Market
Review
Cashless matatu fare system.
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 6,592 Location: Nairobi
Now the Kabete traffic cops and Kilimani nduthi cops will have to shift strategy to private motor vehicles. Poleni sana, avoid these areas. BBI will solve it :)
Cash will still be delivered pronto! Formal education will make you a living. Self-education will make you a fortune - Jim Rohn.
@washiku there's a basic principle that I never shift from. Gov't interference in my private life. I don't care how moral a gov't feels it is. It is ok for owners to want to go cashless. That's their business. But it is very very wrong for the gov't to be telling me how to pay for a particular service or product. And put a law. Next they will tell us to use beba pay in all butcheries. For the saved guys out there, this is the 666 the letters of the devil that we were told about. Washiku, see how easy it would be for me to start tearing it down? Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:@washiku there's a basic principle that I never shift from. Gov't interference in my private life. I don't care how moral a gov't feels it is.
It is ok for owners to want to go cashless. That's their business.
But it is very very wrong for the gov't to be telling me how to pay for a particular service or product. And put a law.
Next they will tell us to use beba pay in all butcheries.
For the saved guys out there, this is the 666 the letters of the devil that we were told about.
Washiku, see how easy it would be for me to start tearing it down? Hapo umeshida.
washiku wrote:alma wrote:@washiku there's a basic principle that I never shift from. Gov't interference in my private life. I don't care how moral a gov't feels it is.
But it is very very wrong for the gov't to be telling me how to pay for a particular service or product. And put a law.
For the saved guys out there, this is the 666 the letters of the devil that we were told about.
Washiku, see how easy it would be for me to start tearing it down? Hapo umeshida. Non sense!!!. When the PIN was introduced in 1993 all people said the same thing. An year down the line the 666 was dead kabisa!
washiku wrote:alma wrote:@washiku there's a basic principle that I never shift from. Gov't interference in my private life. I don't care how moral a gov't feels it is.
Washiku, see how easy it would be for me to start tearing it down? Hapo umeshida. The reason why so much nonsense gets through Kenya is because people don't sue. Beba Pay forces me to buy a private company's product. It forces me to own a phone. It forces me to always have money. Those things are actually interfering with my freedoms. I personally don't have a phone. So that means I will never use a matatu. If I'm broke and all I have is 10 bob to move from south B to West, I will have to walk. Basically killing the African culture of negotiating. That's all ok. But why is it a law? Why are private companies using government tools to make money off me? Don't I have a right to pay with cash in Kenya anymore for services I need? It's just that Kenyans don't sue. But wait until it is forced on guys in Kibera and Kiamaiko who can't afford to load 10 bob mpesa to pay for 10 bob bus fare then reality will slowly creep in. @Segemia, you have no idea why some americans never use plastic cards do you? Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:washiku wrote:alma wrote:@washiku there's a basic principle that I never shift from. Gov't interference in my private life. I don't care how moral a gov't feels it is.
Washiku, see how easy it would be for me to start tearing it down? Hapo umeshida. The reason why so much nonsense gets through Kenya is because people don't sue. Beba Pay forces me to buy a private company's product. It forces me to own a phone. It forces me to always have money. Those things are actually interfering with my freedoms. I personally don't have a phone. So that means I will never use a matatu. If I'm broke and all I have is 10 bob to move from south B to West, I will have to walk. Basically killing the African culture of negotiating. That's all ok. But why is it a law? Why are private companies using government tools to make money off me? Don't I have a right to pay with cash in Kenya anymore for services I need? It's just that Kenyans don't sue. But wait until it is forced on guys in Kibera and Kiamaiko who can't afford to load 10 bob mpesa to pay for 10 bob bus fare then reality will slowly creep in. @Segemia, you have no idea why some americans never use plastic cards do you? @Alma, i thought i was the last one to buy a phone, lakini hapo sasa umeweza kweli. "Things that matter most must never be at the mercy of things that matter least." Goethe
Gathige wrote:alma wrote:washiku wrote:alma wrote:@washiku there's a basic principle that I never shift from. Gov't interference in my private life. I don't care how moral a gov't feels it is.
Washiku, see how easy it would be for me to start tearing it down? Hapo umeshida. The reason why so much nonsense gets through Kenya is because people don't sue. Beba Pay forces me to buy a private company's product. It forces me to own a phone. It forces me to always have money. Those things are actually interfering with my freedoms. I personally don't have a phone. So that means I will never use a matatu. If I'm broke and all I have is 10 bob to move from south B to West, I will have to walk. Basically killing the African culture of negotiating. That's all ok. But why is it a law? Why are private companies using government tools to make money off me? Don't I have a right to pay with cash in Kenya anymore for services I need? It's just that Kenyans don't sue. But wait until it is forced on guys in Kibera and Kiamaiko who can't afford to load 10 bob mpesa to pay for 10 bob bus fare then reality will slowly creep in. @Segemia, you have no idea why some americans never use plastic cards do you? @Alma, i thought i was the last one to buy a phone, lakini hapo sasa umeweza kweli. mimi sina simu. 8 months and im glad. Now the minister of transport has decided its my constitutional mandate to buy a phone and buy equity. otherwise i walk for the rest of my life. They will start with the matatu, then go to the hair salon, then the butchery and next when you buy milk. 666 number ya shetani!Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
the biggest issue is the concept of LEGAL TENDER FOR PAYMENT OF DEBTS! I am not an MPESA, ZAP or any other money transfer service user. I don't have Bebapay - but I have some money in my pocket.... in which world will a manamba refuse to take my cold hard cash worth of 20bob for travels? All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
masukuma wrote:the biggest issue is the concept of LEGAL TENDER FOR PAYMENT OF DEBTS! I am not an MPESA, ZAP or any other money transfer service user. I don't have Bebapay - but I have some money in my pocket.... in which world will a manamba refuse to take my cold hard cash worth of 20bob for travels? Na sasa kutoka Hamza hadi Stadi, where peeps pay 10 bob, you'll still need beba pay? Luck is when Preparation meets Opportunity. ~ Lucius Annaeus Seneca
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/17/2009 Posts: 3,583 Location: Kenya
never going to happen, unless they start with upcountry / long distance matatus
Jus Blazin wrote:masukuma wrote:the biggest issue is the concept of LEGAL TENDER FOR PAYMENT OF DEBTS! I am not an MPESA, ZAP or any other money transfer service user. I don't have Bebapay - but I have some money in my pocket.... in which world will a manamba refuse to take my cold hard cash worth of 20bob for travels? Na sasa kutoka Hamza hadi Stadi, where peeps pay 10 bob, you'll still need beba pay? Yes. This is fleecing Kenyans to make corporations rich. The gov't is saying that their money is worthless, go buy Equity shares. I really would love to see a court case in this one. Where a sacco takes the gov't to court saying that the gov't is forcing them to use equity shares instead of gov't issued currency. Then I would like to hear the gov't arguments. If that sacco from Ngong wants to use cards, that's their business. But they should not force my cucu in gishagi to use beba pay sijui what to move around. Corruption mambo leo with a law to boot. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Jus Blazin wrote:masukuma wrote:the biggest issue is the concept of LEGAL TENDER FOR PAYMENT OF DEBTS! I am not an MPESA, ZAP or any other money transfer service user. I don't have Bebapay - but I have some money in my pocket.... in which world will a manamba refuse to take my cold hard cash worth of 20bob for travels? Na sasa kutoka Hamza hadi Stadi, where peeps pay 10 bob, you'll still need beba pay? the transport structure, especially in nairobi is too complex - imagine someone gets into a mat hapo railway and the destination is university way, even before the conductor punches the digits on that gadget half the passengers are already alighting. conductors will poteza jobs.
nakujua, those manambas will never poteza their jobs. They will find a way. Lets be honest. Utalipa na hii machine 50 bob. ama cash 30 bob. This is Kenya, they too will have to eat. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
Some of the things we witness hapa Kenya, iko chida kubwa!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
alma wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:masukuma wrote:the biggest issue is the concept of LEGAL TENDER FOR PAYMENT OF DEBTS! I am not an MPESA, ZAP or any other money transfer service user. I don't have Bebapay - but I have some money in my pocket.... in which world will a manamba refuse to take my cold hard cash worth of 20bob for travels? Na sasa kutoka Hamza hadi Stadi, where peeps pay 10 bob, you'll still need beba pay? Yes. This is fleecing Kenyans to make corporations rich. The gov't is saying that their money is worthless, go buy Equity shares. I really would love to see a court case in this one. Where a sacco takes the gov't to court saying that the gov't is forcing them to use equity shares instead of gov't issued currency. Then I would like to hear the gov't arguments. If that sacco from Ngong wants to use cards, that's their business. But they should not force my cucu in gishagi to use beba pay sijui what to move around. Corruption mambo leo with a law to boot. I can imagine some jamas have already imported those gadgets and some have already brought in the cards - I agree with you, the government has no business in this set up, let the matatu owners who want to implement it do it, and let those who do not want to be. tuona which system will prevail, though I think a hybrid would work better, either a card or cash.
alma wrote:nakujua, those manambas will never poteza their jobs. They will find a way. Lets be honest.
Utalipa na hii machine 50 bob. ama cash 30 bob. This is Kenya, they too will have to eat. shida ni, if the government ties this thing into some law, or declaration then the manambas will fear being arrested for receiving cash (that sounds crazy, lakini ni digital gov).
nakujua wrote:alma wrote:nakujua, those manambas will never poteza their jobs. They will find a way. Lets be honest.
Utalipa na hii machine 50 bob. ama cash 30 bob. This is Kenya, they too will have to eat. shida ni, if the government ties this thing into some law, or declaration then the manambas will fear being arrested for receiving cash (that sounds crazy, lakini ni digital gov). that's the problem, it is going to be a law..They will use that TLB license thing and force every matatu in Kenya to buy the gadget. How many matatus in Kenya times 10k and you see why this thing is being pushed. This is one of the reasons I BELIEVE that the jubilee gov't is one of tax, and harass money out of the poor as you can. There is no moral reason to force me to use Mpesa, beba Pay, Airtel to buy services. It was the good thing to do then ALL payments in Kenya should be made by Beba Pay. it's only trying to make a killing through tenders. We all know that it will collapse just like the safety belts collapsed. Millions of safety belts bought, none are used. A manamba will find a way. The cop will find a way. The owner will just be told, wale watu wa 20 bob siku hizi wapandi mathree. Jose: If I make it through this thug life, I'll see you one day. The Lord is the only way to stop the hurt.
alma wrote:Jus Blazin wrote:masukuma wrote:the biggest issue is the concept of LEGAL TENDER FOR PAYMENT OF DEBTS! I am not an MPESA, ZAP or any other money transfer service user. I don't have Bebapay - but I have some money in my pocket.... in which world will a manamba refuse to take my cold hard cash worth of 20bob for travels? Na sasa kutoka Hamza hadi Stadi, where peeps pay 10 bob, you'll still need beba pay? Yes. This is fleecing Kenyans to make corporations rich. The gov't is saying that their money is worthless, go buy Equity shares. I really would love to see a court case in this one. Where a sacco takes the gov't to court saying that the gov't is forcing them to use equity shares instead of gov't issued currency. Then I would like to hear the gov't arguments. If that sacco from Ngong wants to use cards, that's their business. But they should not force my cucu in gishagi to use beba pay sijui what to move around. Corruption mambo leo with a law to boot. They are the ones asking for the system. They may not sue the govt for something they want done. By the way when it comes to loses, Matatu owners are the biggest victims.
Market
Review
Cashless matatu fare system.