IG Kimaiyo if they do not resign in 14 days over the Mpeketoni killings.
Can't UMK prevail upon them to resign? They are not THE problem but are part of it after one year in office with no real results.
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/20/2008 Posts: 6,275 Location: Kenya
Lolest! wrote:AlphDoti wrote: Army to do what? Another profiling, targeting and harassment?
Is this what we are saying? We know what army does, they become the police, the judge and executor at the same time. No rule of law.
Do you remember what happened in Garissa? They burnt down buildings and raped women!
What happened to intelligence, arrest and prosecution? What happened to the procedure and conditions under which Kenya Army can get out of the barracks? The only time during which they can leave the barracks is during a "state of emergency" or "approval". They should not rape, or torture, or loot, or kill innocent women and children. They should not even burn business or residential property!!
Otherwise, there'll be no difference between them and thugs.
But of course, of late, it looks like the law has no meaning. We have become lawless!!
How will police arrest the Islamists who have millitary training? Alshabaab sio civillians! @lonest so arresting is the problem? So we know them? We know where they are? SO we have the intelligence?
Lolest! wrote:Looks like the President can't just send KDF to Mpeketoni: Article 241. Establishment of Defence Forces and Defence Council
(3) The Defence Forces-- (a) are responsible for the defence and protection of the sovereignty and territorial integrity of the Republic; (b) shall assist and cooperate with other authorities in situations of emergency or disaster, and report to the National Assembly whenever deployed in such circumstances; and (c) may be deployed to restore peace in any part of Kenya affected by unrest or instability only with the approval of the National Assembly.
They have been used before without approval!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Lolest! wrote:Looks like the President can't just send KDF to Mpeketoni: Article 241. Establishment of Defence Forces and Defence Council
"Section 32 of the Kenya Defence Forces Act allows the minister to send soldiers to help civil authorities restore peace in any part of the country affected by insecurity, instability or unrest."
KulaRaha wrote:McReggae wrote:McReggae wrote:Is this for real? Don't we have a police frequeny?
"OLE LENKU says attackers jammed Safaricom network in Mpeketoni before fresh attacks last night, says this is an elaborate war" From SafCom: Safaricom major hub in the area went down last night due to power outage, No KPLC and Generator ran out of fulel thus affecting all the neighbouring 14 sites..talk of being clueless!!! Rink for Safcom statement? I just called an Engineer working there, he went ahead to ask me.....what of the other three providers, what about the police frequency, sometimes Dengu is better off just not saying anything!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
@lonest exactly my point! AlphDoti wrote:...What happened to the procedure and conditions under which Kenya Army can get out of the barracks? The only time during which they can leave the barracks is during a "state of emergency" or "approval". They should not rape, or torture, or loot, or kill innocent women and children. They should not even burn business or residential property!! Otherwise, there'll be no difference between them and thugs...
Lolest! wrote:Robinhood wrote:
And who needs so take this decision? Ooh, its Raila!!! Someone put the guy under house arrest and the problem will go away pap!!
I mourn for Kenya. I mourn for the sheep who are slaughtered while the Sheppard is busy checking his red lines. Pole to our brothers mercilessly slaughtered by a ruthless enemy who seems to know only too well that we will do nothing to return the favour.
How I wish they could at least let us carry guns. That way the enemy will think twice. Oops, I forgot it's Raila doing this to us!!
Raila this, Raila that... I dare say Raila has made it easy for anyone to suspect him for such I dare also say Raila has brought to Kenya its second biggest security threat. Why am I even calling it second biggest? It should be the biggest! For if what they're trying to do succeeds, we could end up like Somalia. At that point, terrorist attacks and robberies will seem like child's play. And we'll live in camps in Tanzania and Uganda  ...if we survive to escape ke Yes, we have terrorism which is a major problem, but you do not make a situation better by bringing new big security threats! Ooh we will be like Somalia, Nigeria, Uganda - the refrain from everyone in power who fears a challenge. Precisely what Moi used to yap about as an excuse to clamp down on the opposition. But that's another story. You can suspect all you want, but the facts are on the table. You can choose to deal with the reality or do what makes you feel better but has zero impact on security of the country. Great men are not always wise, neither do the aged understand judgement...
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
McReggae wrote:KulaRaha wrote:McReggae wrote:McReggae wrote:Is this for real? Don't we have a police frequeny?
"OLE LENKU says attackers jammed Safaricom network in Mpeketoni before fresh attacks last night, says this is an elaborate war" From SafCom: Safaricom major hub in the area went down last night due to power outage, No KPLC and Generator ran out of fulel thus affecting all the neighbouring 14 sites..talk of being clueless!!! Rink for Safcom statement? I just called an Engineer working there, he went ahead to ask me.....what of the other three providers, what about the police frequency, sometimes Dengu is better off just not saying anything!!!! ...Did you see what PL tweeted about him...Ati his brain does not know what the mouth says...
McReggae wrote:Lolest! wrote:Looks like the President can't just send KDF to Mpeketoni: Article 241. Establishment of Defence Forces and Defence Council
Quote: (3) The Defence Forces-- (a) are responsible for the defence and protection of the sovereignty and territorial integrity of the Republic; (b) shall assist and cooperate with other authorities in situations of emergency or disaster, and report to the National Assembly whenever deployed in such circumstances; and (c) may be deployed to restore peace in any part of Kenya affected by unrest or instability only with the approval of the National Assembly.
They have been used before without approval!! 1. Operation Linda Mzungu 2. Garissa burning down of buildings and raping women 3. Westgate "demolition" and looting 4. ...
New attacks at Marenya, Poromoko villages