Safaricom Kshs 15bn Security Contract.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
mkeiy wrote:nakujua wrote:I agree the whole deal is fishy, I think the money could have been spent in other areas of security; lakini if you look at the city of leicester one will notice a big infrastructure difference with the city of Nairobi, plus it does not matter where you source the technology one government or the other will have access to the same, its a matter of the east or the west having access. @ nakujua, Which money is this? The 15Bn? Are you saying the gov't should be spending money they don't have? You see, the gov't is NOT paying any hard penny. kwani its a grant, either way it does not matter - we have to pay back whoever puts in the cash now. its a big project as envisioned now, and I think its a bit of an overstretch putting together the whole thing considering that we do not have the experience and have failed so far in smaller scoped similar projects
TAZ wrote:Ole Lenku wrote:TAZ wrote:Ceinz wrote: Not forgetting that in August 2010, Safaricom selected Hauwei a its vendor of choice for the supply of its core network requirements and roll out of the 4G Network.
Huawei, like all other leading Chinese telecommunication companies, is linked directly to the Chinese military. In essence the 'Safaricom' contract means we are outsourcing our surveillance and intelligence to the Chinese government.
This part doesn't make sense to me at all......so the Chinese will use a company largely owned by the British to infiltrate our security systems? Huawei is not owned largely by Brits, get your facts correct. I'm talking about Safaricom! Oh, in that case let me help you. 1. Safaricom uses Huawei hardware and software for such instatallations. 2. Huawei is a Chinese company heavily linked to the Chinese military. 3. Since Chinese companies developed the systems, they can easily access whatever information collected from them. I hope you see the link.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
Jump-steady wrote:mkeiy wrote:nakujua wrote:I agree the whole deal is fishy, I think the money could have been spent in other areas of security; lakini if you look at the city of leicester one will notice a big infrastructure difference with the city of Nairobi, plus it does not matter where you source the technology one government or the other will have access to the same, its a matter of the east or the west having access. @ nakujua, Which money is this? The 15Bn? Are you saying the gov't should be spending money they don't have? You see, the gov't is NOT paying any hard penny. @ Ceinz, You are talking of camera prices. I find that intellectually worrying. How come you've not thought of the independent infrastructure connecting all the cameras, walkie-talkies and the command center? All in all, its hard to do anything in this country. ANYTHING. Even sticking on the right lane on the highway is hard. All strategic military/security ware manufacturers have a GOVERNMENT backing. How else would those security firms be investing in stuff that the public won't consume? Building military tanks for Rhino charge? Dudes,what's wrong with your keyboards? If Lockheed develops a military jet, first they do so with the backing of US gov't. No gov't support, no development. Does it mean as a country, if we need a military jet, we'll have to develop our own. To all those against the project, care to share concrete alternative? If you ask that, we will loose our minds and ask for your name which will betray you, absolutely. I think a lot that drags this country down is the loud stupidity being flaunted as "UJANJA". Step into any low-life pub and those morons will be sounding more expert the the inventors of the said systems. Considering the gov't won't pay hard cash for it, i thinks its a better deal. Better have Safaricom, a Kenyan company by any measure, than a foreign one. If things head south, the foreigner will always jump ship. Safaricom is here to stay into the foreseeable future. Surely, there must be an alternative when you oppose something. This is the crux of the matter. What is the alternative? Is it the STORM? we could start by providing the cops with uniform, better housing, cars and fuel for the same. The camera system is a good compliment for better policing - lakini we have not even tackled the most basic
Jubilee has all these big ideas which sound so futuristic and advanced but often misplaced in context. This is another one which sounds good in Australia, U.S or Canada but is a poor choice for Kenya.
Ceinz wrote:... President UK describes this project as the magic bullet. Unfortunately there is no magic bullet here; Hauwei/ Chinese network equipment comes with the Magic Kill Packet that allows back-door penetration by the supplier- in this case the Chinese military. This in simple language exposes our critical national security infrastructure to the Chinese military... Ofcourse its a magic(the power of apparently influencing the course of events by using mysterious or supernatural forces.) project. It will mysterious place money in the pockets of some people If Obiero did it, Who Am I?
Rank: Member Joined: 7/17/2011 Posts: 627 Location: Mbui-Nzau, Kikumbulyu
bottom lines: 1. overhaul the whole police force and replace it with a young force intel-led ( new NYS recruits trained by NIS equipped by these grand digi- ideas led projects). phase out the current old guards gradually. 2. Create Superb investigative county bureaus akin to Scotland yard ..etc Machakos can be a start backed by serious forensics infrastructure. 3. Enhance the Public Prosecutions office with serious "star" prosecutors esp on serious crimes even have them elected in as chief County Attorneys nini ingine
TAZ wrote:Ceinz wrote: Not forgetting that in August 2010, Safaricom selected Hauwei a its vendor of choice for the supply of its core network requirements and roll out of the 4G Network.
Huawei, like all other leading Chinese telecommunication companies, is linked directly to the Chinese military. In essence the 'Safaricom' contract means we are outsourcing our surveillance and intelligence to the Chinese government.
This part doesn't make sense to me at all......so the Chinese will use a company largely owned by the British to infiltrate our security systems? read some bit of cyber security news; maybe it wil sense to you @taz LOVE WHAT YOU DO, DO WHAT YOU LOVE.
Rahatupu wrote:washiku wrote:What is the scope of work of this project? A comprehensive answer to that question could give us a conclusive answer as to whether its a worthy project or not. @Washiku, please lets start by asking whether this is the right thing to do in face of the challenges that are already in place as far as our policing is concerned. Ok maybe it will be critical in the long term but what about the effectiveness? @Rahatupu...you are right and your question is very logical. However, this is not the only thing being done about security. Its just one of the several initiatives eg employing more police, housing, vehicles, police welfare like insurance and salaries, ongoing vetting as per proposed police reforms...There is some substantial amount of money proposed in the budget read today. Personally, I feel the security system is okay, if we get all figures right. Parliament is doing that. Bob said they welcome the scrutiny. Hope they will provide convincing facts. If not, let it be cancelled. I also heard Bob say that govt will only pay after they deliver the system to the govts satisfaction. I thought that could be a better model than when we usually pay before installation only for it to turn out as a white elephant. But I have a problem with the way we like branding everything corrupt even without figures. I also don't rule out eating. That's why am saying, what is the scope? As Kaizen principles have it, base your decisions on facts/figures/numbers, not on perceptions. My take.
kyt wrote:TAZ wrote:Ceinz wrote: Not forgetting that in August 2010, Safaricom selected Hauwei a its vendor of choice for the supply of its core network requirements and roll out of the 4G Network.
This part doesn't make sense to me at all......so the Chinese will use a company largely owned by the British to infiltrate our security systems? read some bit of cyber security news; maybe it wil sense to you @taz For knowledge purposes, who should be used to install such systems? From whom should they procure the equipments?
Rank: Member Joined: 7/17/2011 Posts: 627 Location: Mbui-Nzau, Kikumbulyu
TAZ wrote:Ceinz wrote: Not forgetting that in August 2010, Safaricom selected Hauwei a its vendor of choice for the supply of its core network requirements and roll out of the 4G Network.
This part doesn't make sense to me at all......so the Chinese will use a company largely owned by the British to infiltrate our security systems? In telecoms it makes sense to buy cheap/affordable in the short term as tech changes with in a short time..not prudent to have huge CAPEx on something that will be replaced sooner by version 3.0 ..4.0 ..5.0 ..and Chinese seem to avail just that. The Brits in this scenario are in it for the $..by all or any means possible
Safaricom Kshs 15bn Security Contract.