Lamu/Mpeketoni
Rank: Elder Joined: 6/2/2011 Posts: 4,824 Location: -1.2107, 36.8831
simonkabz wrote:ISORAIT! People can only hold up anger for so long! And i join you in saying, "WACHA SASA KINUKE. KAMA MBAYA, MBAYA! WANAUME NI KUPEANA HESHIMA"On that Saba saba day, i would prefer also Jubilee side to call for a rallies, at Nairobi's Nyayo Stadium, Nyeri's Ruring'u Stadium, Meru's Kinoru Stadium, Nakuru's Afraha Stadium and Eldoret's 64 stadium. Receive with simplicity everything that happens to you.” ― Rashi
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,335 Location: Masada
harrydre wrote:Swenani wrote:Impunity wrote:washiku wrote:Quote:CORD STATEMENT ON MPEKETONI Wish to remind Kenyans that it is the old KANU regime that was removed from power in 2002 that is back in full swing with an adult YK92 ruling ion the garb of a Jubilee coalition. Incapable of understanding the plight of the Kenyan people, it focuses on imaginery threats to security by CORD while Al Shabaab kill our people and take over police stations. Its own police force has turned guns on innocent Kenyans enjoying the World Cup in Kisumu. How can such a regime claim legitimacy? As we mourn those who lost their lives in last night viscious and merciless attack on innocent people in Mpeketoni in Lamu County by gunmen, we wish to state that it is the responsibility of the National government to ensure the safety of its citizens everywhere in the country. The ODM wishes those who were injured in the attack a quick recovery and calls on the government to move with speed and restore security in the area and other parts of the country faced with similar threats. Prof. P. Anyang' Nyong'o SG 16/06/14 In bad taste! Its like Mpeketoni attack was mentioned in passing(just a btw) Very suspicious.. Looking to capitalize here. I agree that YK92 should provide security to Kenyans but this was the wrong time to mention the YK92 duo! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Member Joined: 6/22/2011 Posts: 561 Location: House
ecstacy wrote:You can help victims of the Mpeketoni attack on M-Pesa Paybill No. 848484. Account Name: Mpeketoni NO! before we send we want to know; 1. What is the government to whom we pay our taxes has done about this? 2. What is it doing to ensure no repeat? 3. What did they do when they received the distress call? This money we will contribute will be like adding green twigs to burning fire. We need water to extinguish kabisa.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
very sad, condolences to the families affected. we are always fooled when we look at problems as belonging to others - mimi I have written to my mp voicing my disapproval, its not a big step and he will most probably never read my rants, but I imagine if majority of us pushed our representatives the government would feel the heat, lakini its always about them vs us - this shit is real, wait till it hits home and its your village that is attacked.
President Uhuru Kenyatta to lead Government delegation to Mpeketoni this afternoon. ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
McReggae wrote:jaggernaut wrote:McReggae wrote:Iexcusable, we should not look for scapegoats: The attackers came at 8 and terrorised till 1AM" a local chief tells @encanews. 5 hours? Was the government and our security systems busy watching all the 3 world cup matches. The govt did NOT respond to this attack sensibly. I gather that Mpeketoni is an isolated settlement. To the south and west, it's a jungle until Witu kms away. To the north, presumably the attackers access route, it's very sparsely populated until Hindi. To the east, it's the ocean suggesting that if the attack lasted hours, the govt would have surrounded Mpeketoni.... The police station was the first to be attacked, how were they to respond sensibly, unless govt flying in reinforcements?  @Jagguer, of cause I am talking about reinforcement....5hrs after the distress call nobody had gone to their rescue, our security is a big shame!!! The attack on Westgate last year started approximately at 12.30 pm but by 1.25 pm the authorities were still trying to work out what was going on. RECCE squad arrived Three and a half hours after the first shots were fired. If that kind of unacceptable delay in response can happen hapa in Nairobi imagine how long they would take to respond to a distress call at night in Mpeketoni! Don't get me wrong, i'm not trying to defend the police what i'm trying to bring out is that they never really stood a chance....especially with Kimaiyo at the helm. If there's anyone to be blamed here it should be the NIS Director General Michael Gichangi.....here should be sacked!
Ngogoyo wrote:ecstacy wrote:You can help victims of the Mpeketoni attack on M-Pesa Paybill No. 848484. Account Name: Mpeketoni NO! before we send we want to know; 1. What is the government to whom we pay our taxes has done about this? 2. What is it doing to ensure no repeat? 3. What did they do when they received the distress call? This money we will contribute will be like adding green twigs to burning fire. We need water to extinguish kabisa. watu wamefariki, wengine wamepata majeraha - your main worry should be the money reaching the intended recipient, otherwise utangoja and none of your questions will be addressed - may be in a session paper or some other government propaganda. ka unasaidia, saidia, ka hutaki wacha.
Not even 1 attacker injured, killed, captured ... surely! In the business world, everyone is paid in two coins - cash and experience. Take the experience first; the cash will come later - H Geneen
TAZ wrote:McReggae wrote:jaggernaut wrote:McReggae wrote:Iexcusable, we should not look for scapegoats: The attackers came at 8 and terrorised till 1AM" a local chief tells @encanews. 5 hours? Was the government and our security systems busy watching all the 3 world cup matches. The govt did NOT respond to this attack sensibly. I gather that Mpeketoni is an isolated settlement. To the south and west, it's a jungle until Witu kms away. To the north, presumably the attackers access route, it's very sparsely populated until Hindi. To the east, it's the ocean suggesting that if the attack lasted hours, the govt would have surrounded Mpeketoni.... The police station was the first to be attacked, how were they to respond sensibly, unless govt flying in reinforcements?  @Jagguer, of cause I am talking about reinforcement....5hrs after the distress call nobody had gone to their rescue, our security is a big shame!!! The attack on Westgate last year started approximately at 12.30 pm but by 1.25 pm the authorities were still trying to work out what was going on. RECCE squad arrived Three and a half hours after the first shots were fired. If that kind of unacceptable delay in response can happen hapa in Nairobi imagine how long they would take to respond to a distress call at night in Mpeketoni! Don't get me wrong, i'm not trying to defend the police what i'm trying to bring out is that they never really stood a chance....especially with Kimaiyo at the helm. If there's anyone to be blamed here it should be the NIS Director General Michael Gichangi.....here should be sacked! The security command structure is not the kawaida market mwizi!! mwizi!! shouts that result in the mob appearing impromptu. there is a command structure, but after the icc summons to the top commander - not many will want to put their a.. on the line - and so its waiting and waiting and more waiting till clear instructions come through. no need to blame the cops here they are victims hapa.
washiku wrote:Quote:CORD STATEMENT ON MPEKETONI Wish to remind Kenyans that it is the old KANU regime that was removed from power in 2002 that is back in full swing with an adult YK92 ruling ion the garb of a Jubilee coalition. Incapable of understanding the plight of the Kenyan people, it focuses on imaginery threats to security by CORD while Al Shabaab kill our people and take over police stations. Its own police force has turned guns on innocent Kenyans enjoying the World Cup in Kisumu. How can such a regime claim legitimacy? As we mourn those who lost their lives in last night viscious and merciless attack on innocent people in Mpeketoni in Lamu County by gunmen, we wish to state that it is the responsibility of the National government to ensure the safety of its citizens everywhere in the country. The ODM wishes those who were injured in the attack a quick recovery and calls on the government to move with speed and restore security in the area and other parts of the country faced with similar threats. Prof. P. Anyang' Nyong'o SG 16/06/14 mmhhhh.... i smell red coffee Even a BrOKeN clock is right twice a day
Lamu/Mpeketoni