wazua Thu, Jun 18, 2026

8 Pages«<34567>»
Safaricom Kshs 15bn Security Contract.
#41 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 6:26:14 PM

I didn't vote for jubilee and I am not their supporter but on this one the president is on the right track.

To the experts on big time corruption, kindly explain how this one is supposed to work. The main shareholders of safcom (GoK and Vodacom) met some senior state house operatives and cut a deal to get this big tender. Once the govt pays safcom using spectrum, the corrupt officers get their cut (of the spectrum I guess).

It was a big mistake to introduce the African to this thing called democracy. UMK should put his foot down on this one and ignore everyone including court orders.

Like @masukuma said, this thing will deter the small time crooks and change the whole dynamics of fighting crime in Kenya.

If Safcom delivers this project, who knows, other African govts might come calling. It could be the one deal that transforms a local company into a respected global service provider.
#42 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 9:47:00 PM

I didn't vote for jubilee and I am not their supporter but on this one the president is on the right track.

To the experts on big time corruption, kindly explain how this one is supposed to work. The main shareholders of safcom (GoK and Vodacom) met some senior state house operatives and cut a deal to get this big tender. Once the govt pays safcom using spectrum, the corrupt officers get their cut (of the spectrum I guess).

It was a big mistake to introduce the African to this thing called democracy. UMK should put his foot down on this one and ignore everyone including court orders.

Like @masukuma said, this thing will deter the small time crooks and change the whole dynamics of fighting crime in Kenya.

If Safcom delivers this project, who knows, other African govts might come calling. It could be the one deal that transforms a local company into a respected global service provider.
exactly!! this is how you build local companies - gava is the only thing that can build local companies to enable them to trade with others. Microsoft was built by US gava, Huaweii was built by China gava. Sisi tunapenda kununua vitu nje sana... we love brands that sound good but deny us of much needed revenue. think about it - if safcom got this... the money will be profits to share holders and even gava. that is how people use taxes to build themselves.Let's eat our own friking dog food bwana. No one will ever trust you if your own country cannot trust you. the greatest tragedy year before last year is that we were so willing to pay Safran Morpho 9 billion.... an amount that would build a quarter of thika road... 9 billion!! we were having beef about who owns symphony which as asking for 3. something billion... ati NANI ANAKULA? boss people are not in business to give free services or to be limited by a certain psychological upper limit to profits. Kwanza when internationals smell blood... they will be sharks and will kula you proper!! hata kama ni corruption - local corruption is better than international corruption... people buy large houses (construction) buy cars e.t.c. it's not the best but i would rather that we have that than giving a large amount of our taxes to another country.
no one will build kenya except us!! let's get that through our thick skulls.
#43 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 10:20:53 PM

the way I see it... Kenya will never be able to procure anything.... too much siasa. if a local company is picked siasa... we just want big names here. Who cares if it is hackable? it's mere presence will stop lots and lots of petty crimes but we would rather protect 'public' funds and cry when we are attacked - when asked for solutions we shout - ensure that security is headed by the right person... kwani ni Ole Lenku's replacement atafanya kazi ya makarao hao wote wa D? When solutions are prescribed we fight them.... Kenya will never be able to procure anything from Kenyans because of siasa.
People need to understand one thing - THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH MAKING MONEY!! YOU DON'T SUPPLY GAVA SO THAT YOU JUST BREAK EVEN! considering the length of time it takes them to pay for stuff (IEBC bado haijalipa watu wa elections) there is a problem when people in GAVA make money off kandarasis but there is no problem with picking a Local implementer even if a cheaper one is available out there. We quote US or UK like they are our peers!! you guys have an economy less than the enconomy of Wyoming the 2nd last state in the US and you still compare yourselves to them? SERIOUSLY!! MTU WA KIBERA ANASEMA HATAKI TOYOTA BECAUSE WATU WA RUNDA WANAENDESHA BMW? Bure Kabisa Mafi ya Kuku

My thoughts! How else do they want security fought? IG & Ole Lenku with guns on the streets?

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

The US have been accused of worldwide phone-tapping, are they really any better than the Chinese....

Tell them
#44 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 10:29:19 PM

mpobiz wrote:
Can't we all wait for some details to come out of this parliamentary comitee . Lets not forget that this single sourcing was done because it was a security issue and some details can't be given to the public .

Yeah, even Anglofleecing was a security issue and some details can't be given to the public .

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Yeah.....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

That's true and you can thank your yes vote in the new constitution. Its good you can question before a project starts or gets paid for. Most details will be revealed at the committee.
#45 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 11:01:46 PM

exactly!! this is how you build local companies - gava is the only thing that can build local companies to enable them to trade with others. Microsoft was built by US gava, Huaweii was built by China gava. Sisi tunapenda kununua vitu nje sana... we love brands that sound good but deny us of much needed revenue. think about it - if safcom got this... the money will be profits to share holders and even gava. that is how people use taxes to build themselves.Let's eat our own friking dog food bwana. No one will ever trust you if your own country cannot trust you. the greatest tragedy year before last year is that we were so willing to pay Safran Morpho 9 billion.... an amount that would build a quarter of thika road... 9 billion!! we were having beef about who owns symphony which as asking for 3. something billion... ati NANI ANAKULA? boss people are not in business to give free services or to be limited by a certain psychological upper limit to profits. Kwanza when internationals smell blood... they will be sharks and will kula you proper!! hata kama ni corruption - local corruption is better than international corruption... people buy large houses (construction) buy cars e.t.c. it's not the best but i would rather that we have that than giving a large amount of our taxes to another country.
no one will build kenya except us!! let's get that through our thick skulls.

@frm its good you have brought one of the best angles of looking at this thing. that of a safaricom investor and supporter of brand Kenya. If this thing sails through safcom shares will sour.
According to frm this might be the start of the journey of safcom making it to fortune 500.
#46 Posted : Friday, June 13, 2014 2:43:13 AM

we could start by providing the cops with uniform, better housing, cars and fuel for the same. The camera system is a good compliment for better policing - lakini we have not even tackled the most basic

Care to explain how that well dressed uniformed police man who's living in a mansion and drives a full tank BMW X will fight crime where/when he has no intelligence or communication equipment. When we talk of "intelligence" What do we mean? And just as a by the way? Wewe tu ndio haujajua that the govt has leased cars for the cops?

Ole Lenku wrote:
Jubilee has all these big ideas which sound so futuristic and advanced but often misplaced in context. This is another one which sounds good in Australia, U.S or Canada but is a poor choice for Kenya.

You need to go back to the bush and stay there if you will/cannot conform with the reality of the day. Kenya is moving fwd not back

@Masukush has laid out all well and clear. By the way, those big companies that many of you feel should be given the tender because they "deserve" it usually have several politicians and big bellied individuals who also eat. In this case am of the opinion the committe at parliament is out to "eat" that allowance plus lobbying money.

Quick Question...those here on wazua who keep on complaining about eating, how much of yours is available to eat? Kazi iendelee!
#47 Posted : Friday, June 13, 2014 9:08:20 AM

Upuzi...where are those Kidero's camera?

Mtu Biz
#48 Posted : Friday, June 13, 2014 9:48:41 AM

"Democratic space"
NKT!
Sola Scriptura

gmg
#49 Posted : Friday, June 13, 2014 10:21:15 AM

initially china was to fund the project if it was to be implemented by a chinese company. the two chinese competing firms were ZTE and Huawei. The contract was won by ZTE but was later nullified by procurement tribunal.What amazes me is we kenyas prefer foreigners? si afadhali SAFCOM ipate n akina wanjikus who have invested in Safcom wapate kitu.
Pedes
#50 Posted : Friday, June 13, 2014 10:58:05 AM

Surveillance systems are good, human beings are better. The Israelis have known this, the US is just beginning to.
If you stay ready, no need to get ready.
8 Pages«<34567>»