wazua Sun, Jun 28, 2026

70 Pages«<1920212223>»
Lamu/Mpeketoni
#201 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 3:17:29 PM

guru267 wrote:

I'm still wondering if the attackers were Al Shabab. Just because they had their flag doesn't mean they are.

They were Somali
They had the flag
They were speaking Somali
They spoke about KDF
Highly military trained
Highly weaponized

So how do these accounts bring any suspicion?

I know you think otherwise but this looked too amateur and poorly coordinated compared to the Westgate attack which killed more and was only carried out by 4 attackers. My guess is they are MRC, Al Shabab sympathizers.

#202 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 3:18:04 PM

B.Timer wrote:

As long as UHURU keeps Lenku, and Kimaiyo at their current positions, my thinking on the government's commitment to fighting insecurity and terrorism is that - it's not serious.

It looks more and more like Lenku was placed in that ministry for a reason. He is clueless on matters security. Whatever he mumles has always been "inserted" in his mouth by the Karangis and Gichangis!!!!
limanika
#203 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 3:18:45 PM

limanika wrote:
guru267 wrote:
limanika wrote:
Shouldn’t the county governments be aware of all the blind spots in their areas of jurisdiction? This was the main risk with devolution.

Security is the job of National Government not counties!

Any governor who thinks he has no responsibility whatsoever to liaise with / facilitate national government to assure security of his people who elected him is not worth that job. Weren’t county commissioners only posted recently amid great opposition and claims from cord we do not even need chiefs to coordinate security matters amid other duties on behalf of national government? Why all this double speak??

Another point of ignorance there, we have had county commisioners since the day Kiabki appointed, they were simply added more powers the other day!!!

How recent is recent! But that's beside the point. Did Cord support their appointment then and now? That's the crux of the matter!!!

You are now going and round the matter, even besides the county commisioners are you aware that we have county police commanders, the fact is that Security is a national function so stop trying trying to justify the shame in our security by blaming the county governments!!!

I rest my case. Next!
#204 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 3:21:40 PM

Ngogoyo wrote:
You can help victims of the Mpeketoni attack on M-Pesa Paybill No. 848484. Account Name: Mpeketoni

NO! before we send we want to know;

1. What is the government to whom we pay our taxes has done about this?
2. What is it doing to ensure no repeat?
3. What did they do when they received the distress call?

This money we will contribute will be like adding green twigs to burning fire. We need water to extinguish kabisa.

watu wamefariki, wengine wamepata majeraha - your main worry should be the money reaching the intended recipient, otherwise utangoja and none of your questions will be addressed - may be in a session paper or some other government propaganda.

ka unasaidia, saidia, ka hutaki wacha.

Exactly. That does not stop anybody from demanding answers from government. There will be a time for postmortem. For the immediate, help your brothers and sisters, good thing it is voluntary!!
Um Sayala
#205 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 3:23:01 PM

Ethnic cleansing

I dont know why you are pushing this agenda of ethnic cleansing. Whose interest do you want to serve?
I happen to have close relatives in Mpeketoni. They tried reaching me in the night, around 2250hrs but I didnt pick the phone(which was in silent mode).
Since morning I've been trying to call them but cd not reach them, partly that's why I cd not post a thing on wazua, esp on this thread.

IT IS not cleansing. I have spoken to them, they are safe but a relative of theirs is dead. The attackers separated men from women and children, then shot dead the men and slit their throats. They said they would not kill women and children the way our soldiers are doing in their land, SOMALIA. This is Al shaabab
"Peace is our profession, War is our business" ...Unknown
limanika
#206 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 3:23:10 PM

limanika wrote:
guru267 wrote:
limanika wrote:
Shouldn’t the county governments be aware of all the blind spots in their areas of jurisdiction? This was the main risk with devolution.

Any governor who thinks he has no responsibility whatsoever to liaise with / facilitate national government to assure security of his people who elected him is not worth that job. Weren’t county commissioners only posted recently amid great opposition and claims from cord we do not even need chiefs to coordinate security matters amid other duties on behalf of national government? Why all this double speak??

Another point of ignorance there, we have had county commisioners since the day Kiabki appointed, they were simply added more powers the other day!!!

How recent is recent! But that's beside the point. Did Cord support their appointment then and now? That's the crux of the matter!!!

You are now going and round the matter, even besides the county commisioners are you aware that we have county police commanders, the fact is that Security is a national function so stop trying trying to justify the shame in our security by blaming the county governments!!!
I rest my case. Next!
Ole Lenku
#207 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 3:28:50 PM

PK gives his views C&P
“With the increasing frequency and gravity of attacks, rising levels of crime and the failure of our security organs to guarantee Kenyans of their security is evident. In the past, we have heard strong statements on security after every attack. Unfortunately, these statements are often not followed by commensurate action. As I have stated before, strong words must be followed by tough action. This is often not the case and this attack is clear evidence of the continued failure of our security organs to live up to our expectations.
Read more at: http://www.standardmedia...tion-to-restore-security
#208 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 3:30:16 PM

guru267 wrote:

I'm still wondering if the attackers were Al Shabab. Just because they had their flag doesn't mean they are.

They were Somali
They had the flag
They were speaking Somali
They spoke about KDF
Highly military trained
Highly weaponized

So how do these accounts bring any suspicion?

I know you think otherwise but this looked too amateur and poorly coordinated compared to the Westgate attack which killed more and was only carried out by 4 attackers. My guess is they are MRC, Al Shabab sympathizers.

Reports say that these guys were way professional and better coordinated than Westgate attack!

Some even had military fatigues!
#209 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 3:30:44 PM

limanika wrote:
guru267 wrote:
limanika wrote:

I rest my case. Next!

...Even if the County governments wanted to help the national government, all their efforts would be shot down because the government is not keen on devolution. I am not sure on this, but I don't think Ole Lenku or top security chiefs have ever commented Dr Alfred Mutua for his efforts in subsidizing the security efforts of the national government.
#210 Posted : Monday, June 16, 2014 3:37:44 PM

limanika wrote:
My condolences to all affected. Why is Cord quick to blame the central government without mentioning the county government? Haven’t they always stated they want the national government to have nothing to do with counties? What is the Lamu county government saying. Shouldn’t the county governments be aware of all the blind spots in their areas of jurisdiction? This was the main risk with devolution.

My friend, Security was not devolved and lies squarely on the shoulders of the National Government.....

exactly. which is why I supported the govt's empowering of machifu na ghadhaliga

We cannot trust county govts with security
70 Pages«<1920212223>»