wazua Tue, Dec 3, 2024

East Africa Community budgets comparison
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 9:30:08 AM

East Africa Community Budgets Comparison in KES.

Kenya at 1.8 Trillion.
TZ at 1.4 trillion
UG at kitu 400 Billion
Rwanda at aroung 250 Billion

Kwani UG and Rwanda have economies the size of Machakos county?

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

#2 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 9:59:15 AM

Kenya at 1.8 Trillion.
TZ at 1.4 trillion
UG at kitu 400 Billion

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

it's all about the following things if you ask me

1. number of people in that country
2. years of stability of a country
3. access to the ocean (actually how many people live close to an ocean in your country is a factor)

Forget all those nonsense about oh political leadership... oh... sijui what!! kwanza hiyo mambo ya access to a port is everything. it determines the economies of states in the US within the US (http://www.bea.gov/scb/pdf/2011/07%20July/0711_gdp-state.pdf). Minerals and other natural raw materials also boost a country's GDP regardless of leadership.
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 10:07:12 AM

Kenya at 1.8 Trillion.
TZ at 1.4 trillion
UG at kitu 400 Billion

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

3. access to the ocean (actually how many people live close to an ocean in your country is a factor)

Forget all those nonsense about oh political leadership... oh... sijui what!! kwanza hiyo mambo ya access to a port is everything. it determines the economies of states in the US within the US (http://www.bea.gov/scb/pdf/2011/07%20July/0711_gdp-state.pdf). Minerals and other natural raw materials also boost a country's GDP regardless of leadership.

Going by you assumptions/arguments, then TZ should have a higher GDP than Kenya
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 10:39:05 AM

TZ is a stone age nation with cavemen living there...even that 1.4T is fake.
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 10:40:45 AM

Kenya at 1.8 Trillion.
TZ at 1.4 trillion
UG at kitu 400 Billion

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Are you sure of the Tz one? Last I checked they were way way behind, na mbali sana.
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 10:45:28 AM

lol! Having interacted with many, the only East Africans that appear potentially sharp are the South Sudanese..... Gai what am I saying?
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 10:55:28 AM

Kenya at 1.8 Trillion.
TZ at 1.4 trillion
UG at kitu 400 Billion

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Are you sure of the Tz one? Last I checked they were way way behind, na mbali sana.

You can correct me, I overheard from one of the bush FM stations sprouting out everyday!

#8 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 11:00:34 AM

Must be 1.4T TZS...which is about 700B
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 11:13:26 AM

Must be 1.4T TZS...which is about 700B

1.4 Tzs ===70 B Kshs or thereabouts
whiteowl
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 11:16:09 AM

Kenya at 1.8 Trillion.
TZ at 1.4 trillion
UG at kitu 400 Billion

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

I beg to differ. its all about the GDP,the actual wealth a country generates with its industries. You might be very tiny geographically n have no direct access to the port but have a huge output n hence a humongous budget.
kryptonite
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 12:09:20 PM

Kenya at 1.8 Trillion.
TZ at 1.4 trillion
UG at kitu 400 Billion

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

TZ figure might be correct. Last estimates in October 2013 had them projecting a $12.39 billion budget (circa Ksh1 trillion). Seems the figure was adjusted upwards.

Watu hawalali
The harder you work, the luckier you get
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 12:31:06 PM

lol! Having interacted with many, the only East Africans that appear potentially sharp are the South Sudanese..... Gai what am I saying?

Seem's that "coutryman drink" didn't kill you as you are still drinking it. Tanzanians and Ugandans are farely sharp and compare well with Kenyans. The difference is that Kenyans have grown up in a country whose limited resources has driven its people to be hyper competitive.

1.4T budget for Tz however does sound quite high.
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 3:49:59 PM

whiteowl wrote:
Kenya at 1.8 Trillion.
TZ at 1.4 trillion
UG at kitu 400 Billion

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

I beg to differ. its all about the GDP,the actual wealth a country generates with its industries. You might be very tiny geographically n have no direct access to the port but have a huge output n hence a humongous budget.

yes but years of stability affect that as well. not new countries like these ones of ours. On TZ it's a conundrum why they are not ahead of kenya. perhaps it's because the majority of our population is within 100kms of the railway? TZ's population is well distributed.
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 4:40:47 PM

Obi 1 Kanobi wrote:

Seem's that "coutryman drink" didn't kill you as you are still drinking it. Tanzanians and Ugandans are farely sharp and compare well with Kenyans. The difference is that Kenyans have grown up in a country whose limited resources has driven its people to be hyper competitive.

1.4T budget for Tz however does sound quite high.

"potentially sharp", please note. Good brains, terrible culture.
whiteowl
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 5:01:50 PM

whiteowl wrote:
Kenya at 1.8 Trillion.
TZ at 1.4 trillion
UG at kitu 400 Billion

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

yes but years of stability affect that as well. not new countries like these ones of ours. On TZ it's a conundrum why they are not ahead of kenya. perhaps it's because the majority of our population is within 100kms of the railway? TZ's population is well distributed.

TZ guys are way relaxed n Kenyans are quite the opposite, entrepreneurial n I think that's why these guys are scared of the EA integration coz Kenyans will take over all the businesses while they're chillaxing.anyway that's just my opinion
vastcapital
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 5:09:39 PM

Kenya at 1.8 Trillion.
TZ at 1.4 trillion
UG at kitu 400 Billion

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Very typical of Kenyans!!! they often choose to see themselves as the big boys!...but how big are you when you lead in the smallest cluster. Bure kabisa...
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 5:47:26 PM

vastcapital wrote:

Kenya at 1.8 Trillion.
TZ at 1.4 trillion
UG at kitu 400 Billion

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

Very typical of Kenyans!!! they often choose to see themselves as the big boys!...but how big are you when you lead in the smallest cluster. Bure kabisa...

In the words of Museveni, "what pride is there in being the tallest dwarf?"
shocks
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 6:44:34 PM

Kenya at 1.8 Trillion.
TZ at 1.4 trillion
UG at kitu 400 Billion

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

This are the right figures.

Kenya KSh1.8tr
Tanzania TSh19.5tr KSh1.014tr
Uganda USh14tr KSh480.8bl
Rwanda Rwf1.7tr KSh220.5bl
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 7:28:08 PM

shocks wrote:

Kenya at 1.8 Trillion.
TZ at 1.4 trillion
UG at kitu 400 Billion

d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

This are the right figures.

Kenya KSh1.8tr
Tanzania TSh19.5tr KSh1.014tr
Uganda USh14tr KSh480.8bl
Rwanda Rwf1.7tr KSh220.5bl

Thanks for correction....we good now need to be able to fund that without overburdening the tax payer.