Harambee stars off to Brazil courtesy of PORK
Alba
#21 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 4:32:45 PM

Alba wrote:
Classic case of misplaced priorities. Kenya is always withdrawing from youth tourneys due to lack of funds.

Thats why I laugh when I hear people say ati UK was a rugby player. And his sports minister Wario cannot advise him any better since he too is clueless about what it takes to build a succesful national team.

Who should dictate what Uhuru Kenyatta the man should prioritize with his money? Why should Wario advise him on what his dime should do? Come one man, tone your bile and get your facts right before you spill your verbal diarrhea.

Can you read ? No one said dictate. I said Wario should advise him. Or rather an astute sports minister should advise him

Uhuru claims he is doing this to promote football and raise the standards of the national team. He is dead wrong on that. You don't raise standards by sending the team to watch games.If anything that has the opposite effect. Thats why the reaction from social media among those who know football has been negative. If Uhuru is doing this to popularize himself among Harambee stars fans then he has failed miserably.Thats why he needs advice.

For one thing he is taking players away in the middle of the Kenya premier league when players should be training. I am sure even national coach Amrouche is not pleased with this.

- The players have been asking for friendlies which are crucial to test their tactics. Yet they are always told there is no money. If Kenya does not play friendlies soon, they will be embarassed by lesotho.
- The youth teams are always being withdrawn from tournaments. How can Kenya progress if you do not develop the youth.
- Fields are disappearing to land grabbers. Vijana mitaani have nowhere to sharpen their skills.
- The women's league has folded due to lack of finances.
- There are no youth development structures in Kenya which is why Kenya is useless at football.

If Uhuru wanted to endear himself to football fans he should have addressed some of these issues. Now he has exposed himself as a person who knows nothing about sports. And so has Wario.

Some of you are just too sycophantic to see logic. Or you simply know nothing about football.

Fans will not be elated to see players go to Brazil as spectators. But they would have been happy to see Uhuru come to the rescue of the national U17 team which was due to play S. Sudan but was withdrawn for lack of finances.
#22 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 4:39:38 PM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:
Classic case of misplaced priorities. Kenya is always withdrawing from youth tourneys due to lack of funds.

Thats why I laugh when I hear people say ati UK was a rugby player. And his sports minister Wario cannot advise him any better since he too is clueless about what it takes to build a succesful national team.

Who should dictate what Uhuru Kenyatta the man should prioritize with his money? Why should Wario advise him on what his dime should do? Come one man, tone your bile and get your facts right before you spill your verbal diarrhea.

Can you read ? No one said dictate. I said Wario should advise him.

Uhuru claims he is doing this to prmote football and raise the standards of the national team. He is dead wrong on that. You don't raise standards by sending the team to watch games.If anything that has the opposite effect. Thats why the reaction from social media among those who know football has been negative. If Uhuru is doing this to popularize himself among Harambee stars fans then he has failed miserably. Thats why he needs advice.

The players have been asking for friendlies which are crucial to test their tactics. the youth teams are always being withdrawn from tournaments. Fields are dissapearing to land grabbers. The women's league has folded due to lack of finances. If Uhuru wanted to endear himself to football fans he should have addressed these issues. Now he has exposed himself as a person who knows nothing about sports. And so has Wario.

It was a pledge done long ago, why are guys getting this thing wrong all the time?
#23 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 4:41:24 PM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:

Can you read ? No one said dictate. I said Wario should advise him.

Uhuru claims he is doing this to prmote football and raise the standards of the national team. He is dead wrong on that. You don't raise standards by sending the team to watch games.If anything that has the opposite effect. Thats why the reaction from social media among those who know football has been negative. If Uhuru is doing this to popularize himself among Harambee stars fans then he has failed miserably. Thats why he needs advice.

The players have been asking for friendlies which are crucial to test their tactics. the youth teams are always being withdrawn from tournaments. Fields are dissapearing to land grabbers. The women's league has folded due to lack of finances. If Uhuru wanted to ender himself to football fans he should have addressed these issues. Now he has exposed himself as a person who knows nothing about sports. And so has Wario.

Why should a govt employee advise the president on what to do with his money? If fields are disappearing then the land commission should solve that issue, that is not the role of the presidency. The existing fields are supposed to be rehabilitated by the county govt - again thats not for the president. The friendlies, whats the work of the KFF? Do you know what FIFA says about govt interference with the Football Federations in member countries? Again, get your facts right
Alba
#24 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 4:46:24 PM

Why should a govt employee advise the president on what to do with his money? If fields are disappearing then the land commission should solve that issue, that is not the role of the presidency. The existing fields are supposed to be rehabilitated by the county govt - again thats not for the president. The friendlies, whats the work of the KFF? Do you know what FIFA says about govt interference with the Football Federations in member countries? Again, get your facts right

Are you kidding ? Cabinet ministers are supposed to advise the president. They are supposed to be the experts to guide the president on policy. Tell me who else is close enough to advise the president on matters relating to sports if not the sports minister ?

Uhuru can resolve the land issue much faster simply by a presidential directive. I am sure you know that there is a lot of bureacracy and corruption at the land commision and nothing gets done. Why do you think land grabbing happens in the 1st place.

You clearly know nothing about football. FIFA does not forbid the government from paying for friendlies. It forbids them from appointing Federation officials.

Funny how you keep telling me to get my facts straight yet all your facts are dead wrongLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Go look at what FIFA actually forbids before talking. In fact in most African countries, the government pays the expenses of the national team.
#25 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 4:47:12 PM

Alba wrote:
Alba wrote:

Can you read ? No one said dictate. I said Wario should advise him. Or rather an astute sports minister should advise him

Uhuru claims he is doing this to promote football and raise the standards of the national team. He is dead wrong on that. You don't raise standards by sending the team to watch games.If anything that has the opposite effect. Thats why the reaction from social media among those who know football has been negative. If Uhuru is doing this to popularize himself among Harambee stars fans then he has failed miserably.Thats why he needs advice.

For one thing he is taking players away in the middle of the Kenya premier league when players should be training. I am sure even national coach Amrouche is not pleased with this.

- The players have been asking for friendlies which are crucial to test their tactics. Yet they are always told there is no money.
- The youth teams are always being withdrawn from tournaments. How can Kenya progress if you do not develop the youth.
- Fields are disappearing to land grabbers. Vijana mitaani have nowhere to sharpen their skills.
- The women's league has folded due to lack of finances.
- There are no youth development structures in Kenya which is why Kenya is useless at football.

If Uhuru wanted to endear himself to football fans he should have addressed these issues. Now he has exposed himself as a person who knows nothing about sports. And so has Wario.

Some of you are just too sycophantic to see logic.

One word, bile (machungu). Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly So Ouru is responsible for the incompetence of the Kenyan FA? Your bile betrays you!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Wacha watu walipiwe trip wajienjoy wacheni upus!

Alba
#26 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 4:49:28 PM

Kratos wrote:

One word, bile (machungu). Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly So Ouru is responsible for the incompetence of the Kenyan FA? Your bile betrays you!Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Wacha watu walipiwe trip wajienjoy wacheni upus!

Sorry but I have to laugh at this. You think I feel bad because the players are going to Brazil ?
Go look at the reaction of football fans. You can see for yourself at the link below

http://www.futaa.com/foo...arambee-stars-to-brazil

Uhuru is making a clown of himself. If anything he should listen to the reaction in social media if he wants to endear himself to football fans.

Believe me. If Uhuru had come to the rescue of the U17 team which was withdrawn, all football fans including myself would be cheering him.

But you can carry on with your sycophancy if you want to
Alba
#27 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 4:55:22 PM

I am so glad we are having this discussion. Most people mouthing off here are people who generally do not follow local sports. Some do not even follow sports at all. They do not know what it takes to build a successful national team. They think sending a team to watch games in Brazil will make the national team better. I am glad to have a chance to educate y'all.

I just hope that Uhuru advisors are reading the reaction in social media among real football fans not psycophants. I personally do not care about politics. But I want to see the national team succeed. This is not an CORD vs Jubilee issue. Uhuru said this is about making the national team better. Lets stick to those facts in this debate.
#28 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 5:02:31 PM

Alba wrote:

Are you kidding ? Cabinet ministers are supposed to advise the president. They are supposed to be the experts to guide the president on policy. Tell me who else is close enough to advise the president on matters relating to sports if not the sports minister ?

Uhuru can resolve the land issue much faster simply by a presidential directive. I am sure you know that there is a lot of bureacracy and corruption at the land commision and nothing gets done. Why do you think land grabbing happens in the 1st place.

You clearly know nothing about football. FIFA does not forbid the government from paying for friendlies. It forbids them from appointing Federation officials.

Funny how you keep telling me to get my facts straight yet all your facts are dead wrongLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Go look at what FIFA actually forbids before talking. In fact in most African countries, the government pays the expenses of the national team.

A sports minister is supposed to advice on policy that will better sports and such like events in the country. NOT to tell the president "no...dont send these people to Brazil buy them a field" or "Coarse Brazil to play with Kenya". Do you even know how that sounds? Who is that dying to play with Harambee Stars?

Football in Kenya is in a turmoil because of those officials at KFF not because of Uhuru or the lack of fields, if you want to see this reality, watch the schools sporting events. Why have Rugby Volleyball and Athletics succeeded? KFF should gets its house in order. Am sorry but Uhuru cannot be blamed for this. Sasa enda kwa thread ingine ukamtafute huko
#29 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 5:06:13 PM

Alba wrote:
I am so glad we are having this discussion. Most people mouthing off here are people who generally do not follow local sports. Some do not even follow sports at all. They do not know what it takes to build a successful national team. They think sending a team to watch games in Brazil will make the national team better. I am glad to have a chance to educate y'all.

I just hope that Uhuru advisors are reading the reaction in social media among real football fans not psycophants. I personally do not care about politics. But I want to see the national team succeed. This is not an CORD vs Jubilee issue. Uhuru said this is about making the national team better. Lets stick to those facts in this debate.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Nani, get off your high donkey, if this is not about politics then I don't see why you're even commenting about uhuru and how he wants to use his own personal cash( hope you understand that is not your cash) Calling people sycophants and all manner of names does not make you less of a sycophant yourself.
Wacha harambee stars wajienjoy, stop pretending as if if he had sponsored the under 17 team they would have won the next world cup!
By the way hio link yako, does it mean commenting there makes them more of football fans than the rest of us?

Again, your bile betrays you, yet you "try"so hard to conceal the obvious.

Alba
#30 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 5:10:18 PM

A sports minister is supposed to advice on policy that will better sports and such like events in the country. NOT to tell the president "no...dont send these people to Brazil buy them a field". Do you even know how that sounds? Football in Kenya is in a turmoil because of those officials at KFF not because of Uhuru or the lack of fields, if you want to see this reality, watch the schools sporting events. Why have Rugby Volleyball and Athletics succeeded? KFF should gets its house in order. Am sorry but Uhuru cannot be blamed for this. Sasa enda kwa thread ingine ukamtafute huko

You are basically saying that a president should only surround himself with people who only tell him "YES". In other words surround himself with sycophants. That is a recipe for disaster. A leader should surround himself with people who are willing to correct him and tell him what it will take to make himself popular with a certain demographic.

Football in Kenya is in turmoil for a lot of reasons not just KFF or FKF. Clearly you know nothing about football. Kids growing up today will never be good at football if they have no fields to sharpen their skills on. The reason Kenya produced much better footballers in the 1970s and 1980s is precisly because these guys grew up in an era of abundant open spaces. Back then every estate in Eastlands and even middle class estates always had open spaces for play.

I am not blaming Uhuru for anything. Stop putting words in my mouth for once. I am saying sending players to Brazil does not help raise the standards of football. I am saying there is a lot more that a president can do to raise the standards. Sorry but sending players to Brazil is not one of them. Lets stick to the issue at hand.

There are certain leaders in Kenya who are actually doing things to improve sports: Mutua in Machakos has built a stadium. This will actually raise the profile of the league by bringing games to Machakos.
Alba
#31 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 5:21:42 PM

Kratos wrote:
Alba wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Nani, get off your high donkey, if this is not about politics then I don't see why you're even commenting about uhuru and how he wants to use his own personal cash( hope you understand that is not your cash) Calling people sycophants and all manner of names does not make you less of a sycophant yourself.
Wacha harambee stars wajienjoy, stop pretending as if if he had sponsored the under 17 team they would have won the next world cup!
By the way hio link yako, does it mean commenting there makes them more of football fans than the rest of us?

You are so clownish. This whole thread if about what the fact that Uhuru is sending players to Brazil. Thats why I am talking about Uhuru.

This is not just about Uhuru's cash. This is about the fact that he says this will raise the standards of football. My claim is that it will not. I do not care what Uhuru does with his cash. But I do know that sending players to Brazil will not raise standards. Sorry but those are facts.

In fact sending players to laze around in the middle of the Kenya premier league is detrimental to the teams. Players need to stay in shape throughout the season. They need to stay in shape because Harambee stars has some big matches coming up.

Stop posting nonsense. You expose your ignorance by saying the U17 team would have gone to the world cup. They were not trying to go to the world cup. This is about the fact that Kenya constantly ignores youth teams then seeks quick short-cuts to success. You cannot succeed unless you build youth teams.

I posted that link to show you the reaction of football fans. If Uhuru wanted to appeal to football fans to increase his voter base then he has failed. Remember. Uhuru does not have to appeal to sycophants such as yourself. He knows you will vote for him nop matter what. What he was trying to do is appeal to people outside his base. In which case he has failed miserably. Thats why he needs advice.

Finally people like you who know nothing about sports should just be quiet, sit in a corner and learn.

You can talk about bile all you want. I am sticking to discussing the sports aspect of this. In fact if I was against Uhuru I would never say anything. I would just be quiet and let him continue to commit such clueless errors. But I do want Kenya football to succeed which is why I am speaking here.
#32 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 5:27:22 PM

It is a REWARD as pledged for winning the CECAFA trophy after years in the cold and done using someone's PERSONAL funds. These haters can fCUCK off!!!

Greater still, these haters can do an MPESA harambee with their PERSONAL funds and action all these manenoz they talking.
#33 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 5:37:36 PM

Alba wrote:
Kratos wrote:
Alba wrote:

You are so clownish. This whole thread if about what the fact that Uhuru is sending players to Brazil. Thats why I am talking about Uhuru.

This is not just about Uhuru's cash. This is about the fact that he says this will raise the standards of football. My claim is that it will not. I do not care what Uhuru does with his cash. But I do know that sending players to Brazil will not raise standards. Sorry but those are facts.

In fact sending players to laze around in the middle of the Kenya premier league is detrimental to the teams. Players need to stay in shape throughout the season. They need to stay in shape because Harambee stars has some big matches coming up.

Stop posting nonsense. You expose your ignorance by saying the U17 team would have gone to the world cup. They were not trying to go to the world cup. This is about the fact that Kenya constantly ignores youth teams then seeks quick short-cuts to success. You cannot succeed unless you build youth teams.

I posted that link to show you the reaction of football fans. If Uhuru wanted to appeal to football fans to increase his voter base then he has failed. Remember. Uhuru does not have to appeal to sycophants such as yourself. He knows you will vote for him nop matter what. What he was trying to do is appeal to people outside his base. In which case he has failed miserably. Thats why he needs advice.

Finally people like you who know nothing about sports should just be quiet, sit in a corner and learn.

You can talk about bile all you want. I am sticking to discussing the sports aspect of this. In fact if I was against Uhuru I would never say anything. I would just be quiet and let him continue to commit such clueless errors. But I do want Kenya football to succeed which is why I am speaking here.

Yes people like me know nothing about sports your highness alba since you know me so well. When all is said and done bado inaitwa BILE no matter how you sugar coat it with your pretentious authority on local sports.

Alba
#34 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 6:18:41 PM

Kratos wrote:

Yes people like me know nothing about sports your highness alba since you know me so well. When all is said and done bado inaitwa BILE no matter how you sugar coat it with your pretentious authority on local sports.

If saying I have bile makes you happy then suit yourself. To me hiyo ni utoto and it does not bother me one bit. If you think I have bile then so be it. I do not care. I don't even know why I would have bile. But whatever ............

But the issue at hand is as follows: Uhuru says that the trip to Brazil will raise the standards of football. I say that not only is that not true but may actually have detrimental effects to teams in the premier league. Such solutions may actually be detrimental to player development because they should be focused on training.

Siasa aside, that is the issue at hand. Does anyone here actually think that sending players to Brazil will raise standards ? If so then come and have a grown up debate.
#35 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 6:45:28 PM

It is a REWARD as pledged for winning the CECAFA trophy after years in the cold

Debate closed.

A promise is a Debt,doesn't matter how silly it sounds.smile

nendeni mkawatch ball.
Alba
#36 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 7:03:00 PM

It is a REWARD as pledged for winning the CECAFA trophy after years in the cold [/color][/size]

Debate closed.

nendeni mkawatch ball.

Kysse

This is what Uhuru promised when Kenya won the cecafa cup

He assured that the Government would work with other stakeholders to bring transformational management in football.

President Kenyatta reiterated his directive that lotteries in the country be dedicated to promotion of sports, arts and the environment from January next year.

Cabinet Secretary Sports Arts and Culture Dr. Hassan Wario said his ministry was committed to promoting youth talent in the country.

“Youth focus on what they do best – sports. Let us not introduce politics in the administration of sports in the country,” the minister said.

Source:
http://www.sportsnewsare...rs-following-cecafa-win

This is the point I am making. There is a lot that president and the govt can do to raise standards of football. The points he raised above are very good and is what is needed.

Hiyo mambo ya promising to send team to Brazil is something that is coming up just now.

If Kusema na kutenda is true basi wacha atende the parts in blue above.
#37 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 7:03:01 PM

Debate closed.

nendeni mkawatch ball.

#38 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 7:17:27 PM

Alba wrote:

A sports minister is supposed to advice on policy that will better sports and such like events in the country. NOT to tell the president "no...dont send these people to Brazil buy them a field". Do you even know how that sounds? Football in Kenya is in a turmoil because of those officials at KFF not because of Uhuru or the lack of fields, if you want to see this reality, watch the schools sporting events. Why have Rugby Volleyball and Athletics succeeded? KFF should gets its house in order. Am sorry but Uhuru cannot be blamed for this. Sasa enda kwa thread ingine ukamtafute huko

You are basically saying that a president should only surround himself with people who only tell him "YES". In other words surround himself with sycophants. That is a recipe for disaster. A leader should surround himself with people who are willing to correct him and tell him what it will take to make himself popular with a certain demographic.

Football in Kenya is in turmoil for a lot of reasons not just KFF or FKF. Clearly you know nothing about football. Kids growing up today will never be good at football if they have no fields to sharpen their skills on. The reason Kenya produced much better footballers in the 1970s and 1980s is precisly because these guys grew up in an era of abundant open spaces. Back then every estate in Eastlands and even middle class estates always had open spaces for play.

I am not blaming Uhuru for anything. Stop putting words in my mouth for once. I am saying sending players to Brazil does not help raise the standards of football. I am saying there is a lot more that a president can do to raise the standards. Sorry but sending players to Brazil is not one of them. Lets stick to the issue at hand.

There are certain leaders in Kenya who are actually doing things to improve sports: Mutua in Machakos has built a stadium. This will actually raise the profile of the league by bringing games to Machakos.

FKF KFF yote sawa, a cut of the same cloth. There are no rugby pitches everywhere but we have great rugby players. Rugby is predominantly played in schs not in fields out of nowhere. Our runners practice in sch playing fields, but they excel anyway. Football in Kenya is f*d'up by those tribal clubs and their members, so don't expect any miracle. Going to Brazil may or may not help the players but its a gift that the president felt they deserved. Sasa wewe hauna say its his money he chooses what to do with it.
#39 Posted : Saturday, June 14, 2014 7:44:59 PM

Alba wrote:

This is what Uhuru promised when Kenya won the cecafa cup

He assured that the Government would work with other stakeholders to bring transformational management in football.

President Kenyatta reiterated his directive that lotteries in the country be dedicated to promotion of sports, arts and the environment from January next year.

Cabinet Secretary Sports Arts and Culture Dr. Hassan Wario said his ministry was committed to promoting youth talent in the country.

“Youth focus on what they do best – sports. Let us not introduce politics in the administration of sports in the country,” the minister said.

Source:
http://www.sportsnewsare...rs-following-cecafa-win

Where is your link Ecstasy?

Alba
#40 Posted : Sunday, June 15, 2014 5:36:18 PM

[quote=Alba][quote=murchr]

FKF KFF yote sawa, a cut of the same cloth. There are no rugby pitches everywhere but we have great rugby players. Rugby is predominantly played in schs not in fields out of nowhere. Our runners practice in sch playing fields, but they excel anyway. Football in Kenya is f*d'up by those tribal clubs and their members, so don't expect any miracle. Going to Brazil may or may not help the players but its a gift that the president felt they deserved. Sasa wewe hauna say its his money he chooses what to do with it.

Rugby is a completely different animal. You do not have to practise your rugby skills as much as you do in football. There have been numerous cases of players who never played rugby in secondary school and still excelled. For example the Kenya women's sevens team consists almost entirely of players who had never touched a rugby ball until after they finished form 4. If you are big or have speed or are very agile or if you are the kind of person who is not scared of delivering adn receiving big hits then you can excel. I know players who played for the Kenya XV team who had never played in secondary school. One player (Mwololo) became so good that he was invited to the UK for trials. Yet he had never played rugby until he was almost 20. But his breathtaking speed is what carried him.

Football is the exact opposite. Football relies entirely on muscle memory and skill development. You simply cannot learn how to kick a ball at age 18 and expect to succeed. Those who have been playing their whole lives and sharpening their skills every day are the ones who succeed. yet 60% of Nairobians live in slums with no fields. Many of them do not go to secondary school anyway due to lack of funds so its not as if they have an alternate place to play.

With regard to football being messed up by tribal clubs, you are talking absolute nonsense. In fact Kenya football thrived in the 1970s and 1980s when the tribal element was stronger. This was the era of teams like GEMA, Luo Union, Maragoli, Abaluhya, Abeingo etc. People like you know jack squat about Kenya football and its history.

There are myriad reasons why football standards in Kenya are low but tribal clubs are not one of them. Today members of every ethnic group play for these clubs and support these clubs. You need to put on your thinking hat and come up with good logic. Start by telling us why so called tribal clubs have messed up football rather than just making assertions that have no basis .