#21 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 5:48:48 PM

Pastor M wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:
I don't mind increase in fees. But:

1. Undergraduate fees went up from 16K towards 45K
2. Undergraduate HELB max reduced from 45K to 30K (is this not mandatory?)
3. Postgraduate HELB increased 130K (is this not discretionary?)

And the students gave a notice.
They should be let to hold the peaceful demonstration

#BecauseAmParent

I concur. How do they propose to increase fees then lower HELB?

Will this country ever get to a point where decisions are made through dialogue and logic? Have these increases even been gazetted or approved whichever it is they are supposed to be? Could there be a middle ground? By the way kwani the maximum HELB was reduced? I thought there were guys who used to get 60k.

Could this be the start of Mass Actions someone was talking about in Kibera....My lovely Kenya you have so many enemies...some want to force themselves on you,some want to stone you,some want to steal from you,some kill as they for you and bury the bodies...who will save Kenya...only God....God have mercy and save my Country Kenya amen.

on 16th May, babu Owino met with Orengo, Muthama & Omar Hassan to plan for the demos. Each student leader received 40k.

Wapi link....
#22 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 7:51:54 PM

So what was their achievement of the day?
#23 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 8:05:08 PM

Pastor M wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

#BecauseAmParent

Will this country ever get to a point where decisions are made through dialogue and logic? Have these increases even been gazetted or approved whichever it is they are supposed to be? Could there be a middle ground? By the way kwani the maximum HELB was reduced? I thought there were guys who used to get 60k.

Could this be the start of Mass Actions someone was talking about in Kibera....My lovely Kenya you have so many enemies...some want to force themselves on you,some want to stone you,some want to steal from you,some kill as they for you and bury the bodies...who will save Kenya...only God....God have mercy and save my Country Kenya amen.

on 16th May, babu Owino met with Orengo, Muthama & Omar Hassan to plan for the demos. Each student leader received 40k.

This Owino guy recently told me he is doing what he is doing for money and political mileage.

Nothing new from the greed and corruption we see to look forward to with this current student leader.
#24 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 8:13:23 PM

Pastor M wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

#BecauseAmParent

This Owino guy recently told me he is doing what he is doing for money and political mileage.

Nothing new from the greed and corruption we see to look forward to with this current student leader.

They learn from the best is there any political leader who can be a role model in the country?
#25 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 8:28:59 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:
Meanwhile at Zetech (stolen from twirra)

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Zetech Alumni sina ubaya..

...No wonder Joho opted for KIULaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ... I am told there are some private universities where students are not supposed to fail.

Yeah. I know two church sponsored [well known and been around for sometime] where students are not supposed to fail at all! In a class of 40, if two fail, the lecturer has to write a report!!! true story!!!

Moja ni ile ya mapresenter alumni! Nyingine iko the part of "Nairobi" most made fun of.

Naingine iko pale most cold place. True story too! Got a buddy there who was part-timing and was summoned to explain why his students were failing. He was teaching same unit in jkuat with no complaint whatsoever
#26 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 8:33:35 PM

Pastor M wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

#BecauseAmParent

They learn from the best is there any political leader who can be a role model in the country?

I hope we are not naive to expect humans walking around in Kenya as angels. With better enforcement of equitable rule of law across most in the social classes and the likes of Martha Karua and Peter Kenneth in this generation, all is not lost. Current youth in Kenya leadership from MCAs to Senators and Governors is increasingly looking like a Version 2.0 of the Kanu League.

Negative human behavior can be contained when it is clear that crime does not pay, Eng. Kamau has shown that at the Transport Ministry. Kenyan drink & drive habits have largely improved for fear of the punitive action as it is actually being applied across the board.
#27 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 9:15:07 PM

Pastor M wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

#BecauseAmParent

I hope we are not naive to expect humans walking around in Kenya as angels. With better enforcement of equitable rule of law across most in the social classes and the likes of Martha Karua and Peter Kenneth in this generation, all is not lost. Current youth in Kenya leadership from MCAs to Senators and Governors is increasingly looking like a Version 2.0 of the Kanu League.

Negative human behavior can be contained when it is clear that crime does not pay, Eng. Kamau has shown that at the Transport Ministry. Kenyan drink & drive habits have largely improved for fear of the punitive action as it is actually being applied across the board.

Martha and Peter Kenneth...pliiiiz what do they stand for?What have they said about Anglo leasing?Tribal appointments?Corruption?Nothing...cut from the same cloth,cast in the same mould...If these are the role models we are doomed as a country.
#28 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 9:21:03 PM

Pastor M wrote:
Rankaz13 wrote:

#BecauseAmParent

Martha and Peter Kenneth...pliiiiz what do they stand for?What have they said about Anglo leasing?Tribal appointments?Corruption?Nothing...cut from the same cloth,cast in the same mould...If these are the role models we are doomed as a country.

You see what you want to see. If you follow these people, you would know what they have said regardless of the Ke media preferences.
#29 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 9:38:42 PM

Larry Madowo just did an interview with the University leadership. Seems not all University leadership agreed with the Owino types.

Babu Owino: "It was a peaceful demonstration till we reached Parliament when police started rioting" Surely.
#30 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 9:51:35 PM

Larry Madowo just did an interview with the University leadership. Seems not all University leadership agreed with the Owino types.

Babu Owino: "It was a peaceful demonstration till we reached Parliament when police started rioting" Surely.

Great affinity to violence. Even his friend Orengo said he want to put suits aside to go back to demos. At least Owino has prepared a way for him.
#31 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 10:17:18 PM

Outside Jogoo house...

And they cannot protect us from terrorists
#32 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 10:19:21 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Its now zetech University. I wonder if PWC recruits graduates from there
timuka
#33 Posted : Tuesday, May 20, 2014 11:01:31 PM

Euge wrote:
Mtu Biz wrote:

PWC??
#34 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 10:48:23 AM

radio wrote:
Mtu Biz wrote:

...No wonder Joho opted for KIULaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly ... I am told there are some private universities where students are not supposed to fail.

Yeah. I know two church sponsored [well known and been around for sometime] where students are not supposed to fail at all! In a class of 40, if two fail, the lecturer has to write a report!!! true story!!!

Moja ni ile ya mapresenter alumni! Nyingine iko the part of "Nairobi" most made fun of.

Naingine iko pale most cold place. True story too! Got a buddy there who was part-timing and was summoned to explain why his students were failing. He was teaching same unit in jkuat with no complaint whatsoever

Hii ya cold place inakuwaga extreme. They refused to pay part time lecturers who in turn withheld marks. Shock on the lecturers when they saw students whose marks for 3rd and 4th year they have never forwarded graduating!!! It was a huge scandal. But this being Kenya, people forgot the story and moved on to the next thing/scandal/grenade etc.
#35 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 10:54:41 AM

radio wrote:
Mtu Biz wrote:

Hii ya cold place inakuwaga extreme. They refused to pay part time lecturers who in turn withheld marks. Shock on the lecturers when they saw students whose marks for 3rd and 4th year they have never forwarded graduating!!! It was a huge scandal. But this being Kenya, people forgot the story and moved on to the next thing/scandal/grenade etc.

#36 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 11:00:50 AM

Then there is another on in the CBD but with the main campus Nairobi where you can go with any grade, do a 9 month pre-university course that has nothing to do with the course you want to eventually do - one of the units is C.R.E/christian studies! After nine months, voila!!! You are qualified for a degree course of your choice. This is designed to deliberately circumvent the minimum university admission criteria!

then if you have done any sort of Diploma from wherever even if it is in pothole management and traffic jam analysis, it's exemptions galore [to attract students!]

We were having a by the way discussion with a senior person from one of the major companies and he told me they rank degrees from that university as a diploma. They can only employ a graduate from that university for a job that requires a diploma from the other institutions.

Other companies avoid the graduates all together. A fellow once asked a group of us, "who among you know a graduate from university x employed anywhere? Your company or any other company!". A group of approximately 10, no one knew!
#37 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 11:05:43 AM

Euge wrote:
Mtu Biz wrote:

Yes they do!!!

Peninah and Waithera Curios!!!!
timuka
#38 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 11:56:55 AM

Euge wrote:
Mtu Biz wrote:

Yes they do!!!

Peninah and Waithera Curios!!!!

#39 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 12:25:31 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:

sijaelewa hii joke
#40 Posted : Wednesday, May 21, 2014 12:30:55 PM

Mtu Biz wrote:

sijaelewa hii joke

....are you an alumni of zetech!