wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

KCB: Firmly in the stoneage
ali
#21 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 4:36:05 AM

@ Mainat
i had a very nasty experience with I&M early this year and i had to close my account.
i deposited a cheque on a monday and it was not until the following tuesday that i copuld access the cash.
In the account that i had, over the counter withdrawals was not allowed, yet i was never informed this when i asked when opening the accont.
the shock came when i wanted to withdraw 50k for an emergency: i was told that its not possible under whatever conditions. i even asked the operations manager to approve and i was advised to close the account so that i can access the cash
which i did and forgot I&M for good.
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
wairegi
#22 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 5:41:02 AM

@mukiha
@I&M you can link you Visa electron with paypal account for secure international payments. They send you statetments on mail and the customer service is exceptional.
#23 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 6:20:06 AM

@Ali;
Kwani what type of account was that? Was it a fixed deposit or the new "Recurring Deposit"...essentially a fixed deposit that allows you to increment your balance continuously without having to go through the paper work again?
akowally
#24 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 6:43:00 AM

Very interesting discussion indeed...yeah westy guys are lucky with banks but Buru is also really coming up...with a bank like DTB opening 8am to 8 pm...Thanks for the info on I&M, I guess some of us are used to the "kawaida" names...good for consideration...and you still see why I call mukiha the most solid skerian
JOIN MY FREE MINI-COURSE FOR WRITERS. CLICK HERE
#25 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 6:56:15 AM

@mukiha - Lakini I&M was not a bank (or was it?) before it bought out (merged with) Biashara Bank?

I remember the bank on Kenyatta Ave (can't recall the other location) where the I&M Bank building is.

@V-V-S; read the brief history here.... http://www.imbank.com/inner.asp?cat=history
#26 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 7:06:11 AM

@all:

The chq deposited must have been from another bank (not in-house) coz those take 4 business days (nowadays) in any Kenyan bank. Up-country chqs used to be much longer.

CFC Stanbic Financial chqs take 2 business days to clear at CFC Stanbic downstairs on Kimathi St!!!! Immediate credit costs 300/-. What a crock of shyte!
The Real Shaft
#27 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 7:35:12 AM

I had many accounts with that establishment..

for one simple reason...

Bank in Kenya...

to build Kenya.....

You will not catch me alive...

or dead.....

banking in a foreign bank....

Patriotic Duty .... I call it.....

However...

looking at the statements of late....

they are levying for anything ....

even when a housefly squats on your card.....

you will see a charge...

Pole...

my patriotism notwithstanding.....

kwa herini....

closing all my accounts...

and the oldest bank....

Pillowcase Bank Ltd....

will be my safest bet....
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Zakumi
#28 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 7:51:40 AM

RealShaft im just wondering how you will apportion the money from your many accounts to your pillow account.

If your worry is the numerous charges then i advice that you try the islamic banks...kwanza i hear they even pay you to bank with them.If you have a problem with religion then i suggest you wait for the annual central bank survey...coz mattress a/c!! u r inviting trouble.
The Strong Do What They Want,The Weak Do What They Must!
#29 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 7:58:20 AM

My friend has two accounts at the same Co-Op branch - savings and current.

One morning, he went to the bank and wrote a cheque to transfer some cash from the current to the savings acc.

That same day in the afternoon, he needed the cash urgently so he went to the ATM. The current account did not have the cash, so he tried the savings acc. Also no cash!!

So he went into the bank to enquire. They said that the money has been removed from his current acc against the cheque he wrote in the morning and it would be credited to the savings account the following day!!!

Question: where was the money at that time? Why couldn't he access it? After all, both accounts were his and both were in the same branch...so they couldn't argue that the money is in transit [with G4S]....
#30 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 8:10:32 AM

@mukiha - LOL I am glad I moved to I&M from CFC Stanbic... CFC was a-ok until stanbic came along...

Have you noticed that the balance sheet of CFC Stanbic has stalled vs other banks? I doubt I am the only jamaa who bailed from CFC Stanbic!
ali
#31 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 8:18:52 AM

@ MUkiha
it was some X account, something like that.
there was nothing like fixed or anything like it.
i am still angry at I&M bank from that day on
i never understand how a cheque can be deposited on a monday and the folowwing week, it is not mature yet.
plus being told that for me to access more than 20k, i have to close my account.
infact i submitted my ATM there and then and the customer service lady destroyed it in my presence, but i cared less, all i wanted was to be as far away as possible from I&M bank.
AmHere
#32 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 8:23:14 AM

Informative post. But this is now real impunity. If a cheque drawn on the same bank takes 2 days to clear, then it is no wonder MPESA is doing well in the micro remittances. Shouldn't CBK, in the public interest, include some of this info as part of that report they do on Bank charges?
#33 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 8:52:38 AM

@ali; Pole sana. That's the first major complaint I've heard about I&M

One time I deposited a cheque at I&M on a Monday and on Friday the cash had still not been cleared. I called the call centre and in five minutes the transaction was rectified....they then called me back to advise me that the error has been corrected [sio ile maneno of "we will call you back" and then they forget about you!]

Actually, if a bank doesn't clear your cheque within four business days, you should report them to the KBA. Action will be taken...including suspension from clearing house etc.

#34 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 9:27:37 AM

@all - The X account is at StanChart not I&M Bank.
ali
#35 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 10:07:44 AM

@vituvingi sana

nimekumbuka, it was NextGen Account
late last year, they had a promo where new accounts could win money.
an agent of theirs introduced me and i was quick to open. I am forgeting the real name.
my branch was Kenyatta avenue...
No bad blood but from that day, i cannot stand even their adverts, it always remind me of that customer care lady using makasi to cut my ATM into two and requesting me to wait for 15 minutes as my account is being closed so that i can access my cash.
Next Gen account, i have rememberd, it was called NextGen account
stonemimi
#36 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 11:12:42 AM

Am I the only one noticing that this tread has turned to a marketing platform for I&M bank. Nothing against the bank. But can we have more balanced contributions. Are there no good banks in Kenya other than I&M?. By the way am looking out for a bank bec am through with my traditional. can we hear about other banks.
#37 Posted : Tuesday, December 08, 2009 11:51:08 AM

@all - I am not sure about NextGen. I thought it was just a feature they had. I have a current account (bahati) which does offer me e-mailed statements, sms enquiries, etc

@stonemimi - This is viral marketing. It happens because folks are happy with the product/service. I am not an employee of YU, Safaricom or I&M. Just a customer.

Yet I am a fan of
- YU (customer service + prices)
- safricom data (speed & portability)
- I&M coz of service & products

I am also pissed at CFC stanbic - reason why I switched. Which is your bank?
stonemimi
#38 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 8:08:20 AM

@Vitu

Am in a state bank and switching off. Was trying to be patriotic but can no longer afford stone age service in information society
#39 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 10:09:43 AM

@stonemimi;

I&M has superior service, especially for transaction accounts. BTW the have consistently won the Banking Survey under the Customer Service category.

Try them out
Fundaah
#40 Posted : Wednesday, December 09, 2009 10:43:55 AM

I&M is good ....been with them for 3 years ....and they have not disappointed me...no queues..Sarit branch open on Sunday!!!!!.....They are connected to kenwswitch and pesapoint.......so you can access you money anywhere no hidden cost.....
Would recommend it also .....
Isaiah 65:17-Look! I am creating new heavens and a new earth, and no one will even think about the old ones anymore