wazua Mon, Nov 18, 2024

Plastic money frustrations...
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 1:39:29 PM

Got this Mastercard prepaid Card, co-branded by a reputable Retailer and Bank.

On Christmas Shughulis, I swiped the Card but merchant said money didn't go through. So i paid cash lest i be embarrassed in front of my fundamentals.

Turns out that the card was debited for the transaction. Attempts to have the transaction reversed have not borne fruit for three weeks now.

Njaanuary is biting but i cannot access my money!

Has anyone experienced such frustrations? Does it make sense to have a prepaid card that just locks in your money while financing the Bankers?
Kaka Sunguch
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 1:43:44 PM

Had the same experience,but given no fundamental was beside me :),decided to raise hell.The card miraculously worked!
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 2:29:13 PM

Pole. Is this a Nakumatt Card?d'oh! d'oh! Maybe its teething problems
#4 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 3:27:45 PM

My Nakumatt card has so fat refused to download my 20K test cash deposited. I'm giving one more week then...

#5 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 4:47:32 PM

My Nakumatt card has so fat refused to download my 20K test cash deposited. I'm giving one more week then...

#6 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 10:26:44 PM

Yes it is. Kwani it is growing 50 teeth?
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 23, 2014 1:39:51 PM

So far.

Drobos fly
#8 Posted : Friday, January 24, 2014 3:39:39 AM

@Kaka Sungush, yes I agree this plastic things need some good amount of heat to work. Happened to me towards the end of last year with $300 and I blazed through the phone at the bank, then checked my online balance and vuala! the balance has just appeared as it should have in the first place.

So the teeth can be fire breathed away but choose a good inflammable gas first.
incognito
#9 Posted : Tuesday, May 27, 2014 5:15:27 PM

Is this Nakumatt global card able to do online purchases? So far i have tried to pay for skype credit but it is not working.
Experiences please?
Excelsior
Caramba
#10 Posted : Tuesday, May 27, 2014 6:54:33 PM

incognito wrote:
Is this Nakumatt global card able to do online purchases? So far i have tried to pay for skype credit but it is not working.
Experiences please?

I have used it four times for online purchases from Amazon, and international Pay TV. Worked well except for one case when their systems were down for about four hours, but I was able to complete the transaction thereafter.
holycow
#11 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 5:58:56 AM

incognito wrote:
Experiences please?

Bought stuff on eBay and Aliexpress. Works fine.
hmmm
#12 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 7:09:59 AM

It (Nakummat global card(KCB)) messed me up seriously last night. I had a time sensitive purchase to make and it refused to go through for one purchase.

I called customer care and they told me to wait until the bank opens so that they can forward the issue. Could they be having a cap on the amount that can be used online? An order for less that KES 2500 went through but an order for an amount higher than 2500/- failed. The card has enough cash.

I kept wondering if I was out of the country and the only option I have to make a payment is their card, would they tell me to wait till the bank opens?

faa
#13 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 7:53:19 AM

hmmm wrote:
It (Nakummat global card(KCB)) messed me up seriously last night. I had a time sensitive purchase to make and it refused to go through for one purchase.

I called customer care and they told me to wait until the bank opens so that they can forward the issue. Could they be having a cap on the amount that can be used online? An order for less that KES 2500 went through but an order for an amount higher than 2500/- failed. The card has enough cash.

I kept wondering if I was out of the country and the only option I have to make a payment is their card, would they tell me to wait till the bank opens?

In 2008 there is a certain big shot judge who underwent the same humilation at Nakumatt Uhuru highway,6 months down the line he sued and won ,was paid damages amounting to over 4.7M citing humilation ,e.t.c.Try the same by making sure you have your complaints in writting
sizzla
#14 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 8:06:45 AM

Have used several times online after KCB forced me to load cash on Naku Card because their own (KCB) chip cards aren't ready..
Museveni
#15 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 9:20:46 AM

Caramba wrote:
incognito wrote:
Experiences please?

I have used it four times for online purchases from Amazon, and international Pay TV. Worked well except for one case when their systems were down for about four hours, but I was able to complete the transaction thereafter.

What are the charges when making purchases on Amazon ?
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
adrianmwai
#16 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 10:15:24 AM

Not sure of the Nakumatt Card. I have been using the I&M prepaid multicurrency card for almost two years now and it has never let me down including skype credit purchases.See link below

https://www.imbank.com/c...ticurrency-prepaid-card/
Don't take life too seriously, you will never get out of it alive
incognito
#17 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 10:43:14 AM

hmmm wrote:

Good question. Has anyone used the Nakumatt card outside the country? Can you withdraw cash from ATMS in Europe for example?
Excelsior
Ash Ock
#18 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 11:08:40 AM

I wanted to use the Nakumatt card overseas but had problems reloading it using mpesa. Transaction initially seemed to go through but was reversed a couple of days later. I never tried again. Reloading KES at the cashier in Nakumatt works just fine.
Then, when I wanted to load foreign currency, I found out that I had to load in KES and then transfer to the foreign currency I wanted using the online system which offered me very horrible exchange rates.
So I went back to the I&M cards, where I can just buy the foreign currency at any FOREX and directly load it at I&M branch.
The Nakumatt card is now just used for KES and smartpoints. Never failed yet so far.
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310
Museveni
#19 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 3:42:07 PM

Ash Ock wrote:
I wanted to use the Nakumatt card overseas but had problems reloading it using mpesa. Transaction initially seemed to go through but was reversed a couple of days later. I never tried again. Reloading KES at the cashier in Nakumatt works just fine.
Then, when I wanted to load foreign currency, I found out that I had to load in KES and then transfer to the foreign currency I wanted using the online system which offered me very horrible exchange rates.
So I went back to the I&M cards, where I can just buy the foreign currency at any FOREX and directly load it at I&M branch.
The Nakumatt card is now just used for KES and smartpoints. Never failed yet so far.

What are the exchange rates when changing to foreign currency ?

How about loading foreign currency with partner banks KCB/DTB, is it possible or do you still have to load KeS ?
Live and learn; and don’t forget, nothing ventured, nothing gained.
Ash Ock
#20 Posted : Wednesday, May 28, 2014 4:27:17 PM

Museveni wrote:
What are the exchange rates when changing to foreign currency ?

How about loading foreign currency with partner banks KCB/DTB, is it possible or do you still have to load KeS ?

You use the bank rates given online, giving one no chance of even negotiating. I went to DTB and they demanded KES, telling me the cards can only be loaded with KES. They won't accept foreign currency for the card, so I was told. I didn't try KCB.
Sent from my Black Nokia 3310