6 Pages<1234>»
Cashless matatu fare system.
#21 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 10:57:36 AM

Increasing the tax base
#22 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 10:57:37 AM

Washiku, I know the owners of that Ngong Road sacco are really pushing for this one.

But let them understand that some plans need a little bit of thinking.

I only wish them well.

You can add this to the long list of things I have said will end up in failure on this forum. Thus far I have a 100% record.

I know I will continue using cash, wapende wasipende.
#23 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 10:59:45 AM

the biggest issue is the concept of LEGAL TENDER FOR PAYMENT OF DEBTS! I am not an MPESA, ZAP or any other money transfer service user. I don't have Bebapay - but I have some money in my pocket.... in which world will a manamba refuse to take my cold hard cash worth of 20bob for travels?

Na sasa kutoka Hamza hadi Stadi, where peeps pay 10 bob, you'll still need beba pay?

Yes.

This is fleecing Kenyans to make corporations rich.

The gov't is saying that their money is worthless, go buy Equity shares.

I really would love to see a court case in this one. Where a sacco takes the gov't to court saying that the gov't is forcing them to use equity shares instead of gov't issued currency. Then I would like to hear the gov't arguments.

If that sacco from Ngong wants to use cards, that's their business. But they should not force my cucu in gishagi to use beba pay sijui what to move around.

Corruption mambo leo with a law to boot.

They are the ones asking for the system. They may not sue the govt for something they want done. By the way when it comes to loses, Matatu owners are the biggest victims. smile

I do not know the take from the wazua matatu owners, lakini some owners see this business as a get rich quick scheme only to get in and realize its a biashara as any other and you need time and decent strategies to grow.

lakini the government should stay out of this, let the saccos push the thing.
#24 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:04:50 AM

Increasing the tax base

anyone in the know if those gadgets are chucking fiscal receipts - kra must be all smiles.
#25 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:06:08 AM

Gathige wrote:
@washiku there's a basic principle that I never shift from. Gov't interference in my private life. I don't care how moral a gov't feels it is.

It is ok for owners to want to go cashless. That's their business.

But it is very very wrong for the gov't to be telling me how to pay for a particular service or product. And put a law.

Next they will tell us to use beba pay in all butcheries.

For the saved guys out there, this is the 666 the letters of the devil that we were told about.

Washiku, see how easy it would be for me to start tearing it down?

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Hapo umeshida.

The reason why so much nonsense gets through Kenya is because people don't sue.

Beba Pay forces me to buy a private company's product. It forces me to own a phone. It forces me to always have money.

Those things are actually interfering with my freedoms.

I personally don't have a phone. So that means I will never use a matatu.

If I'm broke and all I have is 10 bob to move from south B to West, I will have to walk. Basically killing the African culture of negotiating.

That's all ok.

But why is it a law? Why are private companies using government tools to make money off me?

Don't I have a right to pay with cash in Kenya anymore for services I need?

It's just that Kenyans don't sue. But wait until it is forced on guys in Kibera and Kiamaiko who can't afford to load 10 bob mpesa to pay for 10 bob bus fare then reality will slowly creep in.

@Segemia, you have no idea why some americans never use plastic cards do you?

@Alma, i thought i was the last one to buy a phone, lakini hapo sasa umeweza kweli.

mimi sina simu. 8 months and im glad. Now the minister of transport has decided its my constitutional mandate to buy a phone and buy equity. otherwise i walk for the rest of my life.

They will start with the matatu, then go to the hair salon, then the butchery and next when you buy milk.

666 number ya shetani!

@alma, how is it surviving without a phone? I cant imagine staying without one for even a day. Being a married bachelor, am in constant touch with family, work entails making a lot of calls in a day and also networking.

Regarding 666, various explanations have been brought forward to imply "the mark of the beast" - ATM's, micro chips, biometric machines etc. However, in the Bible book of Daniel, the various beasts represent successive human kingdoms, or empires. The composite beast of Revelation 13:1, 2 symbolizes the worldwide political system, empowered and controlled by Satan.
#26 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:10:39 AM

the only way this works is if you have vending machines for these things at bus stops all over - like ATMS. you come you get a card - you load it with cash e.t.c. but even that will need quite a bit of time to pick up. incentives like - if you pay with a card you get 30% off kawaida fares will push usage so that it's beneficial to the consumer to actually use these services instead of kawaida cash - for the conservatives let them continue paying normal fares using cold hard cash. of course if a conductor decides not to charge the device and tells you 'haina charge' utalipa aje? cold hard cash.
#27 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:13:18 AM

@Tebes

Being without a phone is a very liberating experience.

I realised that a lot of the phone calls I was getting were just meant to make me sad and unproductive. There's also the issue of the gashugua calling at 12 midnight.

For business, use email. If you can't email me for business issues, then you aren't serious. Learnt that after people start refusing to pay. Documentation is extremely important.

For personal issues. I'm still african. I prefer one on one personal settings. Apana mushene. Just screen your personal calls over the next few weeks. you will realise that 90% of them are mushene.

For emergencies...Luckily every Kenyan has a phone. So kikiumana, I can borrow your phone for a 20 bob.

Easy life I tell you.

Of course I miss the "uko wapi" calls but you soon get used to it. Those phones are very dangerous creatures.
#28 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:17:54 AM

Tebes wrote:
Gathige wrote:
@washiku there's a basic principle that I never shift from. Gov't interference in my private life. I don't care how moral a gov't feels it is.

But it is very very wrong for the gov't to be telling me how to pay for a particular service or product. And put a law.

For the saved guys out there, this is the 666 the letters of the devil that we were told about.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Hapo umeshida.

The reason why so much nonsense gets through Kenya is because people don't sue.

Beba Pay forces me to buy a private company's product. It forces me to own a phone. It forces me to always have money.

Those things are actually interfering with my freedoms.

I personally don't have a phone. So that means I will never use a matatu.

If I'm broke and all I have is 10 bob to move from south B to West, I will have to walk. Basically killing the African culture of negotiating.

That's all ok.

But why is it a law? Why are private companies using government tools to make money off me?

Don't I have a right to pay with cash in Kenya anymore for services I need?

It's just that Kenyans don't sue. But wait until it is forced on guys in Kibera and Kiamaiko who can't afford to load 10 bob mpesa to pay for 10 bob bus fare then reality will slowly creep in.

@Segemia, you have no idea why some americans never use plastic cards do you?

@Alma, i thought i was the last one to buy a phone, lakini hapo sasa umeweza kweli.

mimi sina simu. 8 months and im glad. Now the minister of transport has decided its my constitutional mandate to buy a phone and buy equity. otherwise i walk for the rest of my life.

They will start with the matatu, then go to the hair salon, then the butchery and next when you buy milk.

666 number ya shetani!

@alma, how is it surviving without a phone? I cant imagine staying without one for even a day. Being a married bachelor, am in constant touch with family, work entails making a lot of calls in a day and also networking.

Regarding 666, various explanations have been brought forward to imply "the mark of the beast" - ATM's, micro chips, biometric machines etc. However, in the Bible book of Daniel, the various beasts represent successive human kingdoms, or empires. The composite beast of Revelation 13:1, 2 symbolizes the worldwide political system, empowered and controlled by Satan.

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Okay...hope you didnt take @Alma seriously on the 666 thing, right? The way you are explaining to him is like you thought he actually believes in it.
bebeto
#29 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:18:54 AM

@Tebes

I realised that a lot of the phone calls I was getting were just meant to make me sad and unproductive. There's also the issue of the gashugua calling at 12 midnight.

For business, use email. If you can't email me for business issues, then you aren't serious. Learnt that after people start refusing to pay. Documentation is extremely important.

For personal issues. I'm still african. I prefer one on one personal settings. Apana mushene. Just screen your personal calls over the next few weeks. you will realise that 90% of them are mushene.

For emergencies...Luckily every Kenyan has a phone. So kikiumana, I can borrow your phone for a 20 bob.

Easy life I tell you.

Of course I miss the "uko wapi" calls but you soon get used to it. Those phones are very dangerous creatures.

Shame on you Shame on you
"The chief danger in life is that you may take too many precautions" - Alfred adler
symbols
#30 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:27:22 AM

#31 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:30:56 AM

@Tebes

Easy life I tell you.

Wacha uongo wewe. What about when someone in an emergency want to reach you?
PeterReborn
#32 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:37:34 AM

I fully support the idea of cashless payments.Its a win win situation for the matatu owners,govt and passagers.
The matatu owners will benefit as it will be easy to monitor amount received by passagers.This will minimise theft from drivers and conductors.
With the stable revenue streams it will be sustainable paying the drivers and conductors at the end of the month.The matatu crew will benefit from Nssf and Nhif.
The passagers will be able to budget and know the amount of transport cost they incur.For a parent you can load the card to give your child and it will be safer than the cash and it's not prone to misuse.
It will also be easy to trace the thugs who steal from passagers-phones,laptops and other valuables or even drugs.
The govt will benefit in terms of collecting taxes.
With the increased terror attacks and insecurity the system will help to curb insecurity.
The cards are registered to a certain person who provides mobile number and email.It will be easy to trace which passagers are in a matatu and if a terror attack happens from a passager,the information from these cards/mpesa will help in the investigations.
It is human nature to resist change but I have seen a lot of change in attitude from the passagers.The other day on Thika road I was shocked that about a quarter of the passers paid via beba pay.On a different occasion It was also interesting to find the passagers roughing up a conductor when he couldn't accept the cards claiming the phone didn't have charge
It will take a while but its a step in the right direction.

Consistency is better than intensity
#33 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:43:58 AM

I'm very much in support of this. Let's face it, we are dealing with a rogue sector. I just hope it can be implemented successfully. The advantages far outweigh the disadvantages.

• Most matatus break the rules rushing so they can do more trips than sanctioned by the owner to keep what's on top.

• Cops won't get as much because they'll have to give from the pocket

• No 'hakuna change ya ngiri'

• Government will be able to effect taxation.

etc...

Don't be afraid of change, it's the only constant in life.

theman192000
#34 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:49:52 AM

Let cash and card run in parallel just like in supermarkets.
Muriel
#35 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:59:30 AM

There used to be CBD Buses only circulating within the cbd.
There used to be restrictions for Jogoo road matatus to stop in Muthurwa.
There used to be lanes for hawkers.
There used to be ,,,,,,,

Let it come, it will go the way the others went.
symbols
#36 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 12:11:03 PM

Muriel wrote:
There used to be ,,,,,,,

Cash was once king.It too will go.
#37 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 12:16:08 PM

symbols wrote:
Muriel wrote:
There used to be ,,,,,,,

It will go yes, but Kenya and implementation of both law and policy is very poor!
Muriel
#38 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 12:28:15 PM

symbols wrote:
Muriel wrote:
There used to be ,,,,,,,

It will go yes, but Kenya and implementation of both law and policy is very poor!

Ah, yes brother Symbols, and Othello. I was too immersed in history to remember the future.

Surely dreadfully exciting times are ahead - 'registration' of those who would buy and sell, cashless society ,,,,,,,,!

It must be the time for Wanjiku's details to be captured having 'evaded the net' for too long.
#39 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 12:45:50 PM

Cash less doesn't mean money less society? You still have to work for your money.
unless you are a criminal why should you fear to register on order to buy or sell?
#40 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 1:21:42 PM

You know some of the arguments I hear on this place really make me wonder.

Who said its a bad thing for a person to go cashless? Kama hautaki cash, you have your own reasons.

I don't want to go cashless for my own reasons. That is why some Kikuyu old men still take a mburi whether you have the cash or not for your bride price.

It is very simple.

I want to continue paying using legal tender issued by the Gov't of Kenya.

Why are you forcing me by creating a law that basically calls me a criminal for not using beba pay? Is Beba Pay in the constitution?

If you want to pay using credit cards. That's your choice. If you want to pay using a chicken of similar value that's your choice.

The government has absolutely no business in enabling the profit making of any corporation.

It is as simple as that.

The pros and cons of cashless or bebapay are fodder for the sacco meetings not in the government offices.

This is not development. Not everything digital is good for you or development. Otherwise I would expect all of you to have porn 24 hours online since you can now get it for free.

@washiku, no one calls me during emergencies...And I'm very easy to find. I don't randa randa.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly