wazua Wed, Jun 17, 2026

8 Pages<12345>»
Safaricom Kshs 15bn Security Contract.
Ngogoyo
#21 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 4:11:16 PM

Ceinz wrote:
Reading Tuesday's star article by Timothy Kiberia: Magic Bullet:Is Safaricom Cover for China's Huawei?
Picked out the following;

Kshs. 15 B for 1,800 cameras translates to approx. Kshs. 8,333,333 or $ 95,000 per camera.

Instant online quotation from Cisco, The World's number one supplier and installer of CCTV surveillance cameras and networks reveals a significantly lower cost.

The cost of the equipment and installation of the network in areas that already have their own fibre optic cables averages btwn. $ 5,000 and $8,000 per camera.

To illustrate this further, one needs to look at the City of Leicester in the Uk, which recently installed 2,083 cameras at a cost of £ 14 million or Kshs. 2.1 billion. Leicester got almost 300 more cameras and spent seven times less than what Kenya intends to spend.

Not forgetting that in August 2010, Safaricom selected Hauwei a its vendor of choice for the supply of its core network requirements and roll out of the 4G Network.

Huawei, like all other leading Chinese telecommunication companies, is linked directly to the Chinese military. In essence the 'Safaricom' contract means we are outsourcing our surveillance and intelligence to the Chinese government.

President UK describes this project as the magic bullet. Unfortunately there is no magic bullet here; Hauwei/ Chinese network equipment comes with the Magic Kill Packet that allows back-door penetration by the supplier- in this case the Chinese military. This in simple language exposes our critical national security infrastructure to the Chinese military.

It is this connection with the Chinese military and easily attack-able network that led to Hauwei being barred from the North American, Australian and most of Western Europe Market.

Care to tell us about the cost of CISCO videoconference which is also part of the system

The deal stinks but let me ask kwani the whole 15b is being used to procure cameras? I thought kuna hata 'smart phones' na accompanying hardware?

Talk of foot in mouth...
#22 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 4:11:52 PM

What is the scope of work of this project? A comprehensive answer to that question could give us a conclusive answer as to whether its a worthy project or not.

@Washiku, please lets start by asking whether this is the right thing to do in face of the challenges that are already in place as far as our policing is concerned. Ok maybe it will be critical in the long term but what about the effectiveness?
#23 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 4:18:54 PM

Ceinz wrote:

Not forgetting that in August 2010, Safaricom selected Hauwei a its vendor of choice for the supply of its core network requirements and roll out of the 4G Network.

Huawei, like all other leading Chinese telecommunication companies, is linked directly to the Chinese military. In essence the 'Safaricom' contract means we are outsourcing our surveillance and intelligence to the Chinese government.

This part doesn't make sense to me at all......so the Chinese will use a company largely owned by the British to infiltrate our security systems?
wanyee
#24 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 4:20:39 PM

the way I see it... Kenya will never be able to procure anything.... too much siasa. if a local company is picked siasa... we just want big names here. Who cares if it is hackable? it's mere presence will stop lots and lots of petty crimes but we would rather protect 'public' funds and cry when we are attacked - when asked for solutions we shout - ensure that security is headed by the right person... kwani ni Ole Lenku's replacement atafanya kazi ya makarao hao wote wa D? When solutions are prescribed we fight them.... Kenya will never be able to procure anything from Kenyans because of siasa.
People need to understand one thing - THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH MAKING MONEY!! YOU DON'T SUPPLY GAVA SO THAT YOU JUST BREAK EVEN! considering the length of time it takes them to pay for stuff (IEBC bado haijalipa watu wa elections) there is a problem when people in GAVA make money off kandarasis but there is no problem with picking a Local implementer even if a cheaper one is available out there. We quote US or UK like they are our peers!! you guys have an economy less than the enconomy of Wyoming the 2nd last state in the US and you still compare yourselves to them? SERIOUSLY!! MTU WA KIBERA ANASEMA HATAKI TOYOTA BECAUSE WATU WA RUNDA WANAENDESHA BMW? Bure Kabisa Mafi ya Kuku

Laughing out loudly on point kama sindano ya AI
#25 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 4:21:42 PM

Defend defend defend.....it's our time to eat again!!!
mkeiy
#26 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 4:25:54 PM

I agree the whole deal is fishy, I think the money could have been spent in other areas of security;
lakini if you look at the city of leicester one will notice a big infrastructure difference with the city of Nairobi, plus it does not matter where you source the technology one government or the other will have access to the same, its a matter of the east or the west having access.

@nakujua, Which money is this? The 15Bn? Are you saying the gov't should be spending money they don't have? You see, the gov't is NOT paying any hard penny.

@Ceinz, You are talking of camera prices. I find that intellectually worrying. How come you've not thought of the independent infrastructure connecting all the cameras, walkie-talkies and the command center?

All in all, its hard to do anything in this country. ANYTHING. Even sticking on the right lane on the highway is hard. All strategic military/security ware manufacturers have a GOVERNMENT backing. How else would those security firms be investing in stuff that the public won't consume? Building military tanks for Rhino charge? Dudes,what's wrong with your keyboards?

If Lockheed develops a military jet, first they do so with the backing of US gov't. No gov't support, no development.
Does it mean as a country, if we need a military jet, we'll have to develop our own.

To all those against the project, care to share concrete alternative?

I think a lot that drags this country down is the loud stupidity being flaunted as "UJANJA". Step into any low-life pub and those morons will be sounding more expert the the inventors of the said systems.

Considering the gov't won't pay hard cash for it, i thinks its a better deal. Better have Safaricom, a Kenyan company by any measure, than a foreign one. If things head south, the foreigner will always jump ship. Safaricom is here to stay into the foreseeable future.

wanyee
#27 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 4:28:57 PM

Defend defend defend.....it's our time to eat again!!!

Nothing wrong with eating. being savvy like with all cutlery and napkins ..as long they eat a few of the eggs laid..not eating the maize(to be fed to the hen), the hen itself and all the eggs laid ...Sad like the tendency exhibited a few years ago..actually rhyming who the hell eats maize meant for famine relief?!! ..Gluttony Galore
Ole Lenku
#28 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 4:38:51 PM

Ceinz wrote:

This part doesn't make sense to me at all......so the Chinese will use a company largely owned by the British to infiltrate our security systems?

Huawei is not owned largely by Brits, get your facts correct.
Jump-steady
#29 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 4:39:49 PM

mkeiy wrote:
I agree the whole deal is fishy, I think the money could have been spent in other areas of security;
lakini if you look at the city of leicester one will notice a big infrastructure difference with the city of Nairobi, plus it does not matter where you source the technology one government or the other will have access to the same, its a matter of the east or the west having access.

@nakujua, Which money is this? The 15Bn? Are you saying the gov't should be spending money they don't have? You see, the gov't is NOT paying any hard penny.

@Ceinz, You are talking of camera prices. I find that intellectually worrying. How come you've not thought of the independent infrastructure connecting all the cameras, walkie-talkies and the command center?

All in all, its hard to do anything in this country. ANYTHING. Even sticking on the right lane on the highway is hard. All strategic military/security ware manufacturers have a GOVERNMENT backing. How else would those security firms be investing in stuff that the public won't consume? Building military tanks for Rhino charge? Dudes,what's wrong with your keyboards?

If Lockheed develops a military jet, first they do so with the backing of US gov't. No gov't support, no development.
Does it mean as a country, if we need a military jet, we'll have to develop our own.

To all those against the project, care to share concrete alternative? If you ask that, we will loose our minds and ask for your name which will betray you, absolutely.

I think a lot that drags this country down is the loud stupidity being flaunted as "UJANJA". Step into any low-life pub and those morons will be sounding more expert the the inventors of the said systems.

Considering the gov't won't pay hard cash for it, i thinks its a better deal. Better have Safaricom, a Kenyan company by any measure, than a foreign one. If things head south, the foreigner will always jump ship. Safaricom is here to stay into the foreseeable future.

Surely, there must be an alternative when you oppose something. This is the crux of the matter. What is the alternative? Is it the STORM?
#30 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 4:42:10 PM

Ole Lenku wrote:
Ceinz wrote:

Huawei is not owned largely by Brits, get your facts correct.

I'm talking about Safaricom!
8 Pages<12345>»