wazua Tue, Feb 25, 2025

9 Pages«<56789>
Your Books
Kriscalf
#121 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 6:53:50 PM

@Leona yeah that could also apply.Was trying to mean the urge to read, brought by having the book is pushing my speed with my current read smile

But queue would be most appropriate. For simplicity.
The stars will never align, & the traffic lights of life will Never go green at the same time.
Wakanyugi
#122 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 6:56:14 PM

My best three, all less that 200 pages each:

1. Man's search for Meaning - Victor Frankl

2. The Alchemist - Paulo Coelho

3. The Prophet - Kharil Gilbran
"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
ocampo
#123 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 9:37:06 PM

Just finished reading The Greatest Salesman in the World Part 2 The End of the Story. Quite insightful especially page79-134.
My all time favorite though is The Rich Man from Babylon.
Lets not be vague, we go to hague
#124 Posted : Wednesday, March 20, 2013 10:07:31 PM

My phone has now become my greatest reading device. I now never complain of slow service in restaurants, queues, traveling etc I have over 20 books its it

#125 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2013 1:25:40 AM

@Kriscalf
:) i was confused for a moment... Kizungu ilikuja na meli kwa wengine wetu

Current Reads:
1. I know why the caged bird sings - maya Angelou

2. Touch the top of the World - Erik Weihenmayer

I really am loving the second book, it's the true story of the first blind man in the world to summit mt.Everest. His journey is beyond amazing.. A truly inspiring book. He has done so much yet he's blind. Oh,and he has also hit the 7 summits of the World which is no mean feat! His website for those who'd like to be inspired--->http://www.touchthetop.com/
Kriscalf
#126 Posted : Thursday, March 21, 2013 9:22:16 AM

@Leona its okay it is a complicated language.

How do you manage to read two books at the same time?
Are they of the same genre?
The stars will never align, & the traffic lights of life will Never go green at the same time.
#127 Posted: : Friday, March 22, 2013 12:46:40 AM

Kriscalf wrote:

Am more often than not up & about,so i carry one book with me,and one if a 'home read'. The two above are kind of in the same league, both are autobios..
Kriscalf
#128 Posted : Friday, March 22, 2013 12:17:23 PM

leona wrote:
Kriscalf wrote:

Am more often than not up & about,so i carry one book with me,and one if a 'home read'. The two above are kind of in the same league, both are autobios..

Okay, I do try that but I get carried away. Reading on the go is abit hard since I do like 20minutes of matatu time a day.
Maybe I try a read at home book - inspirational/ motivation & a read at work book which is a novel. Still I end up forgeting one.
#129 Posted : Saturday, May 24, 2014 7:41:12 PM

Hi all,

Am looking to get children's books for between ages 4 to 12, i don't mind second hand ones as well. Am trying to build up my children's home library collection. Anyone one to point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance.

#130 Posted : Sunday, May 25, 2014 10:11:55 AM

Kratos wrote:
Hi all,

Am looking to get children's books for between ages 4 to 12, i don't mind second hand ones as well. Am trying to build up my children's home library collection. Anyone one to point me in the right direction? Thanks in advance.

When I was in class 5, my dad bought me a book that ignited my love for books to this day. The book was called 'The Courage To Dream'. Though I no longer recall who the author was, the story has stuck in my mind all these years.
#131 Posted : Sunday, May 25, 2014 10:57:25 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Kratos wrote:
Hi all,

When I was in class 5, my dad bought me a book that ignited my love for books to this day. The book was called 'The Courage To Dream'. Though I no longer recall who the author was, the story has stuck in my mind all these years.

Mine was "Jimi the dog" by Meja Mwangi in class 5 or so. That book introduced me to the world of imagination and I loved the vivid descriptions Meja Mwangi used. I want to be able to give back the same to my children especially in this new world of TV and internet.

#132 Posted : Sunday, May 25, 2014 8:25:26 PM

Kratos wrote:
Hi all,

You can never go wrong with Barbara Kimenye's Moses series. They're available in bookshops. Very captivating and with good English. BTW, when it comes to kids I'd recommend something my dad used to do. Buy the book, take time to read it and discuss it with the young one. He will learn to appreciate books easily that way
#133 Posted : Sunday, May 25, 2014 8:31:07 PM

@kratos, Jimi the dog and its sequel were fantastic too. I would read them today again! But the younger ones need to start with far easier reads like zile za No Feast for Kiundu
Mtu Biz
#134 Posted : Sunday, May 25, 2014 10:16:39 PM

Anyone read The atlas shrugged by Ayn Rand ?
I have a pdf copy iam yet to read... deeply conflicting reviews have kept me undecided.
Sola Scriptura

Dia
#135 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 8:58:32 AM

Kratos wrote:
Hi all,

Take a walk around the CBD and check out the following street vendors for second hand books especially the ones with vivid pictures for the 4 year old:
1 - Outside Steers on Muindi mbingu street
2 - Agip Bustop on Haille Sellassie
3 - Outside Development House on Moi Avenue
4 - Between Rehani house and the Tuskys opposite City Market

Bookstop at Yaya centre has some great classics both new and used.
#136 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 9:41:00 AM

Rankaz13 wrote:
Kratos wrote:
Hi all,

Is that how you kept the dream of being a doctor alive?
Muriel
#137 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 3:22:46 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:
I have a pdf copy iam yet to read... deeply conflicting reviews have kept me undecided.

Hhmmm. I have not read it, did not even know about it till you mentioned it. Whatever you decide, keep us informed.
Wakanyugi
#138 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 5:10:06 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:

Ayn Rand is the Patron saint of the Conservative crowd. In fact I find it strange that her books have not taken off in Kenya (or it could be we just don't read).

I suggest you read Atlas Shrugged if you. At the very least the story of John Galt will show you the importance of self determination.

"The opposite of a correct statement is a false statement. But the opposite of a profound truth may well be another profound truth." (Niels Bohr)
#139 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 5:23:28 PM

Kratos wrote:
Hi all,

You can never go wrong with Barbara Kimenye's Moses series. They're available in bookshops. Very captivating and with good English. BTW, when it comes to kids I'd recommend something my dad used to do. Buy the book, take time to read it and discuss it with the young one. He will learn to appreciate books easily that way

Moses is definitely a great series, will get them. I didn't know Jimi the dog had a sequel lol hio ni kutafuta sasa!

#140 Posted : Monday, May 26, 2014 5:27:24 PM

Dia wrote:
Kratos wrote:
Hi all,

Take a walk around the CBD and check out the following street vendors for second hand books especially the ones with vivid pictures for the 4 year old:
1 - Outside Steers on Muindi mbingu street
2 - Agip Bustop on Haille Sellassie
3 - Outside Development House on Moi Avenue
4 - Between Rehani house and the Tuskys opposite City Market

Bookstop at Yaya centre has some great classics both new and used.

Thanks a lot Dia! :d/