wazua Wed, Jun 17, 2026

8 Pages<1234>»
Safaricom Kshs 15bn Security Contract.
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 3:09:23 PM

the way I see it... Kenya will never be able to procure anything....

Why cant we give this thing a try .... it is for the benefit of wanjiku commom man! Currently every thing and anything you run to court. We need udictatorship for things to move.
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 3:14:52 PM

the way I see it... Kenya will never be able to procure anything....

Why cant we give this thing a try .... it is for the benefit of wanjiku commom man! Currently every thing and anything you run to court. We need udictatorship for things to move.

kila kitu pelekea mutunga... kila kitu pelekea mutunga... next week "the youth" as they are known in arabic kill some small fish we get enraged... SIRKAL FANYA KITU! ikifanya... WEWE WACHA UNAIBA BWANA!! Nywele ngumu has been taught that making money is wrong! actually an african making much money (some upper limit they put in their heads) is wrong... LAZIMA IKUWE WIZI!!
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 3:16:09 PM

the way I see it... Kenya will never be able to procure anything.... too much siasa. if a local company is picked siasa... we just want big names here. Who cares if it is hackable? it's mere presence will stop lots and lots of petty crimes but we would rather protect 'public' funds and cry when we are attacked - when asked for solutions we shout - ensure that security is headed by the right person... kwani ni Ole Lenku's replacement atafanya kazi ya makarao hao wote wa D? When solutions are prescribed we fight them.... Kenya will never be able to procure anything from Kenyans because of siasa.
People need to understand one thing - THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH MAKING MONEY!! YOU DON'T SUPPLY GAVA SO THAT YOU JUST BREAK EVEN! considering the length of time it takes them to pay for stuff (IEBC bado haijalipa watu wa elections) there is a problem when people in GAVA make money off kandarasis but there is no problem with picking a Local implementer even if a cheaper one is available out there. We quote US or UK like they are our peers!! you guys have an economy less than the enconomy of Wyoming the 2nd last state in the US and you still compare yourselves to them? SERIOUSLY!! MTU WA KIBERA ANASEMA HATAKI TOYOTA BECAUSE WATU WA RUNDA WANAENDESHA BMW? Bure Kabisa Mafi ya Kuku

My thoughts! How else do they want security fought? IG & Ole Lenku with guns on the streets?
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 3:32:57 PM

the way I see it... Kenya will never be able to procure anything.... too much siasa. if a local company is picked siasa... we just want big names here. Who cares if it is hackable? it's mere presence will stop lots and lots of petty crimes but we would rather protect 'public' funds and cry when we are attacked - when asked for solutions we shout - ensure that security is headed by the right person... kwani ni Ole Lenku's replacement atafanya kazi ya makarao hao wote wa D? When solutions are prescribed we fight them.... Kenya will never be able to procure anything from Kenyans because of siasa.
People need to understand one thing - THERE IS NOTHING WRONG WITH MAKING MONEY!! YOU DON'T SUPPLY GAVA SO THAT YOU JUST BREAK EVEN! considering the length of time it takes them to pay for stuff (IEBC bado haijalipa watu wa elections) there is a problem when people in GAVA make money off kandarasis but there is no problem with picking a Local implementer even if a cheaper one is available out there. We quote US or UK like they are our peers!! you guys have an economy less than the enconomy of Wyoming the 2nd last state in the US and you still compare yourselves to them? SERIOUSLY!! MTU WA KIBERA ANASEMA HATAKI TOYOTA BECAUSE WATU WA RUNDA WANAENDESHA BMW? Bure Kabisa Mafi ya Kuku

My thoughts! How else do they want security fought? IG & Ole Lenku with guns on the streets?

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

The US have been accused of worldwide phone-tapping, are they really any better than the Chinese....
#15 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 3:35:22 PM

Applause Applause Applause Applause Applause

The US have been accused of worldwide phone-tapping, are they really any better than the Chinese....

let's face it... who really cares about phone tapping our networks? really? they are being tapped as we speak - so let's stop being stupid
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 3:45:28 PM

@Masukuma, @Harry... I concur, lakini at the operational level things are BAD!! Sad . The effectiveness of whatever systems is as good as the people who do the job, and in my opinion the Police system is deplorable. Look at the traffic cameras they were to go live in Dec, tena end of Jan, March mpaka leo pple have forgotten (money was "eaten").

The cameras thing is one of the prescription by the "cartels" at OP, to put the cart before the horse as long as they "eat". The priority number one would have been effective operational command and control of the Officers, straightening the discipline system and ultimately motivating them. Ole Cook is a stooge in the system that must take the bullet when things go wrong, the "Kusema na ki-tenderers" have their eyes on the prize-tenders!
Ole Lenku
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 3:49:27 PM

Ceinz wrote:
Reading Tuesday's star article by Timothy Kiberia: Magic Bullet:Is Safaricom Cover for China's Huawei?
Picked out the following;

Kshs. 15 B for 1,800 cameras translates to approx. Kshs. 8,333,333 or $ 95,000 per camera.

Instant online quotation from Cisco, The World's number one supplier and installer of CCTV surveillance cameras and networks reveals a significantly lower cost.

The cost of the equipment and installation of the network in areas that already have their own fibre optic cables averages btwn. $ 5,000 and $8,000 per camera.

To illustrate this further, one needs to look at the City of Leicester in the Uk, which recently installed 2,083 cameras at a cost of £ 14 million or Kshs. 2.1 billion. Leicester got almost 300 more cameras and spent seven times less than what Kenya intends to spend.

Not forgetting that in August 2010, Safaricom selected Hauwei a its vendor of choice for the supply of its core network requirements and roll out of the 4G Network.

Huawei, like all other leading Chinese telecommunication companies, is linked directly to the Chinese military. In essence the 'Safaricom' contract means we are outsourcing our surveillance and intelligence to the Chinese government.

President UK describes this project as the magic bullet. Unfortunately there is no magic bullet here; Hauwei/ Chinese network equipment comes with the Magic Kill Packet that allows back-door penetration by the supplier- in this case the Chinese military. This in simple language exposes our critical national security infrastructure to the Chinese military.

It is this connection with the Chinese military and easily attack-able network that led to Hauwei being barred from the North American, Australian and most of Western Europe Market.

@Ceinz, thanks for the article. The facts are well presented and the arguments presented in systematic fashion. If someone has facts to the contrary, state them on this forum. All these people making noise defending this contract without giving facts are not useful to Kenyans. This contract should be looked at objectively and the following issues scrutinized.
1. Are the prices quoted competitive?
2. Will this project lead to improved security?
3. Are we likely to expose ourselves to espionage from the Chinese?
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 3:53:49 PM

What is the scope of work of this project? A comprehensive answer to that question could give us a conclusive answer as to whether its a worthy project or not.
vky
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 3:59:28 PM

I agree the whole deal is fishy, I think the money could have been spent in other areas of security;
lakini if you look at the city of leicester one will notice a big infrastructure difference with the city of Nairobi, plus it does not matter where you source the technology one government or the other will have access to the same, its a matter of the east or the west having access.

i dont think its fishy if you factor in consultancies, feasibility, licensing, cost of equipment, cost of power both kplc and backup power, installation & securing costs, network and command center, legal costs, insurance, finance costs, transaction costs, staff training etc etc, the chap who did the quoted article would have us believe that the entire 15b large will offset the cost of equipment only and isolate the other associated costs but then again i am not privy to the contractual details and my view is purely conjecture
It is absolutely absurd and plainly incompetent for the GOK to award or partner with safaricom a commercial entity to provide network services, the NIS should take charge of this thing in its entirety no outsourcing otherwise the concerns raised about the chinese will seem like childs play if GOK outsources national intelligence to a commercial entity
'One headache for famous medieval holy people was that someone might murder you to acquire your body parts for the relics trade'
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 12, 2014 4:10:05 PM

We also need to compare like for like not Nairobi City Kenya with City of Leicester in the UK which are worlds apart!
8 Pages<1234>»