wazua Sun, Mar 22, 2026

73 Pages«<910111213>»
Equity Bank unveils its MVNO strategy
Ali Baba
#101 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 3:12:21 PM

georgegop wrote:
Bought Equity in Dec 2013 @31 and my stockbroker has asked me to sell. Really?d'oh!
If you are SUFFICIENTLY PHILANTHROPIC,you can sell so that your broker can EARN commission....
#102 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 3:38:15 PM

I always have a problem with people who claim things wont work simply because they dont understand how it will work. I prefer those who asks "How will it work" because there is some hope that they will listen and actually be shown how it will work. For those still doubting "whether it can work", there is already 100 Equity guys using it, next month there will be about 8000 guys using it...You may want to talk to them.

Is Equity going into telcom? YES. That was the whole idea so that they dont rely on Safcom to do their financial services.

Safcom is a telcom giving financial service as a value add

Equity is a financial company and will give the Voice, SMS & Internet as a value add.

Will it work? NOTHING IS IMPOSSIBLE.

Will it be smooth? Not really. All new technologies always have teething problems, but those needs to be out-grown by the benefits.

It all depends on the kind of team Daktari has in place to drive the thing.
muhandiwambeu
#103 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 3:45:35 PM

@Ali baba how much commission do this brokers make coz mine keeps screwing me big time? Had also been asked to sell Equity like 2wks ago. Am with DBIB.
mkeiy
#104 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 5:53:06 PM

Evolve wrote:
I do not hold a brief for the green SIM but I am not sure whether Equity's "M-PESA" will be any cheaper. In any case, Equity is not in the business of being cheap but in providing a service that resonates well with its customers' expectations. The question is, where does the service it intends to offer lie? This is what will earn them more customers and enhance its shareholders' value. I see value in the stock in the medium to long term.

The Ceo himself said they are cheaper. 25bob as the maximum with the rest being 1%.

I wonder why you thought Equity won't be cheaper?
Rollout
#105 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 6:02:22 PM

I think this is a JV made in heaven, there is absolutely no way equity cannot beat Safaricom in money tranfer business, the two need each other and I see this as a great JV!
kollabo
#106 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 6:18:34 PM

accelriskconsult wrote:
The Slim SIM idea is one of the most disruptive moves undertaken by any player in any sector in the world.

Safaricom is in big trouble especially because of call portability without changing sim cards.

Equity has attacked them on MPESA, voice and data - with one fell swoop.

In a few months time many will live to remember that statement.

"Mr Mwangi said the cards have near field communication (NFC) capability that enables them to be swiped on the point of sale devices. That function is particularly critical for the bank, coming at a time when the public service vehicle (PSV) industry is going cashless."
INTERESTING!
#107 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 6:39:20 PM

Equity banks on low cost for mobile money service

http://www.businessdaily...4/-/12u5ocw/-/index.html
INTERESTING!
#108 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 6:49:16 PM

Question:

I am not a pessimist and for disclosure, I am a member....however, my question is, is Equity Bank inventing things too quickly without letting other inventions mature?

1) Now the hot one is this telecoms + money transfer business

2) The matatu thing seems to have been left on the back-burner and matatus are supposed to be going electronic on July 1. Who is a journalist here who can ask JM how this is going? I think this is a story worth pursuing....

3) Their main banking business

Could Equity Bank be taking on too much risk?
#109 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 7:01:38 PM

The Technology has been in the UK for a while and there seems to be no "excitement" about it. Lets wait and see how it rolls out in KE. Interesting times ahead
holycow
#110 Posted : Friday, May 30, 2014 7:07:41 PM

After paying Airtel for the network use and then the agents, wonder what Equity will have left. The margins won't be as big as Safaricom's. Mpesa Bank has the advantage that it owns the network.
I hope CCK/CAK will be vigilant, Safcom once played dirty such that calls from other networks were always dropped.
Sample this from 2010

http://www.itnewsafrica.com/201...an-mobile-war-escalates/

THE mobile war in Kenya between the two main mobile telephony providers, Zain Kenya and Safaricom, has further escalated with Zain accusing its competitor of employing dirty tactics.
Just a day after Zain lowered its calling rate to Sh. 3 across the network making it the lowest amongst the other three mobile telephony providers, Safaricom has now allegedly jammed traffic by blocking all calls from Zain to Safaricom.

There's a thread talking about M-Shwari affecting CBA Q1 2014 results.I hope Equity learns from that.

http://wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=29098
73 Pages«<910111213>»