wazua Sat, Nov 23, 2024

edward njoroge - new nse chairman
#21 Posted : Friday, May 01, 2009 7:13:00 AM

Not that am a sadist............but the responses here have made me laugh so hard......!!....Poleni lakini.

Guka wa bijuti...
B.Timer
#22 Posted : Friday, May 01, 2009 9:28:00 AM

Give the guy a fair chance.
Some benefit of doubt,or does anybody have any info to the contrary,especially on how he has steered KPLC.

B.timer
Dunia ni msongamano..
Mainat
#23 Posted : Friday, May 01, 2009 10:07:00 PM

Eddie Njoroge is not a thief though I'm sure he knows many who are...

www.mjengakenya.blogspot.com
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#24 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2009 8:15:00 AM

Guys,

Before you start critisizing kindly tell us what other options were available and please don't mention people who have never shown any interest in the stock market.

Tusker Baridi......Don't you think it would have been easier for you to replace 'thief' in your post with 'kikuyu'????????Hypocrite!!!!

life is too short to blend in
Manmbao
#25 Posted : Sunday, May 03, 2009 2:00:00 PM

Who is this man?

Your greatest glory is not in never failing,but in rising every time you fail.
Persistence means taking pains to overcome every obstacle,to do all that's necessary to reach your goal.
Kiz
#26 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 6:35:00 AM

He is the MD&CEO of KenGen,one of the major shareholders of transcentury,a reknown businessman,he plays golf at Muthaiga and a guy of many contacts including international ones.

I know him as a man of vision and very considerate,given a chance he will deliver

Kim
PONDI
#27 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 7:01:00 AM

lakini jameni,i say this with utmost respect,am told the guy is good at what he does but..... doesnt he already have like 3 other jobs? why not get someone who can devote his full attention to the NSE? and while at it.... iko folks in their late 30's and 40's with the requisite makaratasi and experience...

He who laughs last thinks slowest..
mozenrat
#28 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 9:43:00 AM

how do you guys know Eddy is a thief? Ameiba nini? Ama should I ask like Mwakwere - Walikuwa wizi na mama zenu wapi?
Brewer
#29 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 2:34:00 PM

Tusker Baridi,that was just too easy to be true. Be as honest as Murenj and you shall be free.
#30 Posted : Monday, May 04, 2009 5:21:00 PM

I think the main point is as made by Pondi. Nothing else to add.

I guess if you can't win with facts,you can always pen bile-laced,xenophobic rants to distract everyone.
#31 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 4:45:00 AM

Let it go!!

A private company appoints a chairman of its choice

What say do the rest of us have in it?

The fact that we invest through it does not give us a right to choose its chairman.

If you are not happy with the choice,pull out your money and take it somewhere else.
Tusker Baridi
#32 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 4:56:00 AM

Why Eddy Njoroge is a thief: Look at Trancentury's dealings and tell me if you dont see it as an oufit used as a front by the political elites to defraud taxpayers. Look at Trancentury's rise and rise and notice government involvements in its transactions. A few examples suffice:

1. Transcentury buys a nodescript company called EA Cables,suddenly KPLC under the leadership of Ngoroge is doing exclusive deals with EA Cables, EA Cables soar and there is talk of manipulation,NSE promises to investigate and we're still waiting for the results of those investigations some two years later.

2. RVR comes up for privatization,a certain SA company bids and wins the contract. Suddenly,the SA company cannot come up with the downpayment and guess who comes to the 'rescue' within a few hours to signing the deal,of course Transcentury. Some of us think that the whole thing was just a ruse and that the SA company was just a front for Transcentury and that the whole failure to pay downpayment was orchestrated by the mafia.

And that's just kionjo,Njoroge's Transcentury is full of thieves. Unlike Moi era's thieves who literally backed up a truck at the Treasury and emptied it of its reserves,this new mafia is doing it subtly through privatization,tenders etc. So what should we expect from Njoroge,well,the public properties will just be transfered to the hands of Transcentury with Kenyans being given a token few shares.

And to TAZ who said there are no other Kenyans who can run the NSE other than this corrupt bunch,just look at the talent here at SK,we have folks here that are actually overqualified to run the NSE so dont give us that crap. Apparently,at least according to TAZ,the word thief is synonymous with Kikuyu,I wonder where s/he got that idea from.

#33 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 5:46:00 AM

@Tusker Baridi; it seems like you drink too much tusker. First get your facts right:

Eddy Njoroge has never been the MD of KPLC!!!
KPLC has always bought its cables from EA Cables....bad management by previous owners (Cable & Wireless of UK) had strangled the growth of EA Cables
Trans-Century was part of the RVR Consortium from the begining...it did not come to rescue the South Africans
Don't forget; NSE is a private company....if you don't like the shareholders choice of chairman,take out your money from the NSE and take it somewhere else!
#34 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 6:02:00 AM

@TB,

I hope you are feeling silly enough for saying Eddy has ever been at KPLC......As Mukiha has put it,KPLC was buying cables from EAC long before TCL came to being.What irks you and by extension,your 'masters',is that TCL outwitted all when it came to buying KPLC shares.Nobody touched them until the last minute when TCL walked in with a check and wiped them all...............It is easier to join the smart ones than to live amongst groaning idiots..............if i were you,i would quit this hate talk.It's not good for your health.

Guka wa bijuti...
Tusker Baridi
#35 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 6:17:00 AM

@Mukiha

Kengen is KPLC spinoff so excuse me for mixing them up,and Kengen calls the shots in its relationship with KPLC anyways. Still does not negate the fact that there's just too much conflicts of interests and too much coincidence that end up favouring Transcentury,and all of this begun as soon as Kiguoya moved into State House.

NSE sure is a private company and can steal from its subservient clients if it so wishes(has it has done over and over with Thuo,Nyaga etc),that's why I vote with my feet by only participating in IPOs and getting out at the earliest opportunity so as not to deal with these thieves.

What became of the EA Cables investigations after its stock manipulation allegations. regarding RVR,go redo your homework,there were a lot of shenanigans on that rainy day when that deal was signed hapo Railways HQ that benefited Transcentury.
Tusker Baridi
#36 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 6:26:00 AM

Seriously Njung'e,you think that a chama of kedo 35 people contributing 1 million each became multi billionaires overnight out of their genius business acumen? And the fact that all these deals coincided with the election of Kiguoya,the appointment of Ngoroge to head Kengen,the exclusive government tenders to Transcentury owned firms,all this is simply a coincidence? Hebu come up with another lie,kawaida Kenyans might be naive but not this bunch here at SK,unless they deliberately turn a blind eye to these shenanigans.
Mr.Tea
#37 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 6:37:00 AM

@Njung'e,
I couldn't agree more.I am sorry TB,but you seem to be so blinded by bigotry that if don't watch out,you will soon lose sight of where you are going.Like Mukiha said all your facts on the subject matter are all sexed up,I'd imagine all in an effort to arrive at imaginary blissful position. It tragedy really.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
#38 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 6:37:00 AM

@Tusker Baridi; Surely,you don't want us to believe that KenGen decides where KPLC will buy cables from. KenGen does not 'call the shots'...recall their tarrif war.

BTW: exactly what is this 'stock manupulation' that people (especially from the media) keep talking about? How is it done? How can one 'prop up' the price of a share and the sell before it drops back to its 'normal' level?

I've in this market for 25 years,na hiyo,sielewi!!

Please educate me.
Tusker Baridi
#39 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 6:51:00 AM

@Mukiha

Lets look at Kengen,KPLC and EA Cables. As soon as Kiguoya becomes president,Eddy(Transcentury) is appointed head of Kengen,Transcentury accumulates KPLC shares(not through the open market),same deal happens at EA Cables. What's common with all three,Transcentury of course.

About market manipulations,you cannot be so naive to believe that there is nothing of that sort at the NSE. Hata sophisticated bourses such as the NYSE esperience manipulations and the SEC prosecutes the guilty parties who are caught. Furthermore,it is the NSE,not the media,that openned the investigation on EA Cables share manipulation. I doubt you have been in the market for 25 years and are not aware of market manipulation. This is the feigned ignorance that I was talking about earlier whereby generally sane and smart people turn a blind eye to obvious stuff coz they're looking at the issue strictly on tribal lines.
#40 Posted : Tuesday, May 05, 2009 7:04:00 AM

@Tusker Baridi:

You still haven't explained how this manipulation is done!

And how did Trans Century accumulate KPLC shares outside the open market? That is impossible! Even if you wanted to buy out a major shareholder in quoted company,the deal still must be posted on the NSE board,thereby making it 'open' to the public.