wazua Mon, Jun 29, 2026

8 Pages123>»
Tourism from the East: Unbelievable
#1 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 9:50:25 PM

Listening to Mike Macharia on Citizen TV, we have only had 37000 tourists from the East since 2004 while last year we had 0.5M tourists from Europe....nothing to add!!!!
#2 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 10:05:54 PM

That just says KTB has some work to do in 2013 97 300 000 ching chongs left China to tour the world
#3 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 10:13:40 PM

tuseme ukweli - we are doing poorly!! 0.5 million tourist ni mchezo!! Israel has 3+M a year and hakuna kitu ya maana ya kuona huko.

check out this list

http://en.wikipedia.org/.../World_Tourism_rankings

Zim and it's issues does better than us. We are either clueless on how to attract tourists or we have nothing to show.
#4 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 10:14:11 PM

That just says KTB has some work to do in 2013 97 300 000 ching chongs left China to tour the world

@muchr agreed, the future of tourism in the world according to the Economist is China.
wanyee
#5 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 10:14:56 PM

The Muzungu "going-to-africa-jungle-tarzan" romanticized type of tourism needs to end. Its doubtful impact on the mwananchi and not mwenyenchi is evident. Kenya can either pursue the Dubai type of tourism (google numbers) that is mass tourist leaning or pursue a boutique high -end client exclusive type. Look at the famed Maasai conservancies..they are even hyped as Eco-sensitive ..but the locals they dance and jump for the tourist and at the end of day go to sleep in the earthen floor "kanyitera" lit manyatta huts/houses fighting it out with mosquitos, hyenas and lions if not spending the night guarding the visitors. Whereas the visitor is busy sipping champagne in an eco-heated jacuzi starring at the african night sky and later sleep soundly after eating a sumptuous meal ..am trying to paint a picture here..at what time will the owners of these vast wildlife rich lands,...the local get the same services they are offering..its the irony ..why not build 1st class eco-friendly manyaras(intentional tweng) 1st for the maasai well lit and perhaps a model living museum if the visitor has to see local culture...what am i saying here ..this type of tourism is flawed and only benefits the lodge owner ..no trickle down effect apart from when the "visitor" feels touch to engage in some "cause" aka poorism. I think tourism is not as complicated as people make it out. Many rural homes can be upgraded to host mass tourists ( one Mr. Ndemo did such an article elaborating such) and individual can source for clients by diaspora referal or even random online sources..this type has an associative knock over effect of creating a huge array of associative cottage industries than can be buzzworded as organic..eco friendly bla bla bla .. time to devolve tourism tooo and make it liberal and mass played too. Other sectors have undergone the same ..banking, telecom, name it.

my 2 ndururus
#6 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 10:16:04 PM

china ni 3rd world country kama sisi .tourism comes as 4th priority.that guy chomaring maize in the other thread adds to the millions of the outbound chinese 'tourist' numbers.communism also makes chinese market a hard sell. a 300Ml bottle of fanta for 12 chinese.india same but slightly better.
chepkel
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 10:19:25 PM

@Wanyee, well on point.
chepkel
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 10:32:20 PM

Yenyewe KTB is sleeping on the job. Kenya needs to do better marketing on the web. Compare these two adverts

Really good Marketing
And am telling you once you fika here you immediately realize its not as grand as they have made it.

Halafu this is an attemt by Kenya I feel that it lacks an certain degree of Umph...

What do you think??
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 10:41:15 PM

is ktb self sustaining? how much have we given them to market the country before we blame them?
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 10:45:07 PM

china ni 3rd world country kama sisi .tourism comes as 4th priority.that guy chomaring maize in the other thread adds to the millions of the outbound chinese 'tourist' numbers.communism also makes chinese market a hard sell. a 300Ml bottle of fanta for 12 chinese.india same but slightly better.

Kama hao watu 97 300 000 ni third worlders then hamna shida they can travel also.

Study spending trends you'll realize new money is very excited and can really splash it. Reknown designer labels know this and they have flocked China like a nonsense.
8 Pages123>»