wazua Sun, Jun 28, 2026

4 Pages«<234
President uhuru Kenyatta gaffes!
#31 Posted : Friday, May 23, 2014 7:40:33 AM

uhuru acted well.what is the need of a friend who tells you to wait for tomorrow when your house is on fire?
#32 Posted : Friday, May 23, 2014 8:21:37 AM

I have listened to that clip again and I'm ready to forgive Mtembezi, he was not coherent, blame it on hizi vitu zetu!!!!!

Kamukutano kadogo .....Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Mo
#33 Posted : Friday, May 23, 2014 8:45:38 AM

C & P

"With media teams and the crowd surging around Sonko, his call went through and he put his handset on loudspeaker for those around to hear who he was speaking to. Sonko started in a loud voice: “Mheshimiwa Rais nisamehe kwa kukupigia bila notice, lakini tunaomba usaidizi wako, nyumba zinabomolewa hapa (Honourable President, bear with me for calling without notice, but we seek your intervention, houses are being demolished here).

The voice of President Uhuru was heard asking Sonko: “Wapi huko nyumba zinabomolewa? (Where is the demolition taking place?) Sonko: “Mheshimiwa ni hapa Balozi, South B. Nimejaribu kupigia waziri anayehusika na watu wengine lakini hawachukui simu zao. Tumekushukuru kwa sababu wewe pekee umejibu simu yangu (Your Honour, it’s at Balozi, South B. I had tried to call the minister concerned and other people but they are not picking my calls. I thank you for your the only one who has answered my call)”

To which the President responded: “I am in a meeting right now but the demolition must stop immediately.” With that, Sonko thanked the President and promised to brief him later on what had transpired, before he disconnected the call."

Sonko is a populist, what he did yesterday was clear abuse of his privileges but what i don't understand is how it's UK's fault.

@Mc Reggae....wacha pang'ang'a, tell us how you think the President should have handled the situation.....

@Taz, freedom could have been more tactful, something like... 'can i get to kosgei and come back to you?, i need to hear from him what the issue is' that way everybody would have come out a winner ie
1. umk would not be seen to be embarrassing kosgei
2. sonko would still have made his popularity stunt without abusing his priviledges - i doubt freedom will pick any of his random calls anymore
3. kosgei would feel empowered - urp would feel respected.

dont you agree @taz
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
#34 Posted : Friday, May 23, 2014 9:09:25 AM

Mo wrote:
C & P

"With media teams and the crowd surging around Sonko, his call went through and he put his handset on loudspeaker for those around to hear who he was speaking to. Sonko started in a loud voice: “Mheshimiwa Rais nisamehe kwa kukupigia bila notice, lakini tunaomba usaidizi wako, nyumba zinabomolewa hapa (Honourable President, bear with me for calling without notice, but we seek your intervention, houses are being demolished here).

The voice of President Uhuru was heard asking Sonko: “Wapi huko nyumba zinabomolewa? (Where is the demolition taking place?) Sonko: “Mheshimiwa ni hapa Balozi, South B. Nimejaribu kupigia waziri anayehusika na watu wengine lakini hawachukui simu zao. Tumekushukuru kwa sababu wewe pekee umejibu simu yangu (Your Honour, it’s at Balozi, South B. I had tried to call the minister concerned and other people but they are not picking my calls. I thank you for your the only one who has answered my call)”

To which the President responded: “I am in a meeting right now but the demolition must stop immediately.” With that, Sonko thanked the President and promised to brief him later on what had transpired, before he disconnected the call."

Sonko is a populist, what he did yesterday was clear abuse of his privileges but what i don't understand is how it's UK's fault.

@Mc Reggae....wacha pang'ang'a, tell us how you think the President should have handled the situation.....

@Taz, freedom could have been more tactful, something like... 'can i get to kosgei and come back to you?, i need to hear from him what the issue is' that way everybody would have come out a winner ie
1. umk would not be seen to be embarrassing kosgei
2. sonko would still have made his popularity stunt without abusing his priviledges - i doubt freedom will pick any of his random calls anymore
3. kosgei would feel empowered - urp would feel respected.

dont you agree @taz

whichever way it is buttered, it was a screw up. but you cannot blame uhuru. the one with all the blame is sonko. all uhuru (unless it was all planned which would really be amateur hour stuff) did was get a call from a 'friend' whom he apparently trusted (but might not anymore) telling him houses, and the biggest church in whatever, are being demolished. he has absolutely no context of the matter. so he tells his friend in private that it shall be stopped. he shall handle it. thereafter i assumed he asked the relevant people what it was all about and decided to stop it as solutions are looked at. despite what he told him 'friend' on getting the facts of the case he was not going to be bound by whatever he told sonko. if he had known he was on speakerphone (say sonko tells him he is putting him on speakerphone or ask him for permission to) and said what he said then that would be different.
#35 Posted : Friday, May 23, 2014 9:39:49 AM

@Mo....I agree but he is the President, stop the demolition which was going on then consult Koskei baadaye.....besides Sonko is definitely more valuable to UK than Koskei, we must not forget that the Pres is still a politician. Btw ukiona Sonko akifanya hivyo then it means ni kitu amezoea, i think he's probably one of the few people who have authority TO CALL the Pres on his direct line. Anyway my main issue with him is that he should have done it in a discreet manner
#36 Posted : Friday, May 23, 2014 9:49:47 AM

With time I have come to like our president though I did not vote for him. But his advisers are not doing a good job. They have not advised him on how to behave when with certain people. Yesterday's instructions through Sonko's phone to stop the demolitions in South B is a good example. Is Sonko one of his best friends? Surely? Doesn't he think he embarrassed the Cabinet Secretary who had ordered the demolitions?. Why are we cheapening the presidency?

Some people will never like him simply because of his tribe!!
#37 Posted : Friday, May 23, 2014 7:55:16 PM

uhuru acted well.what is the need of a friend who tells you to wait for tomorrow when your house is on fire?

at the end of the day he is the CEO and the buck stops with him.
4 Pages«<234